We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool and good views out of windows, otherwise so-so”
Review of Hotel Garbi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Garbi
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here one night in August 2011. Although the pool was lovely and the views out of our bedroom window across the bay were stunning, otherwise this hotel was not really that special. The decor is a bit dated in some of the buildings, the restaurant is in a sort of basement area and is accessed along a corridor which (at least when we visited) had quite a strong chlorine smell (and was a bit chilly) and the staff were not particularly helpful in terms of where we should put our bikes and luggage. In fact overall the staffing was rather variable: a couple of people were charming and helpful but others, fairly indifferent.
If we returned to Calella de Palafrugell, we'd probably go for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 261 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

I spent a few days here in September with my fiancee and could not have thought of a more idyllic place. The hotel gardens provide a wonderful environment and the food was absolutely fabulous. Whether you want to bask in the sun, take a walk up or down the nearby foot paths of 'ronda' or just stroll to the nearest beach for a dip in the med, this is the place to be! Surely one of the most hidden gems we've ever been to. And we will surely be back as the rooms had astonishing views over-looking the wonderful seaside village below.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GregSalmon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed four nights from 8th Sept. Large room, great balcony view over the village and coastline. Breakfast offered included good selction of hot and cold food, and option to eat outdoors.We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening as the options to eat by the seafront are irrestible.Initially couldn't locate the reception as hotel in large groundas and many levels but this is hardly any problem.Rooms wereairy, clean and well maintained. Its not on the seafront but its an easy walk, with steps, to the promenade. My wife says the pool was very good.All in all contributed to an enjoyable holiday with lovely walks, views, food and weather.

Room Tip: I assume all rooms have balcony view - but you may want to check
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank candjs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed for long weekend using Ryanair to Girona.Hotel well signposted on road from Palafrugell.Great welcome-very efficient,helpful reception staff-provided map of town with recommended restaurants.Nice room with new bathroom-had balcony with views over pine forest to sea.Huge breakfast-best part was large selection of fresh fruit.Hotel is in large gounds and next to a wooded campsite so it is very peaceful.Short walk to town and beaches.Last visited this area 14 years ago and it has hardly changed-credit to the Spanish for preserving this wonderful coastline.Walking is easy to the various beaches and on to Lafranc.A bit further to Tamariu-2 hours or 15 mins in the car.No highrise hotels or mass tourism here-as a result the restaurants can be expensive especially fresh fish.Calella feels really Spanish-it buzzes with promenaders in the early evening-I cannot think of a more beautiful setting by the sea.Well-perhaps the Cinque Terre.Parking in this area can be difficult-so this is another bonus as it is included in the hotel rate.

Room Tip: ask for balcony=2nd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollyollyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Hotel Garbi is set in the most beautiful grounds above the picturesque village of Callella de Palafrugell on the Costa Brava. The hotel encompasses an original building and a newer wing which has been added within the last few years. The hotel also boasts an outdoor swimming pool with ample shade from large pine trees which offer excellent shade for those who prefer not to burn under the hot Costa sun. We found the hotel staff and management very friendly, experienced and who always showed a willingness to help with all our queries. We found both the Wednesday and Saturday evening BBQ/Buffets along with the live music a great way to relax and mix with all nationalities. Visitors should be aware Callella de Palafrugell has a few hills and the hotel is set above the village so those guests who have problems walking unaided may be better off looking elsewhere. Having said that the views overlooking the village and Mediterranean sea from the hotel rooms and grounds is quite spectacular. We will most definitlely be back to this hidden jewel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karmac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Just about everything about this hotel was excellent: helpful and friendly staff, lovely rooms, nice balcony with great views to the coast, huge selection at breakfast and a nice lounge. We did not have dinner because there is very little choice for vegetarians, same in the local restaurants although we coped! There are a lot of steep steps up and down to the hotel so it wouldn't be good for people with mobility problems.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Hotel had lovely gardens and a very nice pool with sunbeds. We were given a room on the top floor with a really beautiful view of the town and sea. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony early evening looking at the boats on the sea. The room was very clean and spacious. Comfortable beds and pillows and a beautiful bathroom. I could not fault the room and was so pleased to have one with a view. Breakfast was good and I especially liked the fact you could order either fried or boiled eggs. The scrambled egg was good too. The best thing for me each morning was that the orange juice was freshly squeezed and the croissants and pastries were fresh. This hotel is situated up quite a few steps and then some more steps! Not for anyone who has trouble with steps then! The staff were most helpful and pleasant. A very nice hotel and good value. The only small problem was that as our flight was later in the evening there was no spare room for us to shower but were told we could use the shower in the pool toilet area. This shower was in need of repair. I would stay again at this hotel -the town was so lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view - high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedbournTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi

Address: Avenida de Baldomer Gili i Roig 20, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: $553 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garbi 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing