We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Disappointment”
Review of Virrey Palafox

Virrey Palafox
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

We were recommended to eat at this restaurant by the owner of a flat we rented for one night. What a let down. The reviews on Trip adviser suggested that the food was exceptional here but they are all old. So beware. We ordered two glasses of wine a soup and steak. The wine served was drinkable and we had to return it. It was replaced with wine which was not much better. The soup was cold and the steak was served with 7 chips each and a few overcooked mushrooms. They charged for the water and the bread was hardly fresh. The bill came to over 60 euros. This place is a total disaster. So STAY AWAY.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 604 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2018

Been here before and meals have been better, we were in a large group with a pre booked meal so I do expect the same as if I was choosing my own meal. Starter was a salad which comprised of a few leaves, 1/2 a tomatoe and 1/2 a boiled egg, not very appetising. Main was a white fish in a white sauce, not much of it and barely warm. From when the doors opened at 9.00 we were rushed through every course with plates being removed whilst others were still eating. We were booked in for a second night but didn't bother and had a much better meal at the Capitol restaurant in the main square.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

Simply perfect. Service, food, wine menu. You just can't find a weak spot. You must have 100 words but I can only say. Visit even if you have to drive 50 km more

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank franciscocosme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

Virrey is a family owned restaurant with a long tradition in El Burgo de Osma. For the visitor after a long journey in the city is the perfect place to relax and eat a typical Soria meal. Relax enjoy the mix of old-new Soria cuisine!!!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

As other reviewers have said, choose from the traditional menu and it won't disappoint. We had roast lamb and pig ribs and was quite excellent. The wine list is extensive and they also have some local beers from Cerveza Arvada. The Uxama Oro is particularly good.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virrey Palafox also viewed

El Burgo de Osma, Province of Soria
 
El Burgo de Osma, Province of Soria
El Burgo de Osma, Province of Soria
 
El Burgo de Osma, Province of Soria
El Burgo de Osma, Province of Soria
 

Been to Virrey Palafox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing