We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic rural retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Molino del Canto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic rural retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is one of the nicest places I’ve ever stayed in. A beautifully restored stone miller’s house set deep in a gorge by a river, with lovely gardens and terrace area where you can eat dinner if it’s warm enough.

The rooms are split level with a comfortable seating area and a bed and en-suite bathroom on the mezzanine upstairs, with organic toiletries provided. The location is really quiet - all you can hear is the birds and the sound of the river. There was a plate of biscuits and a bottle of water waiting for us each evening which was a nice extra touch.

We were really impressed with the quality and variety of the food on offer. The dinners were over 4 courses and were delicious, using a lot of organic produce from the garden - you could tell Javier had put a lot of care and effort into each dish and even provided home-made liqueurs to finish the meal.

There are some interesting walks in the area and the village of Orbaneja del Castillo is particularly pretty. A lovely place and really nice, genuine owners – I hope I’ll get the opportunity to go back some day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnos_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed with a group of hikers, one of whom was familiar with the Posada. I was really amazed at what a high quality hotel this was, given its pretty isolated and rural character. Xavier and his family manage to put on an excellent show for visitors; charming split-level suites, really splendid locally-grown food (and a fine tasting of locally flavoured spirits). This would be absolutely ideal for anyone who wants to live pretty well in peace and quiet in the middle of stunning mountains. We didn't do any birdwatching (other than spotting some golden eagles) but those who like that sort of thing seem very well catered for as well. A true find. I got the impression this might be ideal also for a spring or autumn break (check the weather) as it seems not to be busy out of the main holiday season. Looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricepudding21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We had visited Posada Molino del Canto on a previous occasion and thus found it reasonably easily but it is well hidden. This is a place of great calm and charm; the welcome we received, the unusual design of our 'suite,' the excellent food all combined to make our short stay happy and memorable. Unique is an overused word but on this occasion I am prepared to use it to describe this beautiful place. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: We have been alocated a different room on each of our visits, they are identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodfordWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Staying in Posada Molino del Canto meant idyllic seclusion and chaming rural features. The drive up to the Posada - about 40km north of Burgos - was as pleasant as you may imagine, discovering gorgeous mountains and encountering pretty villages.
We were received by Xavier who immediately ensured we were going to have a very pleasant stay. He provided all the information about the area, activities and places worth a visit. The bedrooms are simply divine, with a downstairs sitting area and a mezzanine, where the actual bedroom and en-suite bathroom are. The communal areas are just as pleasant and nicely decorated. Take some time to walk around the garden and down to the old water mill. Despite feeling that you are in the most remote of places, you're still able to log on the internet. Since there are no restaurants nearby, we strongly reccommend pre-ordering dinner. Besides, the food is really good - starter, main course, cheese and pudding, plus a good selection of wines.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noctia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bario La Cuesta
4.2 mi away
La Puebla
La Puebla
#1 of 1 in Orbaneja del Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Nogala
La Nogala
#1 of 1 in Dobro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza
Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre...
#1 of 1 in Espinosa de los Monteros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Gandara
La Gandara
#1 of 1 in Crespos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
19.1 mi away
La Lobera
La Lobera
#1 of 5 in Reinosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
La Casona De Escalada
#1 of 1 in Escalada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Molino del Canto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Molino del Canto

Property: Posada Molino del Canto
Address: Molino del Canto s/n, 09146 Bario La Cuesta, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Bario La Cuesta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bario La Cuesta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in a precious corner of the Valley of Zamanzas, in the border of the Ebro river, to fifty meters of the mill that gives name it. During hundreds of years it was the place of work of the millers, and now, after a well-taken care of restoration, we have turned it a rest place. For the restoration of the buildings, one has considered all those aspects that cause that the inn totally is integrated in the means that surround it, agreed in construction equipments with the own ones of the zone, wood of oak and limestone . The property consists of three buildings, the old house, today Inn, where are the rooms, the dining room and the kitchen. The old oven, today office. And the wonderful Mill, today recovered and fixed, continues being the Mill, although now already nobody brings wheat to grind, but you will be able to see its operation.Like the construction of the Inn, we have tried to dress it in its interior in furniture and old and recovered elements. In the ground floor, the hall, with a small library, specialized in books of routes, birds and ethnography of the region, takes step to the dining room chimney and with capacity for twelve people, or eighteen to us in the case of groups. The elm tree stairs give access to the first plant in that are the six rooms, to the being all type duplex, enters first a private hall and in the top plant it is the dormitory and the bath with bathtub, this top plant is with an attic and counts on a great window in the tile roof that contributes to light and romanticism in the nights with moon. We have rooms with double beds and others with two beds, in anyone of the two cases the beds ample and are dressed in sheets and bedspread cotton. All the rooms have the possibility of installing extra beds, reason why the capacity and distribution can be varied, consult us for groups or families. In the outside there is a porch and an ample garden next to the Ebro river, as well as a gigantic walnut that coolness in summer gives us.The Molino del Canto is located within the Parque Natural de las Hoces del Alto Ebro y Rudrón nature reserve.The Posada is the starting point for all our birdwatching walks, and it is easy to see why. Just by leaning out of the window you can see Griffon Vultures, Golden and Short-toed Eagles on the cliffs or in the sky above. The river Ebro runs past the door, with Herons, Dippers, Cormorants, Wagtails and others. In the garden are a tremendous variety, including Iberian Chiffchaff, Bonelli’s Warbler, Woodpeckers, various finches and tits, and other species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Molino del Canto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing