We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ribier Restaurant - CLOSED

Ribier Restaurant
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. The food is fantastic, the service is excellent, and because it is out of the city and away from it all, it is a true experience. The best place I have ever eaten, not too pricey either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1dani021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Not disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

A number of mixed reviews below! We were not disappointed by our visit.

The pasta entree ($18.90) might have been a bit pricey, but was certainly very creative and tasty - rather inspiring! The venison with kumara ($31.90) was beautifully presented and executed, although IMHO could have been better if served with a little jus or sauce of some sort. The lamb ($31.90) was also beautifully cooked, flavoured (lovely sauce) and presented, but the cut of the rump wasn't the best that we've experienced. Seasonal veges were generous and a perfect compliment to the mains. Didn't have room for dessert.

Service was ok / average; not overly attentive but definitely sufficient and competent, and certainly not as bad as some of the reviews have noted.

We thought the prices were reasonable for the quality / taste / thought / presentation of ingredients and had no complaints. We didn't think the restaurant purports to be 'fine dining' but the quality of their food certainly was above average. If we were to return we would be very happy to try the duck / beef / Hapuku (fish of the day) - sounded amazing too :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Silva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The worst restaurant experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

By far the worst restaurant experience I have ever had. We were looking forward to trying this restaurant. However, I and my partner were most disappointed as the service was absolutely shocking and our meal was not up to the standard of the reviews. The waitress made no effort to be welcoming. Snobbery is not ok when serving customers. Roasted potato were more likely old potato they found in the back of the fridge. We will definitely not be returning or recommending this place to anyone.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, NZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“And now for something completely different.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Not a great location but the inside is better. My ears are not great but I was surprised to be hit $8.50 for a bottle of sparkling water! Wine prices were on the higher side but the food was really interesting. My tarte tatin was strongly flavoured and enjoyable. The seafood pasta was really good, the terrine and steak also.
Being a Thursday there was live music featuring a jaz singer who was as friendly as the staff. A good evening but some of the prices were a bit steep, especially if you wanted veg or salad with your main.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank c00kn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing well presented food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here with friends...decided to come on recomendation of trip advisor... Was really good food was really well pesented with unusual flavour married together... Was nice to have something really different and really well cooked. We had bread and Humus to share for entre...Everyone enjoyed their choice for the main.. the monteiths challange sea bass ...the venison was delicious the lamb lovely and chicken cooked two ways nice too. Sides of roasted potatoes and a side of veges between us all was heaps... Pitty restaurantwas not full on a sat night but we would recommend to others.wine reasonable expensive or BYO was a $5 corckage for each person drinking (we thought a bit steep) but anyway the total bill was $235 and well worth every morsel tasted nothing went back... Oh and irish coffees too. Give this place a go ..its great..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kidz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ribier Restaurant also viewed

Kumeu, Auckland Region
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 
Kumeu, Auckland Region
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing