We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the curate's egg.”
Review of Hotel PortBo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calella de Palafrugell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel PortBo
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We chose this hotel on the strength of your reports and found the breakfast truly superb, the staff friendly and the overall cleanliness excellent.
However it is rare in 45 years of travelling to find a hotel without a bar - no focal point. Three sitting-rooms where nobody ever sat. The hotel interior was reminiscent of a mausoleum. The noise from the pool (no towels, or umbrellas) with its jacuzzi, fountains and jets made conversation difficult and was an assault on the ears.
The trek to the beach became a tiresome daily chore.
Decent price, but probably more suitable for families with noisy offspring.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Hotel PortBo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 17 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2006

I was with a travel group which brought us to this hotel. At first we had to walk a mile with large suitcases because the bus couldn't bring us closer, but then I was impressed. The pool is rather large and unique, with jets that keep the water moving. The hotel has different wings, and some are new and others are not. I was there almost 20 days, and stayed in two different rooms. One was a large suite on the ground floor. I was very impressed, lots of windows and the washrooms were all marble. Later that week i moved to another room, this one was disappointing. It is far away (only minutes really) from the rest of the hotel, and is quite dated. We left some fruit out, and ants found it. It was rather funny actually. The upside to this room was that it had an absolutely huge and private patio. I believe the patio was bigger than my room. It had a view of the sea, so it was nice. The best thing about this hotel are the breakfasts. They are huge, I did not expect this at a small family owned hotel. There is a huge buffet, and then a man comes around asking if you want eggs and bacon. I think its a great deal, and the town is very lively. In the town you must eat at Sano Banano, its a very chic sandwich place.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2005

Truly a diamond in the rough. I stayed here for two weeks, and had a fabulous time. Friendly staff, and great breakfast. It is served right to lunch. The town is utterly charming, the beach seems like an extension of someone's private beach. Quiet but gorgeous. My recomendation, wake up early (around 6) and watch a sun rise. Spectacular. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob.Rugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
manchester england
219
Reviewed August 11, 2005

This area of the Costa Brava is really unspoilt - Calella de Palafrugell being just a small fishing village with no high rise buildings, slot machine or karaoke bars! The Hotel Port Bo is a private hotel with rooms and self catering apartments. We stayed in a room with a fabulous view of the sea from our balcony (all rooms have balconies or terraces). The rooms were clean and comfortable - staff very friendly - the only meal served in the hotel was breakfast but they really spared no effort in making sure that there was a variety of food to choose. Nothing was too much trouble - even offering to cook things such as egg and bacon to order if the vast array of continental goodies was not to your liking. We found this hotel to be comfortable rather than 'swish' and would definitely return.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lolaros74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mariona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
2.1 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
307 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
328 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PortBo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PortBo

Address: Carre Major, Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing