We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long dives in Bunaken”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Froggies Divers Bunaken
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Long dives in Bunaken”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We expected this place to be basic and it was. The small bungalow did have a fan and hot water and was quite comfortable except for one night when it was extremely hot and humid. The food was good, basically Indonesian with pork or chicken, fish, rice, tofu, and vegetables for lunch and dinner. Dinner also included a soup. Dessert was fruit. There was an afternoon snack after the afternoon dive. Breakfast was eggs or pancakes (crepes). Unfortunately the food was set out when it was prepared and was room temperature when the covers were removed for the buffet style meals. The crepes were a welcome change but after the second day we wanted something different (Indonesian) like Nasi Goring (fried rice) or porridge which they prepared for us. The fish was either Blue Marlin or Skip Jack which was prepared with different sauces but became boring by the end of the week.

We chose Froggies, not for the room or the food but for the diving. We had stayed in Manado before and wanted to be closer to the Marine Park. Froggies is on the middle of Bunaken Island. We probably could swim to 2 or 3 of the dive sites but there is no shore diving allowed because of the currents and tides. They advertised 90 minute dives and if you have air and no decompression time, they would allow you to do it. Our 15 dives averaged 77 minutes each. The quality of IndoPacific diving depends a lot on your guide. Froggies has at least 1 very good, experienced guide who took us on 2 night dives. The other 2 guides were young, enthusiastic girls with good eyesight. But that doesn't make up for the experience of knowing habitat, behavior, and currents. There is little to do besides eat, sleep and dive.

The resort changed ownership about 2 years ago. It is undergoing renovations and will be even nicer in the future. The Belgium manager, Benny, is a very gracious, engaging host. He tried to accommodate all requests. A new French instructor (Linda) has been hired to run the dive operation. She will likely do an excellent job and give Benny more time to fight with the Indonesian owner to make more improvements.

This is a truly international resort. There are more Europeans (and probably Asians) than Americans. Prices are quoted in Euros and with the weakening US$, the cost came out to be considerably more than when we originally booked it 2 months before but it was still a good value

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    51
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
78
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for 9 days of diving and we just enjoyed a very relaxed holiday. The manager (Benny) is really up in making the best stay for us. Jimmy, our guide, was really looking for the stuff we wanted to see. Don't expect 5 star resort but is really good value for money. It is nearby all dive sites and the food is just fitting in the hole picture of a good atmosphere, good food at reasonable prices. Gear is renewed, guides are diving with computers and the boat are simple but pretty well maintained. Diving around Bunaken offered us even a bit more then we expected. At the dive sites on the main land, you can experience a bit of Lembeh!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snotjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

People from Froggies picked us up at the harbour and took us by boat out to Bunaken Island, so we didnt have to worry about anything.

The resort was beautiful and clean. They are doing some renovations at the moment, but that didnt bother us at all! Infact during breakfast, lunch and dinner hours we didnt hear anything from the workers. Benny (the resort manager) later told us that the workers are taking a break while we were eating.

Our bungalows were so nice, clean and cosy! With a big comfortable bed with mosquito net around it. There were air-conditioning, but we had choosen the fan instead and really liked that. The bathroom was just outside/next to the bungalow, with running water, flushing toilettes and hot and cold water in the shower. You could also get some company from tiny lizards in there, very cute and they stayed far away from you.
We really appreciated the "magic basket", were you could put your dirty laundry and get it back later during the day; cleaned and folded up!

The food was sooooo good!! Always three dishes to choose from and you couldn't really just choose one of them, cus all looked amazing! Benny ate with us almost every meal which was really nice, gives the resort character.

We did a lot of diving and snorkeling during our stay at Froggies and we loved it. We didnt see the big turtle "Grandma" but lots of other things. We also did a nightdive and saw the mandarinfish! The staff on the boat were friendly and helpful. Infact all of them were!

Its sad about all the garbish from Manado, but the staff tried to clean the beach every morning.

We really enjoyed our stay at Froggies and would love to go back there one day. Thank you Benny and staff!

//Linn, Kris and Marianne

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinnLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woombye, Queensland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at Manado Dua with a supreme trip around the corner to Lembeh Strait. Many thanks to Christiane.
Loved the focus on diving with such a relaxed atmosphere. The days went without a hitch and ended with group dinners around the table with the locals hammering along merrily on their worn guitars.
The Sanny was wonderfully comfortable and again, all crew focussed on making the experience as happy as possible.
Brilliant location and an amazing experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savusavu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Froggies is for divers - and it an excellent place to go for diving. Bunaken has wonderful corals and lots of fish, seahorses, rays, etc. We live (and dive extensively) in Fiji but seeing Bunaken definitely was worth the trip. The managment and staff were very very nice and thoughtful; the dive guide was extremely well-informed (with a great sense of humor!). This is not a resort with bar and nightlife. It is place to dive and relax. The bungalows were in excellent shape (recently refurbished), with nice shower/toilets and plenty of hot water. The dive gear was nearly brand new. The food was family style Indonesian, quite good, and plentiful. The currents can bring in a lot of floating rubbish (esp. in the rainy season) but underwater, the corals are quite clean. The beach is cleaned every day but, again, Froggies (and all of Bunaken) primarily is for diving. We have dived in places like Heron Island (Great barrrier reef) and Bonaire (plus hundreds of dives in Fiji) and we found Froggies to be great value and great diving. The currents were almost always very mild. Our average dive started at about 80 feet (24 metres) and lasted about 70-75 minutes. Yes, very relaxed -- and beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fijijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbelin, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

The fully renovated bungalows are great, have both a fan & air-conditionning. The partly open-air bathroom has hot (real hot) shower.

The restaurant -not that much a bat-cave- provides a good variety of food, including corn flakes & real milk for breakfast, and soups, fish & meat as well as excellent vegetables for lunch and dinner. A light afternoon snack is also included in the full board.

The diving is just great, the equipment was brand new when we stayed (and you do not need to worry about it: all your gear is kept in a box - carry to and from the boat by the staff).

Service is excellent. Laundry is free. Management is taking great care of the guests' comfort (it is nearly the only place where someone did actually care about our well-being). Thanks to Benny (manager) for all this!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesCorbelinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

I chose Froggies after the first reply to my enquire, when I was still in Lisbon. The answer was thorough, to the point and still transmitted a kind of enthusiasm that gave me the feeling this was the place to go. The experience did not let me down. Benny (the manager) goes out of his way to help you in any thing you need, either it’s getting information for you to choose your next destination, or helping you coordinate the transfer with your next diving center.

The dive guides have hawk’s eyes, and after the dive they meet you in the lounge area of the resort and go over all the pictures and pointing the specimens in the books, so you can get all the info you need to complete your log book.

More details and photos of my stay can be found at http://lifesauntering.blogspot.com/2010/09/bye-bye-froggies.html

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpalcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#6 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#3 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
0.5 mi away
Bunaken Island Resort
Bunaken Island Resort
#11 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Froggies Divers Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Froggies Divers Bunaken

Property: Froggies Divers Bunaken
Address: Liang Beach, Bunaken Island, Manado, Bunaken Island 95555, Indonesia (Formerly Froggies Divers)
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Froggies Divers is a small dive resorts and eco-friendly PADI operation on Bunaken and Lembeh Island.We try to make it a home away from home and many of our guests also become friends. Our main concern is to offer a very personal service and exceptional diving. The groups are small, no more than 4 guests per guide . We take good care not only of our divers but also of preserving marine life. All our boats are equipped with Oxygen, First Aid and safety standard procedure.With the help of our experienced crew and our Indonesian English speaking dive guides we try to make the operation run as smoothly as possible.In order to show you all the riches of our underwater world we choose long, slow and relaxed dives; no need to go very deep, most of the beauties are well above the 30m, and we like to take long long safety stops, while admiring the upper part of the reef. Your dive time is limited by your air consumption, you will be underwater for at least from 60 - 75 minutes on most of your dives. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing