We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What every non British tourist thinks of as an English country house hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burgoyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burgoyne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Certificate of Excellence
crowland, lincolnshire, uk
Level Contributor
369 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“What every non British tourist thinks of as an English country house hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Title says it all. Warm and welcoming and the staff, not just the owners, give the impression that nothing is too much trouble. We were a large family group with a variety of needs, ranging from disability to odd dietary requirements and nothing phased them at all. Rooms well equipped, large and quiet. I wouldn't hesitate to come back, and will do so. Not cheap, but quality isn't. Food in the dining room a varied menu and superbly prepared and presented.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    32
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
152
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed overnight for the Reeth show, treated ourselves to the top floor suite overlooking the green. Received a huge welcome, bags carried to our room, which was very well equipped, tastefully and individually decorated - lovely little lounge to sit and watch TV in should you wish. Bed comfy, bathroom and toiletries luxurious - even some bathroom scales! The food was just divine - excellent choice, and difficult to decide what to have, pre dinner drink was huge, no petty measuring here, wine list excellent. Breakfast again was grand as we say in Yorkshire, I had the best tasting eggs benedict ever. Staff and Julia couldn't do enough for guests, really felt valued, and looking forward to our next visit to one of the loveliest villages in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Splash out a little extra and stay in a superior room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Reeth is a great family favourite where the family originates; so it was lovely to spend sometime there staying atTheBurgoyne Hotel ,which was just a delight to stay. We celebrated our sons engagement and the whole weekend was made by staying in this lovely old hotel. There is a good range of food to choose from on the evening menu and all food was presented beautifully. Breakfast offered a good range and Sunday lunch was delicious.
Julia and Mo made the weekend for us, as did all other staff members.
Accomodation is lovely and the views spectacular over the green towards Harkerside. Reeth is an ideal place for staying in especially if you want to see Swaledale at its best.

Room Tip: Redmire and Gunnerside are both very large rooms with large bathrooms on the first floor.. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Burgoyne for the second time for our anniversary . Last year we could only get away for 2 nights - this time we stayed for 4 nights
We had forgotten how good this hotel was. Julia and Mo (the owners) make you feel so welcome, it's like visiting old friends rather than staying in a luxury hotel. We recognised other guests from our previous stay, and realised that once people discover this place, they come back time and time again.
We stayed in Marrick - the four poster room, and everything was just as luxurious as we remembered it. Far too often ,we have returned to a hotel to find that cuts have been made or services reduced - not so the Burgoyne.
As well as the sumptuous bedrooms, the communal areas are well kept and very conducive to sitting quietly before going in to the dining room for an evening meal
The food at this hotel has to be one of the other reasons people keep returning! Paul (the chef) produces wonderful 4 course meals, worthy of any top London hotel, and the choices at breakfast are the best we've seen anywhere
Added to that Reeth is an excellent place to base yourself for exploring the beautiful Yorkshire Dales
We have already booked for next year

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the Marrick, but judging by the website photos, all of the rooms are equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We wanted to give our special friends a very special gift to mark their Golden Wedding Anniversary. The Burgoyne proved to be exactly what we wanted. The setting overlooking the green and glorious weather gave us the perfect start.

Julia made us most welcome and showed us to our rooms. The rooms were just perfect with space and comfort. Tea, fresh milk and biscuits as we sat looking out over the dale. The two dinners we enjoyed in the evenings were chosen from and excellent menu. Indeed it it was extemely difficult to chose from the range of inviting dishes. Breakfast is a buffet with an excellent range of juices, fruit and cereals before you have to choose from the extensive breakfast menu.

All the staff, including the chef, work hard to ensure all the guests enjoy their stay.

The sun shone and the hills across the valley deepened in colour as the heather blossomed. We enjoyed every minute. Julia brings her smile and presence to ensure the ambience reflects
her personality and vision for a special hotel.

Our stay proved to be the special occasion we wanted it to be.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had overlooked the green and across the valley of Swaledale. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have been staying at the Burgoyne for over 20 years. We first stayed shortly after Derek and Peter took it on and have seen it evolve over the years. In the recent past we have witnessed the passing of Peter and a few years later the arrival of Julia and Mo, when Derek retired.

Julia and Mo had only been at the hotel for 2 weeks when we stayed in June 2011. In August 2012, they were finding their feet. Now we can see that they have settled in well.They have retained all the excellent aspects of the Burgoyne and made subtle and well received improvements. We were pleased to see that many of the staff have stayed with them, especially Paul and Chris in the kitchen and Allison still waiting on table.

Our view is that the Burgoyne is as good as it ever was and the food is probably even better than before.

We know that we can till rely on the Burgoyne to be our home from home for the years to come.

Room Tip: The 3 best rooms are Marrick with the four poster bed, Redmire and Gunnerside. They all have wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I wonder if there is a better hotel in the Yorkshire dales. If there is it must be exceptional because the Burgoyne takes some beating. A major factor is the quality of service. Nothing stiff or stuffy, nor too familiar - just friendly,efficient and professional. In the kitchen there are some artists at work. As to rooms, nothing is left to desire ( I don't sympathise with the report complaining that there were no biscuits with the tea-tray- some people look for trouble!);And there was no "atmosphere" in the dining room other than friendly chatter and good service. The hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished with every comfort. We shall certainly return because Reeth is the ideal place to visit if you want to explore the Dales. The only naughty bit is the addition of a charge for coffee after dinner - include this in the price, please as it looks mean. Otherwise, super!

Room Tip: Ask for "Redmire" - the large bedroom overlooking the Reeth Green. It has a superb en-suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
23.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
24.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
27.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burgoyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgoyne Hotel

Property: Burgoyne Hotel
Address: On The Green, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burgoyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burgoyne Hotel Richmond
Burgoyne Hotel Reeth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing