We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Little Hotel in Lovely Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediterrani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mediterrani
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Charming Little Hotel in Lovely Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having previously stayed at the Hotel La Torre we decided to try the Mediterrani having read that it had been refurbished. What a great choice ! Lovely helpful staff, spotless bright rooms and a WOW view. Not the largest rooms but well designed to make use of space. New and very smart bathroom with excellent shower. The public areas of the hotel would lead you to believe it was going to be all dark wood and dated decor. Just the opposite, our room was exactly like the one on the the photos with lovely modern styling. Unless you only wan't somewhere to lay your head, don't even consider rear rooms. The view from the front is totally mesmerising.
Breakfast was better than some 4 stars we've had with a very varied choice of items, but no hot choices.
The hotel has a small bar and offers snacks to order. A few tables outside are a nice spot for a light lunch.
The perfect location of this little hotel more than makes up for it's lack of 5 star facilities and the quality of the rooms together with friendliness of the staff make it a very good choice for couples.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms cost more but have a larger and more private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camera-Clicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    61
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
119
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This recently refurbished hotel has an excellent position - looking over the "ramblas" of lovely Calella, surely one of the most romantic spots in the Costa Brava. The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast has lots of variety, and they really care for their guests. We were delighted with our stay of 3 nights and would recommend the hotel without reservation

Room Tip: A sea facing room costs more but is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hedgehog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandía
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We loved the hotel, despite we had windows to the rear side, the location is lovely with a frontal access to the beach and a bar service (with few options, not a real bar)
The rooms were very clean and confortable. We have a good memory of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristobal_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place to stay. Very clean and stylish rooms, balcony with sea view (fantastic!), good breakfasts, very friendly staff. The only minus is no WiFi access in the rooms.
If i visit Calella de Palafrugell again, i won't think twice where to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophya_Gelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Do you want to stay in a traditional Spanish hotel right on the sea? Then this is it. I have stayed here many times and never been disappointed. The view from your bedroom and the dining room is superb. The hotel has been refurbed to a high standard without taking away it's charm. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom has an excellent shower. The continental breakfast and service is very good. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is one hotel I'd unreservedly recommend, but you need to have one of the better rooms with a sea view. We loved to sit on the balcony early evening and watch the world go by. Mind you we did go to the little store around the corner (turn right out of the front door, then right again, 100 yards up the hill) with a cold glass of something. Mind you you need to ask the cashier for the ice, you won't find it otherwise.
Now everything else that's been written below is true, this is a truly wonderful hotel in an amazing location, with lovely staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The service at Hotel Mediterrani was excellent. Each member of the staff I interacted with was gracious, friendly and helpful. It was much more than you would expect from a 2-star hotel. The design and decor in my room and throughout the hotel was simple and clean. Everything was impeccably maintained and made for a very relaxing and inviting environment. The quality of the breakfast (included in my room price) was good and there was a great deal of variety. I agree with other reviewers that the only thing I would have appreciated at the breakfast was real coffee (instead of instant from a machine which for me, was undrinkable).

And of course, the seaside location looking over the center of town in Calella de Palafrugel cannot be beat. Although my room did not have a view, the views from the lobby, the breakfast room and the terrace were breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#4 of 6 in Llafranc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterrani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterrani

Property: Hotel Mediterrani
Address: Francesc Estrabau 40, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterrani 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mediterrani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing