We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Stylish”
Review of Hotel Garbi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garbi
Berkeley, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming and Stylish”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel had great nautical decor, large grounds with a pool, attentive staff, and a great, but under-attended restaurant. It was quiet and up on a hill with beautiful views. It wasn't by the beach, but it was close to a botanical garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobbyOzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    98
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
53
152
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stopped at the Garbi for a few nights on our road trip along the mediterranean coast and I must say it was a great find. The place is cozy and family oriented, staff is friendly and the buffet breakfast is delicious. It's on a hill so getting there on a hot day with a full stomach from the town center was an adventure but we were delighted we stayed. Wifi in the rooms would be nice. Other than that, good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JDavidson5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Garbi and had our wedding in the grounds here last week. We had a duplex room in the newer part of the hotel, it had a double bed, plus a sofa bed on the mezanine level. The view from the balcony was amazing, you could see the whole of the town. We were also lucky enough to have a jacuzzi bath on the balcony which was amazing! Sitting in the bath looking at the stars was an unforgettable experience. We also had a huge bathroom with a bath, shower and two sinks.
The room had a connecting door to the next door room and on the first night there was a small amount of noise from their room, chatting and tv etc. However this was not a huge problem and did not disrupt our stay.
The gardens and pool area are lovely, we got married on one of the terraced sections and it was beautiful. The staff were incredible helpful and attentive, without being too 'in your face' There is a nice outside bar by the pool.
It was around a 5 minute walk to the beach, and there is a large spar shop just down the hill.
We can't wait to come back for our anniversary!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 505, it was lovely, the jacussi on the balcony was a lovely touch. The room direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sus1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is unlike other hotels because it is located a bit further up from the beach. However this is part of the charm, especially in the busiest summer season you can be well-rested in the hotel from the crowd. Beach is only 5 minute walk from the hotel. We ate at the hotel restaurant once and the paella is simply amazing and unique. The room we stayed is very clean, and the staff is very helpful and welcoming. Will definitely recommend my friends to reserve their holiday at Hotel Garbi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Three storey hotel with two basement levels a overlooking, and a short walk from the beach and amenities in Calella de Palafrugell. Ample wooded grounds around the hotel with a large pool that catches the afternoon sun. Helpful staff at reception. Rooms and bathroom spacious and clean. Wise to keep the plugs closed in the sink, bidet and bath otherwise something unpleasant pervades the room. Residents upstairs sound like a herd of tap dancing elephants and you get to share the enjoyment of revellers returning late from the beach hotels and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave_from_N_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel aims at the upper end of the tourist market. It is set in its own grounds, which are nicely laid out, but home to many mosquitos. 7 to 10 minute hilly walk to the centre of this village resort. Rooms large, well-equipped, clean and comfortable. Those with balconies have a nice view of the village, the sea and the mountains. Plenty of choice at buffet breakfast, but cooked food a weak spot. We were there in October, right at the end of the season, but all the hotel's amenities were still functioning, including the swimming pool, despite the small number of guests. A shame that they employ American receptionists when local unemployment is so high. And what the place lacks is any sort of personal touch. Cannot be rated better than average, given that it is quite an expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WardenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at the Garbi for a couple of nights during a tour of the local area. It's a perfectly pleasant hotel in a nice green setting but not modern. It's confusing, at first, to find your way around as the newer part of it is on different levels to the original building. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable with a balcony and lovely view of the town and coast. It had a large bathroom which, bizarrely, contained the wardrobes and cupboards. On arriving we were unable to get the air-conditioning to work but, after a trip to Reception, we were told that there was a connection on the patio door which needed to be closed before the air-con would operate. The buffet-style breakfast offered a good variety and the staff were helpful and friendly. Didn't have dinner at the hotel but ate out at La Gavina and Xabec in Calella - a 10 minute walk. Also worth walking round the nearby coastal path to a pretty and secluded beach, El Golfet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 134Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
416 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
3.9 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi

Property: Hotel Garbi
Address: Avenida de Baldomer Gili i Roig 20, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garbi 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing