We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel for a Great Price!”
Review of Hotel Alga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alga
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel for a Great Price!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed there for two nights at the end of May. It was a beautiful hotel. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the inside is gorgeous. High ceilings, lovely art and an amazing pool and garden area. Its not right on the water, you have to walk a couple blocks down, but so close and not a big deal at all. Sort of nice to be out of the mayhem. The rooms are a bit dated, but quiet and clean with everything you need. All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    122
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
105
132
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Azille, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Lovely hotel, staff helpful ( with one tiny exception). Really good location .Breakfast lovely. Gardens and pool area exceptionally well maintained.Rooms very large and very clean. Lovely altogether. Only small annoying thing was that the night porter decided to use his mobile phone outside the hotel under my bedroom window at 2am, therefore only four out of five stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent two nights in early May. The hotel was in so many ways excellent. Elegant and tasteful public areas; spacious, well kept, grounds, warm, friendly staff. The retaurant had a set menu but with plenty of choice. Food was well prepared and presented (a very good chef) and really good value. The bar was comfortable and well stocked. Rooms were large and inviting BUT they only had one chair! There were modern, flexible bedside lamps BUT no shelf or bedside cabinet for a book or one's glasses or personal effects! With so much that is right it is a mystery why there should be such simple errors.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BEC96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had a great week here in the summer. Our teenagers' main holiday priority is a swimming pool, and the fabulous pool at the Alga got a definite thumbs-up. There's plenty of room in the big garden around the pool so you can sunbathe right away from other people if you want. The breakfasts were great, but we found the lunch/dinner menu a bit formal: the food was very good, but with teenagers it would have been good to have some more casual options. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We visited the Hotel Alga for the second time in October 2011 and were as delighted with the accomodation and service as we had been on our first visit the year before. Over the last 23 years we have visited Calella de Palafrugell frequently, in both July and October, and have stayed in several local hotels. The Alga is the first one we have re-visited: It is not the most expensive, but is very welcoming and comfortable and has an excellent location. Hopefully we will return for a third visit - as we fell in love with Calella de P. and nearby Llanfranc all those years ago no doubt we will return to the Alga once more.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view. As the village is so beautiful it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank McClure_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I was here with a group of colleagues two years ago, in June. Service, breakfast, rooms with a view, it was all perfect. The hotel is close to the center of the beautiful little village and to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent just one night in this very lovely modern place but got the best of it. Modern but with a touch of antique elements incorporated into design. Superb sea view. Excellent breakfast. Did not try restaurant or pool as we went to explore Calella and surroundings but if we come back for more of Costa Brava one day - this will be our place of choice to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piramidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alga

Property: Hotel Alga
Address: Av Joan Pericot i Garcia 55, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alga 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel situate 200 meters from the beach of Calella de Palafrugell to focus on the Costa Brava. The restaurant offers fine local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alga Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing