We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind welcoming owners very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arkleside Country Guest House
Ranked #5 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2009

My partner and I stayed here and really enjoyed our experience. The walks are lovely from this location and we were recommended places to visit by the owners. Food was great and dinner on sunday was delicious. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We are looking forward to going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffsaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2009

We have stayed here a few times now and cannot fault the service we have received!! The rooms have always been clean and the linen fresh, the views from most rooms are spectacular, the breakfast is superb and is served with a smile! The owners are very friendly and willing to pass on local knowledge about walks, pubs, attractions etc. We definately plan to return again soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisymunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

usually when i look at reviews on tripadvisor i go with what the majority say, and as the two bad reviews (the latest bad one wasnt on here then) were some time ago i assumed there must have been a refurb since then. but how i was wrong and they were right! agree with everything stated in the bad reviews. small bedrooms and tiny bathrooms (which would have been fine in itself at a lower price) and worst of all, dirty. crumbs on the bedside table, toothpaste spattered over the sink and tiles, a dirty toilet ( i wont go into details) and general bathroom grime. the room decor was very dated and shabby and the louvered bathroom doors were something else. if you like your bathroom privacy, avoid.
on the positive side, the sheets and towels were clean, and breakfast was good and served in a nice, recently decorated dining room. The owners still have a long way to go though to get the place up to a standard worth paying the high tariff for.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pugtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

I must admit we only stayed here because there was nowhere else available on Saturday night in Reeth. The last place on our (half) Coast to Coast walk was the most disappointing. It was an old fashioned B and B, not spotless, no view from our rooms, smelling of fried food, with small rooms and TINY bathrooms. In one room you had to climb over the toilet to get into the shower, the bathroom was literally 2m by 1m. No evening meal because we hadn't booked one, but we reckoned it was a lucky escape.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Ideal location and views to die for. Breakfast and evening meal both faultless and nicely presented. Very nice couple, helpful and pleasant, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chucksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I have to say that this is one of the best hotels my partner and I have stayed in. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and had the most wonderful views, the food is oustanding and the location is perfect. I'm already booking our next visit there as we speak. We can't wait to sit in the bar area and look out over the wonderful views of the Dales. Our perfect mini break!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montydonkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed in the Mews at this guest house. It was great for us and our dog. Just like having your own flat. Quiet, great views, very warm welcome by the new proprietors and a super breakfast. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoatingBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reeth hotels
0 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
0 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
286 reviews
0 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#3 of 10 in Reeth
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
YHA Grinton Lodge
YHA Grinton Lodge
#1 of 2 in Reeth
138 reviews
0 mi away
Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room
0 mi away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkleside Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkleside Country Guest House

Address: Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reeth
Price Range: $68 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkleside Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just off the Green, the Arkleside, which was once a row of Lead Miners Cottages, has been tastefully refurbished offering a good and comfortable standard of accommodation in a peaceful setting. Guest rooms have magnificent views towards Fremington Edge and beyond. All guest bedrooms are centrally heated and come equipped with colour tv, tea/coffee making facilities, wifi, hairdryers and freshly laundered towels/bedding. There is parking in the courtyard at the front of the guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Arkleside Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkleside Country Guest House Reeth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing