We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch”

Overton House Cafe and Deli
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Reeth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Under new management, we have changed the focus of Overton House. As well as serving homemade soups, light lunches, snacks and an array of sweet treats, we also sell many of these items to take out. Soup, sandwiches, savouries, scones and cakes are some examples. The small shop section of the cafe sells unusual deli items, Emma Bridgewater pottery and delicious treats from the likes of Mad Hatter Tea, Corks and Cases Masham, Taylor's of Harrogate and Nakd. As we're a family-owned, family-run business, we close on Mondays and Thursdays.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were just passing and after looking at the menu just had to pop in for lunch. What a great decision as the food was just fantastic with a selection of meals beyond the norm. I had deviled kidneys, which had far more kidney than I was expecting and my wife had the thickest rarebit imaginable. Both meals were delicious, the service attentive and swift and while it was small it was a comfortable restaurant with great views of the hills.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardandSally4542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    25
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb on both occasions”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently ate at the Overton House Café with my partner and his Mum and it was absolutely superb - the lady owner was a fantastic host and the fish outstanding! I love that they offer such a wide variety of fish on the menu. Wine was excellent and the atmosphere, small, warm and incredibly inviting. We love to visit this place on our trips to the Yorkshire Dales and we'll no doubt be back again soon. Can highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently amazing”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We are lucky enough to live locally to Overton house and we have eaten here on many occasions. The food is consistently fantastic, the selection of fish and sea food is brilliant and always cooked perfectly. If you don't eat fish then there are always meat dishes on the menu too. Gill will recommend a wine to go with your chosen meal and she never leaves you sitting with an empty glass. Well worth a visit but you will need to book.....the Creme Brûlée is out of this world!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emylou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Cannot compliment this place enough.

The food was excellent, with seafood the speciality. Both my wife and I thought our meals were fantastic and probably the best we'd had in a long time.

The welcome and service were faultless from genuinely friendly, chatty, smiley and helpful people. Especially liked the idea of keeping your white wine in the fridge to keep cool rather than leaving it to go warm on the table in one of those cooler devices that don't really work properly. The staff were very attentive and topped up our glasses at just the right time without being asked.

The prices were a little more expensive compared to the pub restaurants in the square at Reeth but the quality shone through and was well worth the extra few pounds.

Not to be missed if you are staying in the surrounding area but take care to book in advance as the restaurant is obviously very popular and is only open on certain evenings of the week.

We will definately visit again if we return to Reeth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited Overton House on Sat 4th May whilst staying in Reeth for our wedding anniversary. We had previously read good reviews on Trip Advisor and this prompted our booking. We we're not disappointed. We had mussels for starter, I'm glad we shared these as the portion size was very generous & they were cooked in a delicious tomato sauce, served with fresh bread. Main courses were excellent too, so were the puddings. Staff friendly & helpful, all together a lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chalwhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overton House Cafe and Deli also viewed

Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Overton House Cafe and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing