We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant service lets down hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Els Cacadors de Ribes
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ribes de Freser
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We previously visited this hotel several times several years ago and were really delighted with the fresh innovative menu which included many local herbs including lavender and also game when in season. We took friends there last week and were very disappointed. The menu of the day was very limited, there was no game on the menu and the dishes we liked so much no longer appeared even on the a la carte menu. The waiter was the rudest we have ever had the misfortune to encounter anywhere in our extensive travels. He removed one plate before we had all finished the first course and then tried to take our visitor's plate whilst she still had her food on her fork and on her plate! When I remonstrated he then deliberately made us wait ages before bringing the sweet course and was very sarcastic asking if we were now finished. The food was only average. What a pity. We had really looked forward to eating there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank JeannieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 284 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

Very nice and cozy hotel. Renovated recently. Conveniently located, steps from the train station. Nicely done design - modern elements incorporated in the older structure. Rooms on the smaller side though... Also faces the street - little noisy. Jacuzi on the roof looks nice and lounge on top floor is very special.
Breakfast was good - EUR 8,00 pp, little unusual for us - too much jabon and other smoked meat. We are used to light food in the morning. But this is everywhere in Catalunia...

Room Tip: Hotel has 2 buildings - one - main one where reception and restaurant are and another - newer, one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piramidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We completed our Catalonian walking trip last week with three nights in the Cacadors in Ribes which proved to be an excellent end to our trip. We were booked into a Bronze room which whilst well appointed and decorated was a touch on the small side – however when we had wind-down time we tended to spend it in the superb Luna Lounge up on the roof terrace, what a cracking facility. Our room was well appointed with a “full-length” bathroom complete with an excellent shower. One of the big bonuses in Cacadors is free Wifi throughout the hotel – something the big chains could learn from.

Where Cacadors really excels is in the quality of service and the food, every member of staff was pleasant, greeted you with a smile and went out of their way to help you (our very poor Spanish was easily overcome by one of their English speaking waitresses – who was one of the owning family). We were on half-board, our breakfasts offered a superb choice of local meats, cheeses and sausage along with cereals and other sweeter pastries. Our evening meals were a treat, Cacadors offered a limited evening menu with 5-6 choices for each course, however a larger a-la-carte menu was available should you wish. They provide an interesting menu of very well prepared and presented Catalan dishes.
We did take our lunch in the hotel one day and were very well rewarded for 15€.
Desserts are best left to the end and Cacadors excels in providing thoughtful, interesting and delicious desserts. The Chef introduced an ice-cream dish whilst we were there, complete with a pine soup! It was absolutely beautiful, I had it for both lunch and dinner, my wife joining me in the evening – what a beautiful and delicate flavours!!

We had a 6am departure on the 20th so requested that they arrange juice and croissants be left out for us. Prior to leaving our dinner table we were handed a carrier bag full of fruit, pastries, juice and a large bottle of water. A superb gesture to ensure we did not leave hungry.

If you have the time, one trip to seriously consider is the walk from Queralbs to Nuria. It’s a fairly strenuous up-hill walk (c3-4 hours) on a clearly marked (and in some places “interesting”) trail, but you are rewarded with beautiful scenery- of which you see only a fraction from the rack railway.

Room Tip: Had we booked the room ourselves we would have went for a larger room so if given the choice go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoBlackDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I went here with my three year old to visit Vall de Nuria for couple of days.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I can't comment on their English since we speak Catalan, but as far as everything else they were kind, helpful and did everything they could to make my son happy. We stayed in a "bronze" rooms, which was nice enough but a bit on the small side. For the minimal difference in price I would say the better rooms are worth it.
The rooftop jacuzzi, patio and "Moon room" lounge were fantastic, probably even better in the ski season.
We only ate once in the hotel and the food was quite good and only 15€ for dinner which is a great price anywhere in Catalonia. Breakfast was pricey at 8€ but I would say it is worth it if you take your breakfast seriously. We were planning a full day in the mountains so we took full advantage of the vast buffet (my son particularly appreciated the more than two dozen types of cookies). On the downside I didn't see much in the way of hot food, but that's more of a question of Catalan habits than the hotel itself.
The hotel is just a 2 minute walk to the rack train station so it's a very convenient option for Vall de Nuria. That said. at nearly 20€ round trip to Nuria that works out to 40€ a head for a one night/2 day stay. Children under 5 don't pay but if my wife had come it would have been an added cost of 80€. For that reason the hotel (or even the hostel) in the valley are probably better options if that is your main destination. However this is true for any hotel in Ribes.

Room Tip: We took the bronze which was Ok, but for 10€ more I wish I had opted for the next category up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cataloamericano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Not what you expect! We arrived to a queue of locals waiting for lunch - it was noisy and busy and we wondered what we had come to! We were given our key and found our room to be modern, spacious and comfortable. A short stroll from the bustling village square and 3 minutes from the rack railway to the stunning Val de Nuria. (can recommend getting the train up and walking down through the beautiful gorge - takes about 4 hours. Is also a ski resort).
We found the roof terrace with sun loungers and jacuzzi with stunning mountain views and comfortable lounge playing relaxing music. Fantastic after a hard day's walking!
We dined both nights in the hotel restaurant and soon realised why the locals queue to eat there. Excellent unhurried but efficient service and delicious homemade Catalan food. Can recommend the roast lamb - to die for! And the deserts were delicious!
The staff go to extra lengths to help you (we were the only English people there and the owner had asked an English speaking waitress to explain the menu).
Food and wine is good value and plentiful.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We loved everything about Els Cacadors. Arriving around Sunday lunch time, we found a one hour queue for the restaurant - seems the whole town goes there to eat. We had dinner for 15 euros which was superb and tremendous value, but the portions - a macaroni starter that would have satisfied six! The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Only quibble was my bill. We had booked the room on a deal through a Trip Advisor broker but the rate disappeared because we had "moved" to demi pension by taking dinner, so we had to pay the rack rate. Only about £20 but it rankled.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsewiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was our third visit to El Cacadors for a week of hiking in the ‘Val de Nuria’. We have always enjoyed this hotel which is handily situated near the center of Ribes de Freser and is a 5 minute walk from the cog railway station to Nuria. It is a small family run hotel with very modern well appointed comfortable rooms, and a restaurant which offers a tasty simple robust local cuisine in a very informal atmosphere. The staff is friendly, welcoming, enthusiastic, very hard working, and always willing to help out.

The lodging area of the hotel is decorated in a very modern 'boutique' manner and all the 'gold' rooms we have had feature the latest in baths, showers, TV etc etc. Luckily they also featured plenty of odd fittings for us to hang our wet hiking gear on!

If you are on half board there is a menu which changes every day offering 4 or 5 choices for each of the three courses and also includes a fresh mixed salad as well as wine or water. They have many interesting local dishes including bean or vegetable stews (which also contain sausage, ham etc), and some really good fish and meat.

The hotel guests seem to come from all over the world, but gratefully the Spanish dominate, especially at weekends and for lunch. Service is very efficient and the noise level is considerable at times due to the large number of families or groups of enthusiastic ‘adventurers’. If this atmosphere is not refined enough for you they also have a small adjacent ‘a la carte' restaurant.

The breakfast buffet is very comprehensive, from cereals to anchovies, bread to chocolate cake, and tea to wine…you really have to watch your waist line!

As is usual in mountain hotels the atmosphere is very informal so leave behind you suits or frocks as the case may be and join the great unwashed carnivores, hikers, birders, bikers etc that come to the Val de Nuria and enjoy a stay at El Cacadors. … in spite of the weather we have always done!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribes de Freser
0.3 mi away
Hotel Resguard dels Vents
Hotel Resguard dels Vents
#2 of 5 in Ribes de Freser
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sant Antoni
Hotel-Restaurant Sant Antoni
#4 of 5 in Ribes de Freser
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prats
Hotel Prats
#5 of 5 in Ribes de Freser
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Can Gasparo
Can Gasparo
#1 of 1 in Planoles
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalunya Park
Catalunya Park
#3 of 5 in Ribes de Freser
58 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Grevol Spa
Hotel Grevol Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanars
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Els Cacadors de Ribes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Els Cacadors de Ribes

Address: Balandrau 22, 24 y 26 | Girona, 17534 Ribes de Freser, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Ribes de Freser
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ribes de Freser
Price Range: $65 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Els Cacadors de Ribes 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Restaurant located in Ribes de Freser (El Ripolles), at the foot of the Catalan Pyrenees, at one hour and a half from Barcelona, offering a surprising combination of tradition and innovation. This family business has been operating for over ninety years and its atmosphere of a small, enchanting hotel captivates with comfortable bedrooms and personal, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Els Cacadors de Ribes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Els Cacadors De Ribes Hotel Ribes De Freser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing