We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced food”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We visited this pub at the end of Sept. It felt more like a eating pub than a drinking pub probably due to the style of tables. As we intended to eat this was fine. They have a good selection on mains at £7.95, everyone in our group was satisfied with their food. The hand pulled beer was also good.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank coppernorthyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good points:
our room was clean and reasonably spacious, the bed was comfortable and the view from the windows beautiful.
Not so good (and this is going to be the longer list, unfortunately):
- bathroom fittings showing their age
- the fan in the en suite didn't work (or else it worked completely silently)
- there was no heating anywhere, not so much as a warm towel rail, on a cold weekend at the end of September
- we came back at 11.45pm on Saturday evening to find the main door bolted on the inside (luckily one of the staff was still around - she said she had thought everyone was already in (clearly not the case because at 12.30am we heard a group of guests repeatedly banging on the front door - when the owner hadn't responded after 10 minutes I let them in myself rather than listen to the noise any longer. No-one apologised for this in the morning).
- breakfast was typical of our experience of pubs that also offer B&B - nothing really wrong with it but all very mediocre - cheap orange juice, tasteless tomatoes, no choice of toast, hot meal served before I had finished my cereal
- not especially welcoming

Overall I feel the quality of our experience didn't match the price of the stay, and that the owners haven't put much effort into the B&B side of the business. It's a shame because the King's Arms is right in the middle of this beautiful village.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and it was lovely and peaceful.Reeth village is a beautiful relaxing place with great walks and scenery.The Kings Arms suited us nicely as you werent pestered and we did our own thing-we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for the second time while walking the coast2coast.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Food was also fine
I did feel that there was quite a lot of noise from other rooms during the night and also the service was a little impersonal.But overall this is a good place to stay
I

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I ate here several times during our recent holiday to the Yorkshire Dales. We had several different dishes including sausage and mash with onion gravy, chicken curry, steak and mushroom pie, gammon and chilli con carne, I can honestly say all our meals were excellent and extremely tasty. The dearest dish was the gammon which was £10.25 and was accompanied by chips, egg, onion rings and salad, the gammon was huge and well worth the money. I also have to comment on the landlord, he was so friendly and welcoming every time we went in no matter how busy he was. If you are in the area I can really recommend it as an excellent place to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuarita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited The Kings Arms during a recent visit to The Dales and were starving on arrival! Most of the pub food in Reeth seems a bit pricey if you're a city dweller whose used to competition keeping prices low, but hey ho this is a tourist area so prices will be higher. Having said this the pub had a selection of papers to read whilst relaxing which was a nice touch and the decor was cosy country-ish. The service wasn't particularly friendly on arrival, though the barmaid did manage a smile when the food was brought over. We both had 'traditional lunches'; ie a giant Yorkshire filled with beef in ale and veg and the beef and mushroom pie. Both meals were excellent and satisfying; recommended if you in Reeth and hungry!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACOL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Breaking our journey in the village of Reeth, we had lunch in the Kings Arms Hotel, a traditional inn overlooking the village green with welcoming staff serving good homecooking.

Having had a late breakfast I opted for the lighter option of potato and leek soup served with crusty bread (£3.50) which was extremely tasty and filling.

My companion had a giant Yorkshire pudding filled with lamb and vegetables (£7.95) which was stuffed full of delicious meat, perfectly cooked vegetables with tasty gravy.

We finished with a cafetiere of coffee (£1.75 each with complementary biscuits).

Using the toilet facilities before leaving, I had a clear view into the kitchen which appeared to be clean and orderly suggesting improvements have been made since being awarded a 2 star hygiene rating by the Food Standards Agency in October 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ermintrude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
0.0 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
255 reviews
8.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
YHA Grinton Lodge
YHA Grinton Lodge
#1 of 2 in Reeth
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arkleside Country Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: High Row, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reeth
Price Range: $80 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Reeth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing