We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an outstanding diving holliday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Froggies Divers Bunaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2011

It was our second stay. The new restaurant and bungalows are really nice, with hot water, aircom, wifi, very good local spicy cooking but the real difference is Benny, the manager, who is always ready to help and respond to your suggestions. Froggies makes you pays only the dives you have actually done, even if you had bought a package.
Dives are as long as you can make them, with good and careful dive masters. Rental equipment is ok and dive sites, mostly walls are fantastic.
Froggies is definitly a must if you are diving near Manado.

Room Tip: newer bungalows are at the top of the slope, cheaper but noisier ones near the sea.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Froggies Divers Bunaken
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 193 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was my second trip back to the area and the fourth resort we stayed in. Whilst if was the most "buget" resort we visited it was my favorite. For me diving is as much about people as the diving its self. I loved the meal times where everybody sat at the same table and got to know each other.

Becides that it was half price of other resorts but offered more. Longer dive times (I love to dive), free daily laundry service which is so nice of you are doing a 2 week holiday, free WiFi to keep in touch with the world, free softdrinks.

Whilst we were there (a year ago), lots of renovations were being done and it would be great to go back and see how things have come along. Benny really looked after us and arranged for us to have packed breakfasts so that we could dive some of the sites further away.

Remember that this resort caters for divers and I agree it is not a pretty island. We were not there to sight see, we were there to dive and dive we did.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
Thank BrettLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I have just returned from a fantastic spur of the moment trip to Froggies. With Bennys help I managed to effortlessly slip from Australia to my brand new renovated bungalow at Froggies in three days from idea to first dive. Benny organised everything for me and was there to welcome me with a big smile and genuine friendliness. Total peace, relaxation, diving, sleeping and good honest friendly service are what you will find at Froggies. You wont find minibars and flat screen tvs in your room, but you wont miss them as days are spent under water with excellent international and local guides in a living aquarium. You wont find disco's and full moon raves on the island, but you wont miss them either. This is a place to find tranquility, dive and explore the amazing underwater world while Benny and the team take care of everything for you. I have my own equipment but hired a reg which was new and in great condition. Food was more than adequate and better than other dive resorts I have stayed in although a little more variety would have been appreciated.
Froggies was a great place to drop out of the world for a few days - I will definitely be back to see Benny and the crew. Diving is absolutely fantastic and the guides are very good at spotting interesting critters to see.
A huge thanks and Good Luck to Benny and all at Froggies - Im sure I will be seeing you again soon :)

Room Tip: The new bungalow i stayed in was right at the top of the hill - over 100 steps up so If you have tro...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyGal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Laundry service is excellent! Service crew and Dive Team are friendly and commited. Local delicacies are served during lunch and dinner. Beware if you can't take spicy food! Room is nice and cosy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CHIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was my second trip to Bunaken and I decided to try a different resort. My friend in USA stayed with them last year and gave positive comments so I gave it a try.

Benny, the manager, was very helpful and attentive since the time of booking. My friends were very impressed with the details given on our reservations. Our dive guide, Hence, was very friendly too. He was very very good in spotting things underwater. We were so proud to have a chance to dive with Hence because he was the first person finding Pontohi Seahorse in 2008. Too bad he was not feeling well on our last 2 days so we had to dive with another female guide who was not as experienced as Hence.

About the accommodation, rooms are clean and comfortable. It would be perfect if they can provide air-conditioned rooms. For the meals, food was OK. My only comment is that the fish they served for both daily lunch & dinner was always Marlim. It was a bit boring.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woowoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Cosy bungalows by the beach, no air conditioning but you don't really miss it in Bunaken. Service is polite and efficient, though the food could be improved. Benny does a great job of running this dive center, he is polite and very helpful for anything a guest might need. The local guides are masters at finding stuff underwater. The dive boats are quite adequate for the job.

This establishment, like many (but by no means all) in Indonesia charges 3% for credit card use. It would be very welcome by guests if they did not. Credit cards charge establishments all over the world and it is not right to pass the cost on to the custumers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We expected this place to be basic and it was. The small bungalow did have a fan and hot water and was quite comfortable except for one night when it was extremely hot and humid. The food was good, basically Indonesian with pork or chicken, fish, rice, tofu, and vegetables for lunch and dinner. Dinner also included a soup. Dessert was fruit. There was an afternoon snack after the afternoon dive. Breakfast was eggs or pancakes (crepes). Unfortunately the food was set out when it was prepared and was room temperature when the covers were removed for the buffet style meals. The crepes were a welcome change but after the second day we wanted something different (Indonesian) like Nasi Goring (fried rice) or porridge which they prepared for us. The fish was either Blue Marlin or Skip Jack which was prepared with different sauces but became boring by the end of the week.

We chose Froggies, not for the room or the food but for the diving. We had stayed in Manado before and wanted to be closer to the Marine Park. Froggies is on the middle of Bunaken Island. We probably could swim to 2 or 3 of the dive sites but there is no shore diving allowed because of the currents and tides. They advertised 90 minute dives and if you have air and no decompression time, they would allow you to do it. Our 15 dives averaged 77 minutes each. The quality of IndoPacific diving depends a lot on your guide. Froggies has at least 1 very good, experienced guide who took us on 2 night dives. The other 2 guides were young, enthusiastic girls with good eyesight. But that doesn't make up for the experience of knowing habitat, behavior, and currents. There is little to do besides eat, sleep and dive.

The resort changed ownership about 2 years ago. It is undergoing renovations and will be even nicer in the future. The Belgium manager, Benny, is a very gracious, engaging host. He tried to accommodate all requests. A new French instructor (Linda) has been hired to run the dive operation. She will likely do an excellent job and give Benny more time to fight with the Indonesian owner to make more improvements.

This is a truly international resort. There are more Europeans (and probably Asians) than Americans. Prices are quoted in Euros and with the weakening US$, the cost came out to be considerably more than when we originally booked it 2 months before but it was still a good value

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
1.7 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#3 of 16 in Bunaken Island
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Froggies Divers Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Froggies Divers Bunaken

Address: Liang Beach, Bunaken Island, Manado, Bunaken Island 95555, Indonesia (Formerly Froggies Divers)
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range: $36 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Froggies Divers is a small dive resorts and eco-friendly PADI operation on Bunaken and Lembeh Island.We try to make it a home away from home and many of our guests also become friends. Our main concern is to offer a very personal service and exceptional diving. The groups are small, no more than 4 guests per guide . We take good care not only of our divers but also of preserving marine life. All our boats are equipped with Oxygen, First Aid and safety standard procedure.With the help of our experienced crew and our Indonesian English speaking dive guides we try to make the operation run as smoothly as possible.In order to show you all the riches of our underwater world we choose long, slow and relaxed dives; no need to go very deep, most of the beauties are well above the 30m, and we like to take long long safety stops, while admiring the upper part of the reef. Your dive time is limited by your air consumption, you will be underwater for at least from 60 - 75 minutes on most of your dives. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing