We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Hotel Garbi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Garbi
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 for 3 nights and highly recommend. Staff are very friendly and helpful, facilities including pool are well kept and really pleasant and the view from our hotel room was fabulous. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garbi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 257 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

I booked this hotel through onthebeach.co.uk for a last minute getaway for me (30) and my mum (67) for 4 nights. Due to the very low price I assumed it would not be anything special and would probably be a little bit grotty. How mistaken I was - it was such a gorgeous hotel we were so happy with it. The reception is bright and airy with a lounge opposite with big comfy sofas and chairs where you can sit and look out over the beautiful bay. The breakfast was simply out of this world, the staff were helpful and polite, the location was absolutely perfect, the whole place was 100% spotless... so clean. The interior is decorated in a typically spanish way - yes some of it is a little old fashioned but it is intentional, not out-dated. So, if you are looking for a minimalist, modern, soul-less kind of hotel, you probably won't be that happy here. However if you are looking for a hotel full of character then this is your place. The pool was beautiful and has lovely views, the gardens were maintained so beautifully and there are aviarys and rock pools in the gardens as well as swings etc for kids. We went in what I assume is quite low season (mid June) so it was very quiet around the hotel but I'm not sure what it is like in high season. The only comments I would make are that the pillows weren't very comfy, the bed was quite hard and if you are on the 1st floor (which is beneath reception but not underground) it does smell very slightly damp. However, none of these things spoilt our trip in the slightest. We hired a car from Gerona airport which I would highly reccomend. On our first day we drove up the coast to L'estartit stopping at various places on the way - it was a beautiful journey and I would particularly reccommend stopping off at Pals. On the second day we drove into Barcelona, parked at Gloria car park and explored the city. On the third day we spent the day at one of the beautiful beaches in Calella de Palafruggel and then unfortunately we had to come home. We ate in the restaurants along the sea front in the evening and enjoyed ice creams for the various gelaterias around the town! We bought sandwich items from the various supermakets and made our own lunches. We would love to return again, it is a lovely hotel and a really great place to stay. There is lots to do particularly if you hire a car.
Give it a try!

Room Tip: If you want a large patio, ask for a room on 1st floor. If you want a balcony ask for a room on the...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barefoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here one night in August 2011. Although the pool was lovely and the views out of our bedroom window across the bay were stunning, otherwise this hotel was not really that special. The decor is a bit dated in some of the buildings, the restaurant is in a sort of basement area and is accessed along a corridor which (at least when we visited) had quite a strong chlorine smell (and was a bit chilly) and the staff were not particularly helpful in terms of where we should put our bikes and luggage. In fact overall the staffing was rather variable: a couple of people were charming and helpful but others, fairly indifferent.
If we returned to Calella de Palafrugell, we'd probably go for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I spent a few days here in September with my fiancee and could not have thought of a more idyllic place. The hotel gardens provide a wonderful environment and the food was absolutely fabulous. Whether you want to bask in the sun, take a walk up or down the nearby foot paths of 'ronda' or just stroll to the nearest beach for a dip in the med, this is the place to be! Surely one of the most hidden gems we've ever been to. And we will surely be back as the rooms had astonishing views over-looking the wonderful seaside village below.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GregSalmon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed four nights from 8th Sept. Large room, great balcony view over the village and coastline. Breakfast offered included good selction of hot and cold food, and option to eat outdoors.We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening as the options to eat by the seafront are irrestible.Initially couldn't locate the reception as hotel in large groundas and many levels but this is hardly any problem.Rooms wereairy, clean and well maintained. Its not on the seafront but its an easy walk, with steps, to the promenade. My wife says the pool was very good.All in all contributed to an enjoyable holiday with lovely walks, views, food and weather.

Room Tip: I assume all rooms have balcony view - but you may want to check
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank candjs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed for long weekend using Ryanair to Girona.Hotel well signposted on road from Palafrugell.Great welcome-very efficient,helpful reception staff-provided map of town with recommended restaurants.Nice room with new bathroom-had balcony with views over pine forest to sea.Huge breakfast-best part was large selection of fresh fruit.Hotel is in large gounds and next to a wooded campsite so it is very peaceful.Short walk to town and beaches.Last visited this area 14 years ago and it has hardly changed-credit to the Spanish for preserving this wonderful coastline.Walking is easy to the various beaches and on to Lafranc.A bit further to Tamariu-2 hours or 15 mins in the car.No highrise hotels or mass tourism here-as a result the restaurants can be expensive especially fresh fish.Calella feels really Spanish-it buzzes with promenaders in the early evening-I cannot think of a more beautiful setting by the sea.Well-perhaps the Cinque Terre.Parking in this area can be difficult-so this is another bonus as it is included in the hotel rate.

Room Tip: ask for balcony=2nd floor and above
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollyollyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Hotel Garbi is set in the most beautiful grounds above the picturesque village of Callella de Palafrugell on the Costa Brava. The hotel encompasses an original building and a newer wing which has been added within the last few years. The hotel also boasts an outdoor swimming pool with ample shade from large pine trees which offer excellent shade for those who prefer not to burn under the hot Costa sun. We found the hotel staff and management very friendly, experienced and who always showed a willingness to help with all our queries. We found both the Wednesday and Saturday evening BBQ/Buffets along with the live music a great way to relax and mix with all nationalities. Visitors should be aware Callella de Palafrugell has a few hills and the hotel is set above the village so those guests who have problems walking unaided may be better off looking elsewhere. Having said that the views overlooking the village and Mediterranean sea from the hotel rooms and grounds is quite spectacular. We will most definitlely be back to this hidden jewel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karmac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
4.0 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi

Address: Avenida de Baldomer Gili i Roig 20, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: $82 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garbi 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing