We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Guest House”
Review of Cambridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cambridge House
Ranked #1 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Thank you Robert and Sheila for another warm welcome at your beautiful guest house
. Room was perfect, tastefully decorated,clean, cosy and comfortable. The little touches
For Valentines weekend were lovely. Breakfast as usual superb , so much choice and the tea and scones were really appreciated. We will definitely be back again soon.!
Thanks julie and Adam

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieandadam431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 202 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was a lovely place to stay, in a lovely little town on our coast to coast walk. The rooms were lovely and clean and the hosts were very helpful (especially when we thought we'd forgotten our phone charger there). I would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and could not have had a better time.
There was a very warm welcome and we were looked after all weekend without the hosts intruding.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Complementary tea and cakes were provided and there was even a gluten free version for my Wife.
There was plenty of hot water and the shower was very good as well.
We do not usually use Bed and Breakfast Accomodation but will definitely return to Cambridge House for another stay.
A huge thank you to Robert and Sheila for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which is an extremely comfortable double room with en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed 31st october for 2 nights, it was lovely. Welcomed by the new owners, place hasnt changed from our last stay which was also wonderful. Very good breakfast, rooms lovely and clean, tea and cake in the afternoon if you wanted it, lovely place to stay - dont know who the last review were greeted by but we couldnt recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmarsh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Arrived 14th August, booked a double room but got the single.She didn't want to know my concerns that I had paid for a double and that the single room had a shower in that you could not comfortably turn around in or bend over to wash your legs and feet, a necessity when walking the C to C. Initial greeting was cold and disinterested. Drying room was lukewarm, much like the reception. Stayed with 2 other couples, we all agreed that this was an overated B&B. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Doesn"t make a difference, you will go where she puts you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for the review but this review referrs to your stay before new owners acquired Cambridge House.
Our aim is to provide 5* accommodation, a 5* welcome and ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay with us whether it be for one night or more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our C2C stay at Cambridge House. Sandra and Les are lovely, efficient and interesting hosts and the house is great. It's in a superb location a few hundred metres north of the centre of this gorgeous large village, and looking back down the hill to it. Fabulous welcome with great clarity re the boots and drying room then lovely tea and cake in the conservatory. Our room was very comfy and well appointed. Breakfast the next morning was a cheerful (and delicious) social event with the other walkers and we left (with an excellent packed lunch) in high spirits.

Cambridge House doesn't do dinner but you can eat well in Reeth - we did so at the Buck Hotel just back down the road in the centre of this seething metropolis. On the way down we were lucky enough to happen across a rehearsal of the Reeth Band and, one of us being a cornet player, one thing led to another... brass band bliss

But even if you're not a cornet player Reeth is a great place and Cambridge House is a fabulous B&B. Go there - you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vogel421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We and the others staying at the same time as us at Cambridge House had a fun time here. Les is a real Yorkshireman and calls a spade a spade but has a good dry sense of humour and enjoys a laugh and a joke. He enjoys a good discussion too.

This was one of the few places where we had our bags taken to our room for us before we arrived so that we didn't have to carry our bags upstairs. Or back down at the end of our stay. This is partly because of Les's kindness and good hospitality but also because he is very proud of his carefully decorated home and would prefer we didn't scrape the paper or paint with our cases. He has a right to be proud - he undertook most of the major refurbishment work himself. He knows a fair bit about walking the Coast to Coast too but he knows far more about cycling.

If the weather has made you a little damp on arrival there is a fantastic large drying room.

Our room was most comfortable and charmingly decorated and had a small fridge for milk etc. breakfast was really good including the option of some local specialities such as the excellent locally smoked kippers (yes I had two). There is a choice of three pubs back down in the village and we understand that they all serve pretty good pub food.

Thank you Les and your wife for a super stay in your lovely home. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee-and-Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2015

This review referrs to the previous owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
0.3 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#3 of 10 in Reeth
257 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Grinton Lodge
YHA Grinton Lodge
#1 of 2 in Reeth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House

Address: Cambridge House Arkengarthdale Road | North Yorkshire, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6QX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reeth
Hotel Class:5 star — Cambridge House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Arkengarthdale road on the edge of Reeth, Cambridge House is an award winning, Taste Awards 2016 Best Yorkshire Breakfast, Visit England 5* Countryside Guest House with one of the best views in the Dales across Swaledale towards Grinton Moor. Guests are assured of a warm welcome with tea or coffee served in the conservatory on arrival. There are 3 double rooms, 1 twin and 1 single room; all are en-suite and south facing with stunning views. Enjoy the peace and tranquillity of Cambridge House and Swaledale whether you are walking, cycling or just getting away for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Reeth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing