We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“felt at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olympus Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haputale
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“felt at home”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

simple hotel with lots of warmth. staff were great and always attentive to our needs with the best service and food. chef even came out to talk to us on several occasions. rooms r clean tho understated. we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    86
    38
    9
    11
See reviews for
46
98
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Quite a simple hotel but very clean, lots of hot water, excellent and friendly service and very good food.
Also owns adjoining, good cafe.
The hotel is very handy for the train from Kandy and for an early morning trip to Horton Plains..a wonderful drive through the cloud forest. At the end of the day a drink on your balcony, overlooking the town and tea gardens, is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel (which was too large and touristy for my tastes) but I enjoyed an excellent lunch there. The simple-sounding vegetable curry and rice was a tasty and filling selection of four different vegetable curries (lentil, aubergine, beetroot and green beans), all well prepared and nicely presented. The service was charming and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beijingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived on Dec 24th and stayed until the 26th. We were treated to a lovely Xmas Dinner on the 25th, complete with gifts from Santa for the kids - such a nice surprise for a family far from home at Christmas.

The staff were absolutely lovely, even giving me some wrapping paper so I could wrap the presents I'd bought for the kids for Christmas (all I asked for was tape!)

Room was nice - big and clean, but the bathroom was getting a bit dated. All rooms have lovely views across the mountains, and we could see all the way to the sea!

They have a free games lounge with XBox, Wii etc which the kids loved!

We looked at a couple of other places in town first, including one packed with foreigners and listed as fabulous by Lonely Planet (Sri Lak View), which was just damp and horiible. So coming across the Olympus Paza was a breathe of Fresh Air!

Next morning, we walked to the Adisham Bungalow which is just lovely - although a lot further than the 1.5 km they say it is.

Also bought some snakcs/cakes etc from the bakery in front of the hotel, which were delicious.

Nice hotel, close to Ella etc for the walks, tea planatations all around etc.

Recommended!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was Christmas evening and after driving for 5 hours we were desperate to find a hotel. We checked in in another place first, moved in the luggages but when my wife looked at the bed sheets and the bedroom she did not want to stay. Moved all the luggages back. Finally we arrived at Olympus Plaza, the room was very clean and big. It is obvious that it's on a different league than everything around it. An hour later we were sitting for the special Christmas dinner. Santa Claus brought gifts to our kids, there was live music, great international food.
It totally made our day. We were very impressed with the service, cleanliness and breath-taking views. Very much recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlympusPlaza, Owner at Olympus Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

It gives us immense pleasure in writing to you, expressing our sincere thankfulness to you for choosing Olympus Plaza Hotel for your recent stay in Haputale.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at Olympus Plaza Hotel.

We truly appreciate for taking your valuable time to share your experience of your stay at OPH

Thank you once again.

Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

All the rooms have windows / balconies facing the fabulous views across the hills and tea plantations. Lots of stairs and no lifts so you get plenty of exercise going from your room to the restaurant and bar. Construction of the new extension and coffee shop was going on whilst we were there but we weren't disturbed by any of it. Lovely staff - lots of smiles and nothing was too much trouble. Good chef - trained in Europe and the waiters and the barman in particular was incredibly helpful and friendly. Haputale is lovely for local walks through the tea plantations and the hotel has views in two directions so you get to see the most of the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the lowest floors if you don't like lots of steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_B_13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We got there late and left early, and were tired. It was a relief that the room was very clean and hot water abundant. The food was plain western fare and ok, nothing to write home about. Altogether an inoffensive experience. The views were very very impressive, we were up for sunrise. They were accommodating about an early breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisachamonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haputale
2.3 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bandarawela Hotel
Bandarawela Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bandarawela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Rendezvous Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bandarawela
2.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
10.5 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympus Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympus Plaza Hotel

Property: Olympus Plaza Hotel
Address: No 75, Welimada Road, Haputale 90160, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Haputale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haputale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Olympus Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olympus Plaza Hotel, A soul searching experience built on a hillock surrounded by lush green mountains grazed with tea plantations, the serenity, the ambiance, the enchantment, a true setting just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Olympus Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing