We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire
Nearby Hotels
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belfry Hotel(Littledean)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$93
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveler rating
740
477
163
80
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
740
477
163
80
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderfloor heatinghot tublog burneron sitegolden oakentertainment packageforest of deannight visionrelaxing breakpizzatree housecopper beechdvd playerdishwasher tabletstea towelsmember of staffranger activities
Filter
Updating list...
1,305 - 1,310 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Cabin was nice but not clean, dust everywhere and bowls etc not clean. There was a skid mark in the toilet when we arrived. Hot tub was clean, but not warm enough to use on arrival, bearing in mind we arrived at 6pm, not really good enough. The staff we encountered were curt at best, closer to rude at times. Shop terribly overpriced and the selection of 'freshly baked bread' was at least 2 days old as it was rock hard. The walks in the area are lovely and if a bit more care and attention was put into the site it could be great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vestax32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with Forest Holidays at the Forest of Dean. The standards we set ourselves are high and it seems that we did not reach them on this occasion, so please accept our apologies. Your comments have been discussed with the team at the Forest of Dean, and we have looked at how we can improve our service so that each and every guest leaves us feeling that this has been one of their best ever holidays. I do hope that you will stay with us again and experience that feeling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A group of seven friends and I stayed in a cabin this week. The accommodation was spotlessy clean with a cosy and modern interior. The beds are very comfortable and I slept really well. I often try and avoid holiday parks and although the site was full of cabins I still felt that we had our privacy and our own experience, I would fully recommend it to anyone who enjoys forests and unspoiled woodland. It didn't feel like a holiday park or anything close. It was so beautiful and it was very quiet and scenic. There were activities available, some free, some extra (go ape, boar watching), we went with little money but enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of the Forest of Dean. We had lots if walks and we took advantage of areas nearby) (Ross on Wye, Coleford). I'd recommend renting a cabin with a hot tub, they are cleaned and maintained daily and it's a great feeling watching the forest from the tub. The site allows you to have a personal, private and intimate experience with the woodland but also offer good service should you require it. I can imagine it would be great for couples, groups, solo, and families. There is little phone signal but the reception are available and offer a variety of services.

Room Tip: I recommend the hot tub!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with Forest Holidays at the Forest of Dean. We find that many of our guests are pleasantly surprised by the level of privacy and peace that they experience on a Forest Holiday and I am pleased to hear that this was the case for you. It is important to us that our guests feel as close as possible to the natural environment and can enjoy it without distractions. We build our sites with this principle in mind – and that includes the hot tubs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Forest Holidays Forest Of Dean is a really lovely spot with many walks straight from the cabin - no need to even get in your car if you don't want to!

We found it a lovely retreat, it was made all the more special by the sheer volume of snow we had there this week, totally magical.

The park is well designed without being cramped, the reception area and shop are exactly what you would expect from this type of set up - ie not lidl prices (there's a massive lidl in Monmouth 5 miles away and a massive waitrose and well stocked m&s where we stocked up first). The reception shop has some local ales and ciders which were nice to try!

The cabin itself was lovely - we stayed in a 2 bed golden oak for the two of us and it was very spacious. Then layout was great, the views across the forest unspoilt and we were luckily locationally - not overlooked. The hot tub was very clean and a lovely temperature, yes they had power cuts and out hot tub tripped out and wasn't ready until the next morning really but given the massive amounts of snow the staff were a bit up against it, and I would rather have a drained cleaned and refilled hot tub half a day late than an unclean one. The robes provided were just lush! The options through the interactive menu were great including food delivery service.

If I was to pick holes they would be minor. Really minor - like no towel rails which we didn't miss but would be a simple addition, no cleaning fluid in the kitchen (we brought everything else but I have never been self catering where there isn't a kitchen spray) - I like to leave a place as I found it and to not be able to clean as I went along was a bit wrong. No toiletries in the second bathroom, no hand soap by the sink in the kitchen. I've seen other reviews and yes it was a little "unfinished" in some places but it is a log cabin not a 5* hotel and it was by all accounts still really lovely. The £30 Internet and film plus sky sports package for 4 das was good value as we did use it a lot, but pricy if you were to pay for each item individually. There is a well designed box on the wall where you can wire in your computer, DVD player, hdmi/VGA cable or audio - whatever - Into the tv and this is worth knowing - bring your players and cables if you don't want to pay for films.

We had a lovely break and would return.

Room Tip: Check the map before you book if you don't want to be overlooked - the perimeter cabins facing outwards seemed to be best.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen_Whittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Forest of Dean with us. The snow this year certainly made the forest look spectacular, although as you point out, it did present us with a few extra challenges. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and all your comments have been noted. I hope we will see you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have spent four amazing and relaxing holidays at Forest Holidays (Forest of Dean). They are NOT Centre Parcs so don't have all the bells and whistles but what they DO offer is a very peaceful and relaxing place to take in woodland walks, chill in the Hot tub and get away from it all. One tip is to pick a particular cabin (you have to pay extra but worth it). The cabins that are quietest and not as near to each neighbour are as you go in the two roads on the right. We stayed just once in the other area of the site (the big semi circle) and found thesse cabins to more more on top of each other. You can have fresh pizza delivered, Pay for an entertainment package which we think is worth it (you get music, films, internet etc... ) all on your in cabin flat screen. Well worth it just to chill and relax. If they hadnt put prices up we would have already booked to go there again. Nearby Symonds yat rock is amazing for views and sceenery (only a mile or so by car) and saracens head pub there is really good. You can do canoeing from here too. Great place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with Forest Holidays at the Forest of Dean. It sounds like you made full use of the cabin facilities and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of the forest too. I hope we will see you again, keep an eye on our website for special offers which we update all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We came here the week of the bad snow. The first night wasn't good due to the electricity going off and the cabin was cold. The next day we reported this just as we also told told that the hot tub wasn't working either. I couldn't fault the staff they went above and beyond the call of duty. They felt sorry for us and couldn't do enough. We were moved to a different cabin and then the holiday began. The hot tub is to die for and the cabin was roasting. The staff are lovely and the pub down the road the new inn great. My only criticism was the cabins could do with a coat of paint and the cob webs removing. If you want to chill then this is the place for you. The food at the reception which they also deliver was very good. Tip bring firefighters and logs if you have a cabin with a log burner and a good torch. Also lots of bubbly for the hot tub. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markiboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with Forest Holidays at the Forest of Dean. It sounds like your break didn’t get off to a great start but I am glad that the team looked after you so well. I will pass on all your comments to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews