We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Alga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had a great week here in the summer. Our teenagers' main holiday priority is a swimming pool, and the fabulous pool at the Alga got a definite thumbs-up. There's plenty of room in the big garden around the pool so you can sunbathe right away from other people if you want. The breakfasts were great, but we found the lunch/dinner menu a bit formal: the food was very good, but with teenagers it would have been good to have some more casual options. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 307 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We visited the Hotel Alga for the second time in October 2011 and were as delighted with the accomodation and service as we had been on our first visit the year before. Over the last 23 years we have visited Calella de Palafrugell frequently, in both July and October, and have stayed in several local hotels. The Alga is the first one we have re-visited: It is not the most expensive, but is very welcoming and comfortable and has an excellent location. Hopefully we will return for a third visit - as we fell in love with Calella de P. and nearby Llanfranc all those years ago no doubt we will return to the Alga once more.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view. As the village is so beautiful it is well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank McClure_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I was here with a group of colleagues two years ago, in June. Service, breakfast, rooms with a view, it was all perfect. The hotel is close to the center of the beautiful little village and to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent just one night in this very lovely modern place but got the best of it. Modern but with a touch of antique elements incorporated into design. Superb sea view. Excellent breakfast. Did not try restaurant or pool as we went to explore Calella and surroundings but if we come back for more of Costa Brava one day - this will be our place of choice to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piramidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Efficient online booking; speedy reception; comfortable bed in room with sea view - piping hot water. Ideal breakfast (EXCEPT for the single coffee machine - just glad there were not fifty people at breakfast.....the delay was unexceptable).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The first two weeks in September this year was spent at this excellent hotel. We booked it because we did exactly the same thing last year and had a great time! This visit was every bit as good. Our room was faultless, the food was high standard, the staff always friendly and helpful yet unobtrusive , all in all, a perfect holiday. Calella is as delightful a resort as it was forty years ago! We shall be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Alga twice before and loved it. This time we took four other couples with us and were nervous in case they did not feel the same. However they all agreed it was superb. There was nothing to fault it. They have all fallen in love with Calella (a place we have been coming to for 30 years) and all can't wait to come back again and stay at the Alga.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 786JAMESV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
157 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
3.7 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alga

Address: Av Joan Pericot i Garcia 55, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: $96 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alga 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel situate 200 meters from the beach of Calella de Palafrugell to focus on the Costa Brava. The restaurant offers fine local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alga Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing