We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Molino del Canto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the Posada over the Christmas period, as other family members had rented a house nearby. Everything about the place is truly welcoming, the owner Javier and his lovely family, the woodburning stove in the lounge/dining area and the comfortable accommodation on two floors.
Despite arriving much later than planned on our first evening, Javier was able to rustle up a most enjoyable dinner, which set the pattern for the rest of our 5 night stay. Excellent breakfasts were enjoyed every morning.
The location of the Posada alongside the Ebro river is just beautiful and most peaceful.The whole surrounding area is totally unspoilt and quite spectacular in places, with numerous tiny hamlets scattered throughout.
If we are ever in the area again we most certainly will revisit the Posada.
Sastre, Madrid

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sastreMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 110 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our 4x4 having died north of Madrid, we arrived late in the evening, the scenery invisible in the dark. We were warmly welcomed by Javier and the roaring log fire. After freshening up in our suite we had the most amazing dinner. Excellent cuisine. We adjourned to bed being tired after our eventful day. Our room and in fact the whole building was beautifully decorated with lots of interesting things to look at. In the morning after I had a shower and Gilly a long hot bath we went down to a grand breakfast. We went for a short local walk and birdwatch. The scenery was magnificent. Griffon Vultures were circling the mountain opposite & Dippers & Grey Wagtails on the fast flowing river Ebro. Will definitely be returning on our next trip to Bilbao, hopefully without the vehicle trauma next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveArboleas_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a return visit for us and we will no doubt go back again.We would highly recommend a trip to see Javier and family who look after you so well, in a stunning rural mountain location, huge 2 level rooms, homemade locally sourced food and wine which is all delicious Go out on the bird watching tour (even if you are not birdwatchers you will love it) guided by Javier who knows the area extremely well. Relax in the deckchairs in the meadow with a book, listening to the river, great walking area too. Thank you once again Javier for looking after us so well, it was hard to leave!!

Room Tip: every room is great so don't worry which room you are allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dawn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a nice surprise to drive all that way and be greeted with a peaceful haven. The evening meal and breakfast was home cooked, and delicious. The best food we had on our trip to northern Spain. Eco friendly too and food is grown by the owners.

Bedrooms were lovely and clean and comfortable bed. Little details like a decent hair dryer and nice toiletries did not go unnoticed.

Great base for walking,hiking and just generally GEtting some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julesrobertmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent a week at the Molino del Canto, August 2013. The accommodation was a large lounge/diner and a bedroom and bathroom above. Beds were made each day and the sheets and covers clean. If you like beams and restored furniture you will like it. Javier speaks English well and he is most helpful. The food was excellent both at breakfast and the evening meal. The area is all river and canyon, with lovely villages dotted about. This National Park is a wonderful place of natural beauty with great birdwatching and, for us, butterflies and plants. If you are a walker, easy or difficult routes, there is a walk for you and this is a brilliant place to stay. If you want shops, supermarkets or gift shops do not even think of coming here or you will have to travel far.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Part of a three centre walking holiday - Asturias, Burgos and the Basque region this had to be the highlight. Beautiful, far from the madding crowds, lovely knowledgable proprietors. From the bedding of antique French linen to the wonderful, interesting food, all prepared by Javier and his wife Valvanera we loved it. The property has been perfectly and sympathetically restored. You can connect with yourself here and you can learn a new hobby - Bird watching!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMDandAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The whole experince was just superb! Beautiful accommodation, wonderful setting. The owners / hosts, Javier and his wife, were extremely friendly and helpful and the quality of the food and the way it was served was the best we have ever experienced in Spain. Javier was extremely knowledgeable about bird life and we had a great day out with him birdwatching, including a picnic lunch out in the scrub. We wished we had booked a longer stay and have recommended to a number of our friends since returning. An all-out great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Molino del Canto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Molino del Canto

Address: Molino del Canto s/n, 09146 Barrio la Cuesta, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Barrio la Cuesta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barrio la Cuesta
Price Range: $84 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in a precious corner of the Valley of Zamanzas, in the border of the Ebro river, to fifty meters of the mill that gives name it. During hundreds of years it was the place of work of the millers, and now, after a well-taken care of restoration, we have turned it a rest place. For the restoration of the buildings, one has considered all those aspects that cause that the inn totally is integrated in the means that surround it, agreed in construction equipments with the own ones of the zone, wood of oak and limestone . The property consists of three buildings, the old house, today Inn, where are the rooms, the dining room and the kitchen. The old oven, today office. And the wonderful Mill, today recovered and fixed, continues being the Mill, although now already nobody brings wheat to grind, but you will be able to see its operation.Like the construction of the Inn, we have tried to dress it in its interior in furniture and old and recovered elements. In the ground floor, the hall, with a small library, specialized in books of routes, birds and ethnography of the region, takes step to the dining room chimney and with capacity for twelve people, or eighteen to us in the case of groups. The elm tree stairs give access to the first plant in that are the six rooms, to the being all type duplex, enters first a private hall and in the top plant it is the dormitory and the bath with bathtub, this top plant is with an attic and counts on a great window in the tile roof that contributes to light and romanticism in the nights with moon. We have rooms with double beds and others with two beds, in anyone of the two cases the beds ample and are dressed in sheets and bedspread cotton. All the rooms have the possibility of installing extra beds, reason why the capacity and distribution can be varied, consult us for groups or families. In the outside there is a porch and an ample garden next to the Ebro river, as well as a gigantic walnut that coolness in summer gives us.The Molino del Canto is located within the Parque Natural de las Hoces del Alto Ebro y Rudrón nature reserve.The Posada is the starting point for all our birdwatching walks, and it is easy to see why. Just by leaning out of the window you can see Griffon Vultures, Golden and Short-toed Eagles on the cliffs or in the sky above. The river Ebro runs past the door, with Herons, Dippers, Cormorants, Wagtails and others. In the garden are a tremendous variety, including Iberian Chiffchaff, Bonelli’s Warbler, Woodpeckers, various finches and tits, and other species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Molino del Canto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing