We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping La Siesta with Siesta Holidays UK”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calella de Palafrugell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping La Siesta - Calella de Palafrugell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall a great site in a lovely hillside location and I would happily recommend it.
We booked our holiday here through UK based Siesta Holidays travelling down by overnight Club Class coach. It is an economical and generally stress free way to travel. Once seated you can sit back and relax with a reasonable amount of foot-space and watch the countryside roll by. Served on route by a hostess with hot/cold food/drinks, you have little to grumble about really
As for the accommodation and the site itself, the mobile home we had was starting to show signs of wear and tear. A deluxe 8 Lodge, for 5 (4 adults and a large teen) it was adequate but a little cramped in spaces, but it had everything you needed. Some of the other lodges looked new but were the smaller models. There was no welcome meeting at this site with the Siesta reps, so no excursion blurb or similar that you'd expect in some resorts. The site itself was in my view very nice, situated on a hillside slope and the various companies on the site had their units set out on terraces/steps throughout the parc. We saw Canvas Holidays, Homair, Siesta and La Siesta and a large area given over to touring caravans and tents. There was a lot of free space. Facilities on site are very good; an onsite bakery, supermarket, accessories store selling all manner of things, pharmacy, cash point, medical centre, shower blocks with washing machine area and sinks, small arcade, playgrounds, tennis court, sand based mini-football pitch, massage facilities and gym and 2 pools one which has the restaurant, bar and take away food sat overlooking it. A short but walk away and you are at the sea with fabulous views and a number of beaches, good selection of restaurants and some bars. But be warned the walk down and back is via a steep hill and there are a lot of steps to consider in town.
Service on site we found to be good, the quality of food likewise, though the range is limited and they stress it as fast food but not in the true sense though. Entertainment was average during our 2 week stay but on some evenings they had mini discos and theme nights.
Bottom line is that I was impressed enough to consider a return visit. I would recommend this site easily.

Room Tip: Siesta Holidays have Siesta 8 Deluxe lodges overlooking the pool and the remainder of the units are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sm4llb1ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 319 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

la siesta campsite has lodges cabins self drive caravans entertainment 2 pools great food cheap beer and shop you can play football vollyball and more free wifi in the pub and lots of pc to use for a charge,the most clean place you will find and callea is a fishin g village unspoilt you would think you were in devon or cornwall with the sun,busses to all over pals is near and so is palamos cost 1.65 euros each wine is sooooo cheap ,recommend you go here for any family,we went by bus with siesta holidays first class buses with your own tv ,11 time with them

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank royofthereds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We like this area and site so much, we have been coming for 5 years. The site is super clean, has fantastic staff and is safe and family orientated. We are sting with UK Siesta company, and I have to say their staff have been phenomenal. We arrived on the 18th with no luggage (as BA had lost it), Tim and the other Siesta staff couldn't have been more helpful, offering us all they could to get our holiday started. Thanks Siesta!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay with the UK company Siesta, they have new and much improved site managers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Josmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Went with canvas holidays and for first time in 15 years found the services / canvas staff shocking. The staff from the site where also not helpful as they kept wanting us to go through canvas. Actually the most impressive thing about the site was the security on the gates and the constant cleaning of the site facilites. That said we where in a mobile home but talking to people in the on site cabins they had various infestation problem's. It can be noisy up until midnight on a couple of nights with the entertainment but usually quiet after 10. The on site market, bakery, hole in wall and pharmacy was the best I have come across on a campsite and very reasonable. The walk to the beach is v steep. The beach is small but v pretty.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Broke the habit of a lifetime and returned to the same location for my summer holiday two years running. This site is very very good, the staff are all very polite and friendly, the shop well stocked and reasonably priced, the bakers fantastic and the pools excellent. There is entertainment laid on if you want to take part but it is not forcedd down your throat - night time entertainment included musical shows, films and disco nights with aquaaerobics and aqua disco in the pools most days. The site is a short walk from Calella with great breaches, restsurants and ice cream shops. It's all very Catalan and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank npr1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic weeks holiday at Camping La Siesta, having booked accommodation only through Siesta Holidays (who we had never heard of). The whole experience was brilliant and I honestly cannot fault anything. The site is wonderfully maintained, and not too large. It is set on a gentle rolling hillside with Mediterranean pines offering dappled shade from the midday sun. It was a consistent 27-33 degrees every day.

My wife and I plus boys aged 15 and 7 flew direct to Girona and got a taxi to the site which took just under an hour, and was really very easy. The Siesta reps were great and we checked in early as our Family 8 lodge was ready early, the reps were brilliant and you got the feeling they enjoyed being on the site as much as the holiday makers. The caravan was more than adequate for a week although would have been a bit of a squish with a full 6/8 person quota, it was reasonable provisioned but for longer than a fortnight might have been a little uncomfortable but given that we ate outside for every meal and were out and about from 10am every day it was perfect. The air con was a god send!

Just about every campsite amenity was perfect, pool, shop, bakery, bar,restaurant etc etc Honestly the quality of the food and low cost of the shop on site was almost unbelievable, my wife was delighted when we found the same Cava for 2 euros a bottle that we buy in the UK for £7.99! We ate and drank like kings all week. The evening entertainment was predictably cheesy but the spanish staff who put it on really went for it and I loved their enthusiasm, its not really our thing but you could see that some families and children loved it.

Having not been in a position to go abroad on holiday for a long long time we were a little worried about going to the Costa Brava and perhaps unwittingly booking us into a very commercialized resort, however as the other reviews will testify this really is an authentic Spanish seaside town which was clearly a fishing community and like many, now focused on tourism. Whilst it was busy on the town beaches (as we expected in early August) it never felt ridiculously over crowded, and as the vast vast majority of tourists/family's were also European (Spanish/French/dutch etc) there was no rowdy behaviour.

So all in all having spent a week swimming every day and enjoying the snorkelling and crystal clear seas (lots of fish!) and eating moules marninere in the beach side restaurants at the end of most days we are now back in rainy old England (feeling sad.....).

My top tip would be to leave the beach until around 5-6 O'clock and then walk down with a bottle of wine and some fresh bread/salami cheese etc and enjoy an early evening picnic on one of the town beaches a quick swim and then watch the sun go down.

If you are looking for a simple noncommercial self catering week in the sun, you cannot go wrong and we will definitely book again, as there is so much in the area that we didnt have time to do.

All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Im just back from a week at Camping La Siesta with my husband and daughter (just under 2 years old) and we all had a great time. The site itself is lovely. The main pool area was lovely, huge pool with plenty of sunbeds and room for my little one to roam. We used the restaurant, bar and takeaway and found them all to provide good service and food at reasonable prices. It had the added benefit of a litte play area so my daughter was kept content while we sat and ate. The supermarket onsite was very well stocked and not over priced at all. It would be easy given the captive audience for them to over charge on the food drink sold here but they dont, it was very reasonable. The bakery on site is fabulous and we enjoyed fresh bread, croissants etc again all at reasonable prices. They also have a couple of play areas for small children with play houses, small plastic slides etc and a sand pit that were all great for my daughter. We had a mobile home (hired from Canvas Holidays) which was ideal for us, came with decking and a BBQ and although our pitch was close to the pool it was still very quiet.

The surrounding area is lovely, Calella is only about a ten minute walk away and is a really pretty little town with a few shops and restaurants and little beaches, about 15 minute walk is Le Franc which has a bigger, sandier beach which is backed by a promenade with more restaurants, again a really pretty little place. If you're feeling brave you can walk from Le Franc up to a view point at Sant Sebastia (about 30-40 minute walk) beware though its very steep, but the views are well worth it! We also went to the market at Palafrugel on Sunday which sold amazing fresh fruit and veg as well as the usual clothes etc you expect in a market. A bit further afield (about 10-15 minute drive) was Tamaru, again small place, very pretty little cove with some nice restaurants backing the beach.

All in all a great week, the area is lovely and the site itself was perfect for a stress free week away with family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank caz726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#5 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
0.5 mi away
Hotel Port Bo
Hotel Port Bo
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
261 reviews
5.0 mi away
Camping El Maset
Camping El Maset
#3 of 7 in Begur
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Siesta - Calella de Palafrugell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Siesta - Calella de Palafrugell

Address: Avinguda del Mar, Km 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Calella de Palafrugell
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping La Siesta - Calella de Palafrugell 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Costa Brava, Calella de Palafrugell is an old fishermen small village with coves of crystalline waters. Camping La Siesta is a family and sports campsite, located in a natural forest and with direct access to the beaches of Calella and Llafranc. It has all the services of a first class camping. Wooden bungalows, shaded plots. Children and youth animation. Guided and free tours in BTT and Nordic Walking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping La Siesta Hotel Calella De Palafrugell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing