We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, tremendous food”
Review of Soljans Cafe

Soljans Cafe
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Kumeu
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Family owned for three generations, Soljans Estate Winery & Cafe is located at the gateway to Kumeu Wine Country, Auckland's heritage wine region. Sample award-winning wines at the cellar door then enjoy exceptional New Zealand cuisine in the highly acclaimed winery cafe.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great staff, tremendous food”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Had our staff end of year function at Soljans Cafe and it was a lot of fun. Great food, cool building and great friends. Food was delicious and looked good on the plate. Will certainly be coming back with family next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We appreciate and enjoyed reading your review. I was particulary interested in your comment that you found the food was not only delicious but that it was attractive as well which is great because that is something I regard as very important also. Glad you enjoyed your occasion and we look forward to you visiting Soljans again.

Kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    59
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
monkey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hi guys...just want to say we had a great time.....thanks very much for all your help..........couldn't have been a better day for us.........hope to see you again....cheers

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fendermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to review us it is much appreciated and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family lunch”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My son and daughter-in-law took me to Soljans for my birthday lunch last week. They chose it because they knew it was "family friendly"...we had their 16 month old son with us. What a perfect choice! It is indeed family friendly, although having said that it was not over run with children. There were only two other toddlers and a couple of very well behaved 9 or 10 year olds. The staff made us feel very welcome and the dining room is spacious and airy. A high chair for our baby was bought immediately and there is an extensive children's menu with healthy options. Our meals were high quality café food, well presented and tasty. The atmosphere was very pleasant with lots of family groups enjoying lunch together. When our little one got a bit restless we could take him out into the spacious garden, complete with wendy house, which he loved. There is a petanque court, if adults feel so inclined. I thoroughly enjoyed the day. It was relaxing, friendly, comfortable and a very pleasant place to while away a Saturday. I agree with a previous reviewer...it is not a five star establishment but a seriously good family orientated winery café. I'd be happy to go there again anytime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samatjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Soljans and taking the time to share your comments, we do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Commercial, decent but not 5 star”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I am posting this review only because a bit of balance is needed for the 5 star reviews, I do not mean to criticise, you get what you see on entry, but this is not 5 star and any foodie will be seriously disappointed if that is what you expect. They are friendly, the food is ok, the wine is ok, the coffee is ordinary. There is nothing wrong with this place, it's not really my thing, too commercial and a bit soulless for my liking, but these reviews are misleading unless you are only used to pretty ordinary fare. 5 star dining in this category in rural Auckland is places like Cable Bay. Just come with the right expectation and all will be ok, come in expecting 5 star and you'll be rating is at 2. It is an excellent place for big groups.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank outoftok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Can be very busy”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This restaurant can be very busy especially during summer. Wait for food can be rather lengthy. Apart from the crowd, the food and service is reasonable.

There is also wine tasting here at Soljans and I have only heard good things about their wine.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank -Gary-T-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soljans Cafe also viewed

Kumeu, Auckland Region
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Kumeu, Auckland Region
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 

Been to Soljans Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing