We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arkleside Country Guest House
Ranked #5 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Not set up for walkers, with no drying facilities. Guest areas weren't the cleanest and seemed quite damp and smelt peculiar. Bedroom and bathroom tiny with facilities looking tired.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank SarahH182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on trip advisor albeit not a positive one towards us. Of course we are disappointed when guests do not enjoy their stay and even more disappointed when they do not raise concerns whilst they are with us so we can address them. Although we do not have the space for a designated drying room, we do offer a tumble drying facility which is clearly stated in the information brochures in our rooms. We can only assume this was not read on this occasion despite being advised to do so upon check in. We did also have the heating on as another drying method (something which we do not expect to have to do in July) Should a “drying room” be a specific requirement for a guest we suggest checking that this facility is available prior to confirming a booking with us. As for a damp peculiar smell we can only put this down to the 12 hours of continuous torrential rain that fell in Swaledale on Friday 6th July and took its toll on an 18th century building such as this. We also had a number of walkers staying with us most of which were drying clothes and boots in our entrance hall all at the same time which may have caused this apparent smell. No other guests staying mentioned a smell so we can only put this down to the weather.

The room in question is a standard double room and has been rated and approved by Visit England. Although this particular en-suite is not one of our newly refurbished ones it is still clean and fully functional and more than adequate for an overnight stay of this kind. It is also one of our rooms with the best view, although this was not mentioned.
We find this review quite harsh and detrimental to our small family run business and we are quite disappointed none of these concerns were raised at the point of check out or any point during their stay. If we remember correctly we went out of our way to offer these guests early breakfast at no extra cost, which we did not have to do and find it quite frustrating that things such as this were not mentioned in the review either. We understand that walking in the rain cannot be too much fun, but we do not see why our rooms and hospitality should bear the brunt of such a negative review for all to see. We do hope the fundamental parts of this guests stay were more than adequate, i.e., a warm welcome and good hospitality, a quiet and comfortable night’s sleep a clean and functional working shower and an award winning breakfast.
Hannah & Terry Hill
Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here with 3 friends doing the Herriot Way. Reeth is a beautiful village with good facilities and great places to eat. Arkleside B and B provided good accommodation and a nice breakfast. The owners are clearly making efforts to update the rooms with quality bathrooms and new decoration. The Buck hotel was good for food and the bakery in the village great for pack up.

Room Tip: Don't assume all rooms are ensuite. Some have private facilities which are fantastic new bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night last week on our way to visit family up North. Arkleside is situated in the village of Reeth in what must be some of the loveliest countryside in the country.

We were made to feel really welcome thanks to Terry and Hannah. They have worked very hard to make this a warm, comfortable and friendly place to stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well furnished. The bathroom was newly fitted and stocked with toiletries as were the tea-making facilities in the bedroom. Breakfast in the dining room was excellent. Local produce, superbly cooked. Outstanding views over the countryside made it a pleasure to get up in the morning.

The evening before we had strolled across the village green to enjoy a very pleasant evening in front of a roaring fire at The Buck. Needless to say, this will be a regular stopover for us now on our way up North.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FossieBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

this was my second stay at arkleside this time with Hannah and Terry running it i really enjoyed my stay, there was a great choice at breakfast and i slept like a dream.

Room Tip: room 2 had a beautiful view with ensuite shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffsaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend. Everywhere is spotless with our comfort of prime inportance. Bed very comfortable, as was the sitting room. Breakfast was not only well cooked and beautifully presented but with views from the garden unsurpassed, a real pleasure to be able to eat there. The room rates are really reasonable and we were made to feel it was home from home. Thank you Terry and Hannah for all your hard work

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granny2947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here this weekend, annex was lovely, couldnt fault the decor, facilities or cleanliness in any way. Joined other guests for a first rate breakfast in a dining room which has the most amazing view. Came back for mid morning coffee in the lounge but went out into the garden to get as much of the view as possible. Host and hostess were both extremely welcoming, helpful and nice. We loved this place.

Room Tip: The annex doesnt have the views some of the other rooms may have but I loved being self contained wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed overnight as part of a family get-together in Reeth. The guest house is conveniently central in the village. We found the room very comfortable and the shower was an excellent walk-in arrangement. We were well-received and the breakfast was all that we could have expected or required. We would certainly consider using it again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
0.0 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room
0.0 mi away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkleside Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkleside Country Guest House

Address: Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reeth
Price Range: $65 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkleside Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just off the Green, the Arkleside, which was once a row of Lead Miners Cottages, has been tastefully refurbished offering a good and comfortable standard of accommodation in a peaceful setting. Guest rooms have magnificent views towards Fremington Edge and beyond. All guest bedrooms are centrally heated and come equipped with colour tv, tea/coffee making facilities, wifi, hairdryers and freshly laundered towels/bedding. There is parking in the courtyard at the front of the guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Arkleside Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkleside Country Guest House Reeth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing