We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garbadge!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunaken National Marine Park

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Deventer
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Garbadge!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

They want you to pay for the national park but there is so much trash. I think people try to clean but most of the people just keep trowing things away. I think it's a corrupted system, if you pay for it you expect it to be really clean...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjors V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    167
    39
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good for diving but water surface a little polluted.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

First of all, I think it will really benefit the locals if they clear up the trash floating on the water surface. The pollution is not outrageous but enough to put tourists who expect the place to be a pristine tropical paradise off.

Honestly, the reefs at Bunaken are quite pretty. At many places they resemble underwater gardens with entire sea floors covered by corals. Apart from the small colourful fishes, you may spot rays, turtles and reef sharks or even a dugong, if you are very lucky. The school of dolphins that escorted us enroute to Bunkaken island were a real treat as well!
We stayed at Sedona Resort in Manado, apparently the only 4-star hotel on that part of the island. The rooms and service is nothing to shout about but it's decent enough since I came here for the diving.
Diving service at Sedona resort is good. The gear and equipment is set up for you so all you need is to hop onto the boat and slip into your wet suit when it's time to hit the waters. You get a boxed lunch in between your daily 3 dives.

To really enjoy a sumptuous seafood dinner, head out to City Extra restaurant near Sedona Resort in Manado. We thoroughly enjoyed the fish steamed in Chinese style. This style of cooking is reserved only for the freshest catch. The Mando chicken satay, squid in black ink and ice champo (shaved ice with mixed fruit) is also good. But service is really slow so arm yourself with a tablet to kill time. Compared to Singapore, the price is really reasonable!

By the way, the waters just next to City Extra is good for muck diving. We saw clusters of cuttlefish eggs that were housed in condom-like pods and caught three cuttlefish in the act of laying or fertiluzing the eggs. There were also cowfish, frog fish, tiny shrimps and flounders hiding in what seems to be a whole stretch of boring sandy seabed. It's a nice change from the lush coral gardens of Bunaken.

Overall Bunaken is a nice place to dive but people who have been to other good dive sites in Malaysia, Thailand and Philippines may find it a little boring.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bunaken: not so lovely as described”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We''ve read a lot about that tropical island BUnaken, it was supposed to be one of the best places in the world for diving. To tell you the truth: it was a bit disappointing. Allright, we saw a lot: like turtles, bladfishes, dolphins and even small whales, but the (plastic) mess everywhere was really terrible. And: sometimes we feel like walking in a mall on a busy saturday: there were so many boats/and divers on a site, that you have to watch out to take the right boat. We hope one day will come that the politics and behaviour of the Indonesians will change, but we fear that this time is still far, far away; old habits (never/hardly) die here. They really know how to destroy nature here! (we wonder also what the use is of the entrance fee of 100.000 rph every diver from Manado had to pay to the municipality of Bunaken?)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
194 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Nice Reefs and Marine Life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been to many places where the corals are already bleached, and was happy to find that the corals and marine life at Bunaken National Marine Park are still nice. I managed to see turtles, different species of fish, starfish and sea urchins. The water is very clear with very good visibility at some of the sites. I encountered strong currents at a few sites though. Definitely worth a repeat visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank dannychan_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Best Scuba Diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very nice and intact reefs. Deep walls with slow and strong current dive sites. Poorly, as in all coastal areas of Indonesia I have visited, there is a lot of trash in the water. But still, I would recommend it to be a wonderful dive site.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlorianG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunaken National Marine Park also viewed

Tomohon, North Sulawesi
Bunaken Island, North Sulawesi
 
Tentena, Central Sulawesi
 

Been to Bunaken National Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing