We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vineyard setting close to Auckland”
Review of The Tasting Shed

The Tasting Shed
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Kumeu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Tasting Shed has one simple philosophy – a place where wine craves food. Expect to experience a unique environment where everything we are about is celebrating great food and wine pairings in a gorgeous wine country, less than half an hour outside of central Auckland.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
184 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Vineyard setting close to Auckland”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had dinner here with friends in February. The setting is very pleasant, given its about twenty minutes from downtown. Food operates on a shared-plate basis. There's something for everyone and the staff are happy to cater to individual dietary restrictions. Definitely worth a try if you are in Auckland. No more (or less) expensive than other similar restaurants in New Zealand (with the higher dollar at the moment.)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrStoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    45
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice meal in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I went for lunch with a group (8) of friends.

A number of the group had eaten here before so they took the lead in ordering for us. The food is listed on a scale of sweet to savoury and there is a large blackboard indicating that some combinations may seem odd. After reviewing the menu I could not really see anything that fitted this description.

The food was lovely, but portion size is small. If you are hungry I would suggest 4-5 dishes per person.

Particular favourites included
- Beef Cheek
- Pork Belly
- Artisan Ceviche


The dessert options were divine. I would probably say two of these between two is a good portion. The stand outs were;
- Lemon Meringue Cone
- Valrhona Caramello

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzxnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a unique dining experience best enjoyed as a group. Savoury/sweet flavours are blended and complemented with wines recommended by the knowledgeable and friendly staff. Very unusual and tasty. Although there were a number of younger children there the evening we were, it is not really a menu likely to appeal to small children. All the dishes were " tasters" and we all shared. We were a pre-wedding party of 12 and had a spirited and most enjoyable experience, enhanced by the exceptional service. Although we had made a reservation, it had not been noted. The restaurant was full but the staff quickly organised a large table in the garden, undercover.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outofafrica80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect country-side dining”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were a group of 20 attending a birthday lunch and we couldn't have selected a more perfect venue. Given the size of our group we has the set menu at $45 per head. The food was just delicious and the service was absolutely top-notch. A courtesy shuttle was even provided from and back to Auckland central. Highly recommended for a perfect dining experience out of the city.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules_NZ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I love tapas style sharing plates and the Tasting Shed is excellent. Everything we ordered was delicious. I especially recommend the belly pork and the beef.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasting Shed also viewed

Kumeu, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Kumeu, Auckland Region
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Tasting Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing