We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Bunaken”
Review of Cakalang Bunaken

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cakalang Bunaken
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best place in Bunaken”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

It's a new hotel owned by a friendly couple. Ferdinand and Giuly are really nice and very professional. The cottages are very new, clean and comfortable. Located at the beach you can enjoy great snorkel just a few meters of your bed. They have a small but perfect and cheap dive center. You take the dive boat in your cottage door! Finally, the food is excellent. The only problem here is you will getting fat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chernandezdemiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
36
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Bunaken island is a piece of paradise in Indonesia. We discovered Cakalang cottages by chance and, at the end, I have to say it was the best choice of all!
The bungalows are still simple (they just opened in april) but very clean and confortable.
The food is great and the owners (Julie and Ferdinand) make you feel like at home (and they do really good!!).
Julie is fantastic, funny and at your disposal for any need while Ferdinand is a very patient diving instructor.. I remember my first diving and how I was scared but Ferdinand was able to calm down me and make me feel sure of myself.
So there isn't any reason to go in others places in Bunaken: come there and you will not regret at all!!! I swear!!
Lodovica and Giorgio from Italy (Turin)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LodoGiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for 5 days with Julie and Ferdinand and their team. They have wonderful bungalows and rooms and serve great food. The whole place makes you feel home after just arriving. Ferdinand is a great and very trustworthy dive instructure who made me feel very comfortable and secure during the PADI licence I have done there. Very nice, clean and friendly place! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorianG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven - Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great place for relaxing, superfriendly staff and lovely atmosphere, delicious food and divine diving!!! Ferdinand and Julie are the best, they really make a great effort to give their guests the greatest care and even organised a fantastic party with palm wine and bonfire on the beach! Diving in small groups makes it much more relaxing and personal than at other places, we had a really great time and will for sure be back one day! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! Katrien and Kim from Belgium.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Herre0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Ferdinand and Julie were amazing hosts! They were interesting to talk to and naturally become friends with their guests. The accommodations were simple but new and very clean in a quiet part of the island. It is typical in this part of the country to have your rate be per person and to include 3 meals and accommodation- I think this is mainly because there aren't any restaurants around. Anyway- their food is great! While other places get mundane, Julie really tries to cater to your tastes and come up with unique meals whether you're staying there one day or one week! Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlustjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very nice, friendly and accommodating staff. Excellent, healthy and varying food. Cozy and clean rooms. Right on the beach with view over the mangrove. Breathtaking coral reefs 50 meters out. Good service all around. No complains but no luxurious comforts such as hot water.
All together a perfect setting for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We intended to stay at Cakalang for 4 nights but ended up extending our time there 3 more days. We couldn't get enough of the delicious food, friendly people and INCREDIBLE diving.

Ferdinand's dive equipment is brand new and taken care of. Due to the small size of the resort, each dive was catered to our needs- which was awesome! They were very flexible and knowledgable of the area, both in and out of the water. On days we didn't dive, we would use snorkel gear and wade out past the mangroves for superb, absolutely amazing snorkeling.

The bungalows were spacious and immaculate! Very comfortable and clean!!! A lot of care went into the design and they are very well kept.

The meals were delicious! The staff took great care in creating a variety of dishes. New flavors every day! The presentation of the food made us feel like we were at a dinner party, the table was always set just so-inviting and lovely.

Above all, Ferdinand and his wife Julie are great people, and have a terrific staff! Everybody is smiling and a joy to be around. I have fond memories of dominos games and lots of laughs. They really went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be, and I would surely recommend to all!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
0.2 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
1.7 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Jonaths Cottage
Jonaths Cottage
#16 of 16 in Bunaken Island
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
348 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cakalang Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cakalang Bunaken

Property: Cakalang Bunaken
Address: Pangalisan Beach | Bunaken, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cakalang a small hide away. A very friendly atmosphere, clean rooms with fresh water. Good food and our own dive center. Dive courses can be done in PADI and Naui ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cakalang Bunaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing