We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Stay”
Review of The Buck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Buck Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My usual hotel had no singles and wanted a fortune for a double so I tried this one. Nice room with a view over the village green but for some reason it smelt slightly musty. Good bar selling well kept beer. The pub is very busy for meals as it seems to be the best of the three on the village green so getting a seat can be a problem. The food is good 'pub food' and not too expensive. Breakfast was good except for the very salty bacon. WiFi is available in the public areas and they have two hubs to try to get past the old stone walls but i could not get wifi in my room. I wil be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 271 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Staying one night in Reeth and decided to eat in this pub. Service was prompt and friendly and there was a good range of food available, including specials on a blackboard. Had the grouse breasts which was excellent and beef and ale pie which was good. The beers were of a high quality and again there was a good choice of ales, ciders and whiskys (tho' we didn't try them all!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 28AMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice large room. Bathroom dated but clean. We were in a room above one of the hotel entrances which was abit noisy at closing time, this wouldn't normally worry me but after a days walking and another long one to go we did go to bed unusually early. Bar, good selection of beers and restaurant good and the staff were very friendly and efficient. Dinner and breakfast were very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were blown away by our evening at the Buck. The staff were incredibly helpful and happy to accommodate our needs. our dishes were stunning, both meats cooked exactly to order. The atmosphere was friendly, relaxed and unhurried. Just what you need from a getaway to recover from a busy week at work. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molechaps68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from a family break in Reeth spent at the Buck hotel. We had three ensuite rooms for our family. A double, twin and single. All were very clean and the double especially very spacious. We were made very welcome on arrival and enjoyed our whole stay. All staff were very attentive and the food was excellent, lots of choice and very reasonably priced. The hotel and bar were incredibly busy with it being bank holiday weekend and the Reeth show but the staff wer so friendly and efficient it didn't spoil the stay at all and the rooms were incredibly quiet considering the amount of people in the bar etc. Would certainly recommend and will hopefully stay again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 10 very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A lovely warm welcome was given even though we arrived very late in the night. Stunning room with four poster bed overlooking the dales. Very friendly atmosphere.
Breakfast was good although very greasy but plenty fruit, cereals etc.
We ate in the evening there twice, good food for pub but very samey. Would definately go back.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a super view over the dales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Thirty years ago we spent the first two night of our honeymoon here so it made sense to go back for our anniversary, the current owners have been in about three years or so. The cost for two of us for one night B&B was £84, now we booked late and got the last available room. The room was nice enough if a bit small, the bed seemed small and the mattress didn't fit the base which was weird but the bathroom scruffy and needed a makeover.

The staff were lovely and friendly especially the lady serving breakfast although I must admit I didn't particularly like the breakfast.

The view from our bedroom window was spectacular.

Room Tip: We booked late and ended up with the room above the bar which could be noisy so check first which ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
0.0 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
251 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
23.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
820 reviews
24.1 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Hotel

Address: Arkengarthdale Road, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Price Range: $111 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buck Hotel is a former Coaching Inn which dates from circa 1760 and is located at the village of Reeth's main cross roads and where a turnpike was in operation two centuries ago. The C2C goes past the front door, so the Buck is very popular with walkers.The Buck retains its traditional oak beamed bar with interesting horse brasses and an amazing collection of door knockers! Plus the tour de France passed the front door in 2014 so has now become very popular with cyclists. With an excellent reputation for real ales and ciders the Buck has been awarded the 2015/16 Cask Marque [for quality Real ales] and is featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2015.There is a good and varied menu with daily specials, which includes everything from Steaks to Fish & Chips and Game when in season.If you like a whisky, there are over 50 to choose from and the wine list is very popular. Dogs are welcome and there is overnight storage for cylcles. With a roaring log fire, the Buck offers the genuine Yorkshire welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Buck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buck Hotel Reeth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing