We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning View - Watch Out for the Ants”
Review of Hotel Sant Roc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sant Roc
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Stunning View - Watch Out for the Ants”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights in a top floor room. Stunning view with a private veranda overlooking the coastline of the Costa Brava. The room was smallish, but well appointed as otherwise comfortable ... except for the invasion of the ants.

We had been hiking and I had a baggie full of trail mix that was not fully locked closed sitting in my daypack. When I lifted the daypack in the morning, there was a spillage of tiny red ants coming from it, a large poor of ants that had gathered below it and a steady stream of ants leading to crack between the baseboard and the wall. So - ants in the wall. On the top floor - think about that for a moment and you will understand my rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no ants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantroc, Gerente at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your visit to our hotel, we regret that you didn’t report this problem with the ants, we would have solved immediately and also it could have been useful to know to see if it is a specific problem (as it seems because like you say in your comment they came for the food on the opened backpack) or could be a problem that we didn’t previously detect and we would solve it fastly and efficiently making your stay the most comfortable.

Waiting to receive you in the future again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    103
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
49
184
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Family run hotel witb beautiful views of the sea.
Standard room is small but nicely decorated. The balcony has 2 chairs and a small table and keeps the room from feeling cramped. The breakfast buffet had an ample selection of food. The staff was very accomodating. We would definitely book again if we travelled to the area again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service. At Hotel Sant Roc we like to take care of our guests so they can get the best possible experience while visiting Sant Roc.
It will be a real pleasure to have you stay back at the hotel next time you visit Calella de Palafrugell.
We look forward to see you again!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room is more than adequate (although the hotel should send an exterminator around more often, as I had some ants in my room). But the view is simply spectacular. Breakfast buffet was very good with lots of variety and good quality. Dinner on the second night had its highs and lows; the calamari with aoili was some of the best I have had, while the monkfish stew was skimpy and the Catalan custard, billed as crime brûlée by the waiter, tasted strange.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poopycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at Hotel Sant Roc. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Calella de Palafrugell. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

Don't hesitate to return to our hotel if you come again in la Costa Brava, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

An excellent family run hotel, wonderful ambience and fantastic location. We went half board and found it excellent value; standard of cuisine exceptional. Very impressed with all members of staff who were extremely efficient but in a friendly, relaxed manner. Definitely retro but in a good way; particularly liked fact you could borrow beach items. If we had to find a criticism it would be that our room (105) lacked the wow factor, although it had a wonderful sea view but relative to all the positives, a minor point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Sant Rocand your explanatory feedback. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

We look forward to accommodating you again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sant Roc hotel is a very lovely place to stay. We had land view room but we did not regret because we did not spend a lot of time in the room. The breakfast was very tasty with spectacular view on the coast. Gulls were very noisy and closed our windows early in the mornings. The personal were very helpful. The hotel provided free beach towels and umbrellas for us. I recommend to stay at this hotel for quiet vacation.

Room Tip: We had a land view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Sant Roc we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Calella de Palafrugell.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Trip Advisor with such kind words. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.

Best regards from the Mediterranean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is exceptional. The hotel is actually quite average, and particularly expensive during the month of August. Not a lot of investment going back into this place and it is very noticeable when in the room. A plus is that parking is rather easy and from the hotel you can walk to anywhere in the village. Probably would not stay there again.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTluszcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest:
From all of us here at Hotel Sant Roc, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Calella de Palafrugell. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.
We have taken note of your comments and we´ve passed it along to the department in charge so they can take proper action.
On the other hand, we are happy to learn you took advantage of our location to enjoy the many touristic attractions of La Costa Brava.
We would love to see you again next time you are in town. Hopefully you´ll give us a chance to show you our improvements.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamorna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This part of the Costa Brava is relatively unspoilt and has not been ravaged by concrete, overdevelopment and tacky alcohol fueled tourism. It remains charming.
Imagine you we're part of the chic jet in the 1950's looking for a boutique hotel, then that is the Hotel Sant Roc. It is in a charming time warp and you would expect Cary Grant to walk in any second. The food is good, the service excellent and the Grandchilden of the original owner, who now run the hotel are smiling and gracious hosts.
The terrace, where you can dine and drink whilst enjoying the beautiful view is shaded by ancient olive trees. Don't expect the usual 21st century trappings and decor, this is definitely retro!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus_Clark_Lamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantroc, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Sant Roc, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Marcus,
Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Sant Roc and for sharing your impressions and insider tips with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your comments about the quality, service, staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!
Before your next visit to Calella de Palafrugell, we invite you to make your reservation through our website. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel Sant Roc.

We look forward to accommodating you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Roc

Property: Hotel Sant Roc
Address: Placa Atlantic 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and peaceful hotel located in the heart of la Costa Brava. Come and let yourself be carried away by emotions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sant Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Roc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing