We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best camping and more”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calella de Palafrugell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping La Siesta - Calella de Palafrugell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I have been visiting this area of spain for over 40 years now and 3 years ago I decided to rent one there cabins and have been going ever since. So good for, kids as it is so safe, the people, service, cleaniness, entertainment, location just under 10 mins to the beach. Love it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank OiChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Camping La Siesta - Calella de Palafrugell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 315 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

FInding a place in busy Catalonia summer time where you take for granted things like cleanliness, lack of noise, quality children activities and a beach that is simply to die for can be hard. These guys achieved it easily it seems. This place offers all that and more.

Get a bungalow for a 100% massive experience. You will find nice people, many Dutch, some Brits, and French too. It is totally family oriented. Night activities rock!

It was 2013 our first time. It will NOT be the last.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows on the Western part of the complex, away from the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cigarreando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have been going to La Siesta for many years n we love it so much we are still going back again n again. The staff, the people, the cleanliness, everything about La Siesta is just fabulous. Walk down to the front n down to La Franc n it's stunning, you don't have pub after pub n no lager louts either. Sheer heaven.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sheik511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We decided to have a late summer holiday, just for a week, at the end of September. Excellent decision!! We travelled as usual with Siesta holidays, on the coach. We thought it may be a bit too much travelling as we were only staying for a week - but it was fine. Good coach journey as always. Nice sunny weather all week. Excellent service on the site, very helpful reps. No problems at all. To top all this - being in this idyllic area of Catalunia. Who could ask for more. As I have said in earlier reviews, we keep returning to this site - just the 2 of us, or with family. Probably been coming for 25 years or so. It's nice to visit other places, but this is our home from home and where we relax more than anywhere else we go!! We find new places to visit each time we come. I think we probably know most of the walks in the area, but we always manage to to find another one on each visit. We like to venture further inland by car to see the beautiful villages - Besalu being the latest find. Can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: The Siesta 4's are just right for a couple - using the 2nd bedroom as a dressing room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HolidayLoversl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

booked with canvas holidays. Friendly staff. good position for beaches & coastal walks. Within easy driving distance of more beaches & towns. Tourist train great for trip home if legs are too tired!!
Supermarket excellent value for money & very cheap. Nearly everything you could want. Bakery good with freshly cooked bread all day. Although sometimes we had a daily competition to see who could get the staff to smile first!!
Nice walk to beaches but can be a long haul back with chairs, snorkelling gear etc!! Steep steps down to some beaches so not suitable to less mobile . Sea absolutely clear, clean & warm. Lots of fish.
restaurants in town good & varied. Lots going on at night. Very comfortable walking about.
Like most campsites can be noisy at night and in early mornings
lovely coastline. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NlincsLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Filthy, that describes the state of our Canvas mobile home: Washing-up basin in cupboard beneath sink full to overflowing with stagnant smelly water which has cascaded down into bottom of cupboard filling our saucepans. Cutlery,china and glasses had not been washed. Toothpaste and grim on mirror in bathroom. All windows covered in finger etc. marks. Pillows really dirty and one which was found under bed on a grimy floor soaking wet with who know what. When we advised the rep that this was far, far from what our Canvas accommodation is normally like, he advised that he would give it a quick clean. I told him that it would take a team over a week at least to get this mobile up to standard and that we would liked to be moved he said that there were no others available. I got quite stressed and upset and felt very insulted to expect us to accept such filth and so after a while my husband said he thought it best if we check out and go elsewhere. The rep asked us to wait while he checked again and funnily enough he found us a very clean mobile home. When we looked around the camp site, there were several empty clean mobile homes, not in use and actually were not used for the full time we were there.
Upon our return home, we contacted Canvas UK with our complaints and photos of our complaints only to be told that our feedback was important to them and that they would try to ensure that this did not happen again. We thought a small gesture of goodwill would have been offered to us for the stress, wasted time and insult. We replied to that effect and requested either the CEO or Company Secretary details to see if they were of the same indifferent opinion. They would not provide us with their details and said the matter was now closed.
If you have a problem with Canvas, don’t expect to get treated with respect. We had been loyal customers of theirs for several years and had recommended them on to various family members and friends and felt they would only be too pleased to show us that we were valued. Not so.

Room Tip: Don't use Canvas - Siesta holidays are on the same site use them.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacapus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The camping site is situated just outside the town of Parafrugell in a wooded sloping area: it is not too large and impersonal. The main swimming area is very clean and with plenty of sunloungers,enjoyed the aquaerobics great instructor. The second swimming pool area is quieter but with no refreshments available. The supermarket is very good and cheap, we found wine there that was 5euros cheaper than in the supermarkets in the main town. Great bakery and paper shop all the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed with Canvas holidays, good staff and found us a great pitch after arriving late and we were not happy with the pitch offered. Activities on offer by the campsite, cycling, walks, children activities, film in english everynight, plus mini discos and nightly entertainment. Easy downhill walk to Calella beaches, shops,restaurants, icecream parlours and bars, 15min walk up hill to rear entrance of campsite, maybe not for elderly or infirm, but taxis available. Safe walk or cycle along side the main road into Parafrugell. Market busy on Sunday morning, great atmosphere, get there by 9.45 for free parking. Cheap petrol next door to Aldi store on roundabout by the bypass. Found a great store on the road to Palmos,cheap oven ware in great colours, can be used on the stove, oven and microwave :2 euros for a 6in dish , cannot miss it as it has lots of statues outside. The best part for us the beautiful coastal walks to Cap Roig gardens and the Llanfranc. We ate in Llafranc in the evening and it was safe and lit path back along the coast.This area is still very Spanish and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We had a pitch on Les Oliviers path, easy access to shop, pool restaurant and rubbish bins. Some pi...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aging_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
450 reviews
10.7 mi away
Camping Castell Montgri
Camping Castell Montgri
#2 of 43 in L'Estartit
653 reviews
19.1 mi away
Camping Cala Llevado
Camping Cala Llevado
#2 of 17 in Tossa de Mar
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Siesta - Calella de Palafrugell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Siesta - Calella de Palafrugell

Address: Avinguda del Mar, Km 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: $30 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping La Siesta - Calella de Palafrugell 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Costa Brava, Calella de Palafrugell is an old fishermen small village with coves of crystalline waters. Camping La Siesta is a family and sports campsite, located in a natural forest and with direct access to the beaches of Calella and Llafranc. It has all the services of a first class camping. Wooden bungalows, shaded plots. Children and youth animation. Guided and free tours in BTT and Nordic Walking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping La Siesta Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing