We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toro at its best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Toro
Certificate of Excellence
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Toro at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in this beauty on a weekday in august and the hotel was almost empty, so we felt like the place was only ours. It is an incredible investment relative to the size of the property/ vineyard and the tourist traffic in the Toro region- which produces less known Spanish wines of amazing value. The rooms/ pool area are extremely well designed and stylish and the staff did everything possible to give us a 5 star experience, from checking in, valet service for the car, premium breakfast and winery tour. The only disappointment was the spa policy: 40 eur/pp fee just to access the facility? That's more than the ritz carlton. No waiving of the access fee if you choose a treatment? That was a first for us- and we've been to many spas. It is not even about the money as it is about feeling "robbed". I bet they would get more customer satisfaction if they lowered the fee or waived it for spa services.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    40
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
217
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel- very modern and excellent staff. However, it is very isolated and extremely expensive and offers no included extras. The outdoor pool was still not open in mid-May and the spa was prohibitively expensive. We travelled in to Toro for dinner each night where there was a great atmosphere, but you need to drive, as the hotel is a good 12-15 minute drive outside the town.
It is well situated to visit the exciting wineries of Teso la Monja and Numanthia, but again a good 15 minute drive away.
As a young couple we found the place to be isolated and quite soulless- we were only one of two couples we saw whilst staying there.
The most disappointing aspect was the that a tour of the connected winery was not discounted to visit (and judging by the complimentary wine left in the room, the winery is not worth the €30 entrance).
I do have to mention the exceptional breakfast in the morning. The food was plentiful and of exquisite quality and freshness. The views out of the dining room are absolutely fabulous, showing the natural beauty of this wine region of Spain.
The rooms are also very clean, modern, spacious and boast a lovely big bathroom.
If you are looking for a romantic, private, not to mention expensive, break this is a wonderful hotel. However, with no complimentary transport to the local town, if you are planning a wine tour be prepared to have your own transport and not be hoping to drink too much!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks down over the valley. The huge windows in the bedrooms on that side boast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xaribdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We don’t normally pick this type of Hotel but we got offered discounted deal and took it. We arrived on motorcycles after a long ride and were welcomed outside the front door with the offer to take our bags to our room. I got the feeling that if we’d asked they would have parked the bikes as well.
Check in was accompanied with a welcome drink and they seemed unfazed that we were dressed in motorcycle clothes covered in dead flies. The room was spacious with complementary bottles of house wine. The pool area was very relaxing and the food was excellent. From arrival to departure the service was excellent .

In summary a genuine 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodgykipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Strange area, although good for travellers who enjoy vineyards,

Zamora/Toro is THE place to try good wines. Loads of bodegas around to visit and buy.

Hotel is fantastic. From arrival to departure all staff were perfect. Room was lovely with views on to the vineyards. Huge bathroom. Everything spotless. Details as in a fruit platter waiting for us in the room (fruit delicious and ripe), 2 bottles of their wine (very good) in the minibar, when our car was brought to us, bottles of water for the trip...all in all, pampering which is very rare nowadays!

We did not eat in restaurant and had a bar snack which was very good quality. The breakfast was gorgeous - buffet style for the basics, but then various options for eggs and heavier stuff, all cooked to order. We had fantastic eggs Benedict and also eggs with chorizo and ham - fantastic!!

Staff were very helpful, friendly and very professional

Fantastic place, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
783 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Valbusenda Resort is beautiful venue, with comfortable rooms and fabulous view on surrounding vineyards. Thanks the large windows, you have look on the nostalgic, peaceful countryside. So, sitting in the comfortable armchair with the glass of excellent local wine, which is complimentary in your room, you admire this exceptional object.
However, some details and technical solutions, installed in the hotel, like taps and sinks in the bathroom, are nice and modern, but difficult in use. Generally, the hotel is "over-projected"; too large venue, like for 36 rooms only.
The restaurant is perfect. Not cheap, but with pretty nice choice of local, manly meat dishes, accompanied by fantastic red wines from Toro.
The weak point is the communication in English with some team members of the hotel staff. Anyway, they are very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

As we approached Valbusenda and saw the hotel on the hill above the road, I feared what lay ahead. Frankly, the austere modern design of the hotel looks a little like a correctional institution!
However, when venturing inside, you are greeted by stylish modern furnishings and huge picture windows with super views over the surrounding countryside.
The rooms are spacious and elegantly designed to a high standard (including the same Loewe television that we have at home). Bathrooms are beautifully designed with excellent toiletries. The minibar is stocked with complimentary Valbusenda wines.
Be sure to book one of the rooms facing the front of the hotel for picture postcard views.
We didn't have time to use the spa as we had to leave early after one night to visit friends nearby. However, what we did see of the facilities would suggest that they are reason enough to stay at this unusual and excellent value hotel.
Dinner in the restaurant was superb - slow cooked lamb and potatoes, washed down with the resort's own wine. The restaurant was elegant and there was a particularly warm welcome from the manageress.
All in all, this is a very nice place to stay and I highly recommend it if you have reason to visit the area. We hope to return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JFF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

When people does everything to satisfy you, when the designhotel is marvelous so are the landscapes, it is not possible to hesitate to book a lovely journey at Valbusenda.
There is also possibility to visit the Bodega of Valbusenda, we did not have time enough to visit so I think we have to go back again!! Thanks for all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toro
5.8 mi away
Hotel Juan II
Hotel Juan II
#3 of 4 in Toro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Convento I
Hotel Spa Convento I
#1 of 1 in Coreses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
13.0 mi away
NH Zamora Palacio del Duero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Parador de Zamora
Parador de Zamora
#1 of 14 in Zamora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
12.7 mi away
AC Hotel Zamora
AC Hotel Zamora
#5 of 14 in Zamora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Horus Zamora
Hotel Horus Zamora
#3 of 14 in Zamora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa

Property: Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa
Address: Ctra. De Toro-Peleagonzalo S/N, 49800, Zamora Toro, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Toro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Toro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa is situated between the wonderful wine area Zamora and DO Toro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing