We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best diving there is?”

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best diving there is?”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Bunaken claims to be the best diving site in the world. I must say the coral gardens are really something special and the wall dives brilliant. We had 30-40 meters visibility. BUT, I saw hardly any large fish, few schools and there is quite some litter to be found in the waters. That really ruins the experience from time to time. So, very good diving, but there are more diving places in Indonesia that have the same beauty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RTiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    172
    39
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Voorburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice coral and marine life”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The marine life is really nice. We saw sharks and turtles! But there is a lot of rubbish in the water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trash everywhere!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

That so-called "National Park" is a victim of our mass consumption society : you will be swimming among garbage (plastic, bottles, diapers, shoes, bag and... other stuff...Name it, you will find it)!
The beach is a sad view : trash everywhere, dirty and smelly.
I would not recommend that place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Galaxy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Underwater Paradise under threat”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Giant sea turtles, reef sharks, giant clams, Bunaken's biodiversity is simply amazing.

Me and my friends recently completed our vacation in Manado and no visit to Manado is complete without diving or at least snorkeling at Bunaken, one of the world's top dive sites. There are many dive points to be found here and each offers something unique. I dived a total of SEVEN times in Bunaken spread over 3 days and the ones really stood out in my mind were:

Lekuan 1, 2, 3: they are very close to each other and they offer steep sea wall dives with seemingly bottomless abyss.

Muka Kampung: this spot is infamous for the giant sea turtle that is apparently 100 years old! There are plenty of sea turtles here as well but beware of the strong down and upstreams.

Fukui Point: this dive spot stood out for me due to the biodiversity and giant clams (there used to be 5, now only 2 are alive)


Bunaken is really special and offers spectacular dives. However, this amazing place is seemingly being ruined by garbage, irresponsible behavior of divers and local fishermen and a lot more care and attention needs to be taken by the local authority to protect this amazing place so it can be enjoyed by us all divers and more importantly, by its natural inhabitants.

TIP: if you ask nicely and if weather permits, your divemaster may take you for one extra dive at Manado Bay. It is famous for motorcycles that have been dumped into the sea. These motorcycles were confiscated from the owners by the policemen and since they were never taken back by their owners, the local police chief, who is an avid diver, decided to dump them into the sea and instantly this becomes another dive point in Bunaken. The corals are not as amazing as other Bunaken dive spots but hey, it is something unique.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HenryOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazingly diverse wild life”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Reef surrounds the entire island and features many varieties of sea life. Very accessible to people staying on the island

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwc_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunaken National Marine Park also viewed

Tomohon, North Sulawesi
Bunaken Island, North Sulawesi
 
Tomohon, North Sulawesi
 

Been to Bunaken National Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing