We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb little cafe/restaurant”

Overton House Cafe and Deli
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Reeth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Under new management, we have changed the focus of Overton House. As well as serving homemade soups, light lunches, snacks and an array of sweet treats, we also sell many of these items to take out. Soup, sandwiches, savouries, scones and cakes are some examples. The small shop section of the cafe sells unusual deli items, Emma Bridgewater pottery and delicious treats from the likes of Mad Hatter Tea, Corks and Cases Masham, Taylor's of Harrogate and Nakd. As we're a family-owned, family-run business, we close on Mondays and Thursdays.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb little cafe/restaurant”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Were recommended this place by our B&B owners and was excellent. A cafe by day, the small restaurant is only open 3 nights a week but by far the best place to eat in Reeth.

Only a small menu is available, but there is still enough variety to keep most people happy. The specialty is seafood (in fact only 4 dishes on the starter/main menu didn't include fish), but why order meat when the fish was so good? We both had excellent starters (mussels and the prawn/salmon cocktail) followed by brilliant main courses of sea bass and sea trout. The food is very simple but very carefully prepared and well presented. Without doubt one of the best plates of food we have eaten recently.

Front of house staff are very friendly and we were found a table even though it was obvious the restaurant was very busy. The prices are more suitable to a special occasion than a simple meal out, but by no means expensive. Could not recommend more highly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bristol_SMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    23
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Puts Reeth on the gastronomic map”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This café produces very high quality food. By that, I mean, it exceeds expectations. I would expect this level of cuisine in a good London restaturant, but in Reeth...!

I had the smoked salmon and pea risotto (it should have been smoked haddock, but they'd run out). It was excellent. My wife's seafood gratin was also excellent. We had desserts, which again, were well-thought out and produced. I would like to come again, but in the evening.

It's not cheap by Dales' café standards, but this place is Café de Paris standard!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband was bought a birthday voucher from Overton and although we had heard of it, it was our first visit. Oh my goodness it will not be our last! It was superb. We went with some friends and I have not enjoyed a meal quite so much for a long time. Keep up the good work both of you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareLeyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection everytime”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Many visits we have made and each time is as amazing as the first and it certainly wont be our last. Thanks to Gill, front of house and a fantastic pâtissière (Bread and desserts) at least that is what I think she is, she is also the wife of Chef Adrian, then there are the girls,who play a vital role to the Overton House Cafe and what a great team they make. The Overton house is a beautiful refind little cafe/ Restaurant in an Idyllic setting in Reeth Swaledale, a real treat food and views to die for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HoochLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The icing on the cake in this brilliant Yorkshire village”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

There's something massively heartening about enjoying great food, served up by friendly and unpretentious people in an unspoilt and characterful setting like Reeth. Don't be put off by the "cafe" in the title, this is a proper restaurant run by people who know their food - and care deeply about the quality of the dishes they are putting in front of you.

The only thing that detracted from our enjoyment was the plonker droning on at the next table. The seating arrangements made this intrusion difficult to ignore. Perhaps a few tables for 'special guests' in a nearby field would help?

Overall, I can't think of a better way of spending a frosty Saturday evening in Reeth than a window-side table in the Overton House Cafe. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MFPNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overton House Cafe and Deli also viewed

Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Overton House Cafe and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing