We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lorenso Cottages Beach Garden
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Village Bunaken(Bunaken Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Siladen Resort & Spa(Siladen Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Onong Resort(Manado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahowo Lodge(Manado)
View Hotel
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
15
12
11
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
12
11
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving coloursfishukulelereefislandvegetablesmealsboatverandadivedolphinspower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 50 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and while the owners and staff are friendly I think you get better value for money at other places nearby. There is no electricity during the day, no internet and only bucket showers here, but for the same price you can have all of that plus a pool at Two Fish. On the bright side the reef in front of the cottages is one of the best I have seen in Indonesia. No need to pay for a boat to take you elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0asterias0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were due to stay here for 6 nights, but when we arrived, we knew we had to find somewhere else to stay immediately. The lodges are desperately in need of renovation or just starting over! The rooms are dark and grubby looking, mozzie nets over the beds have holes in them, the bathroom is utterly basic - large container of water next to the toilet for you to chuck down the toilet to flush it, cold water shower from an old style plastic bath tap hose adapter. We didn't want to touch anything. Even in my backpacking days I'd have been disappointed with this. And the strange thing is, the prices they charge. You can get so much better for virtually the same price! We stayed at Two Fish for our remaining 5 nights and we spent the rest of our time feeling so grateful they had availability.

For divers - whilst Lorenso's say you can dive with the resort next door, when we went to see them and they said they were full and didn't seem particularly bothered or helpful about suggesting alternatives. Diving was the purpose of our trip, so this is a critical point to pass on. The snorkelling reef out the front, also passes in front of many resorts so don't let that sway you. The food is average - we had the same bland noodles for lunch and dinner. There is a nice atmosphere in the evening, as a result of other guests (and not wanting to go back to your room!).

We left as early as possible the next morning and almost ran to the next resort. We were over the moon to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexjrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

we stayed here for about 10 days and had the best time ever! people were so friendly, we felt comfy all the time! lorenzo is a guy who always wants you to have a good time. food is perfekt (when the fishermen come in the morning you see which fish you get for dinner), vegetarian food was there too!
we haven't seen a better reef somwhere else...it's beautiful in directly infront of the cottage (you have to go through a little mangroveforest to start snorkeling, but lorenzo made a good way through it)
in the evenings the whole crew sang at the bonfire, and we had really funny evenings with everyone there!!!
lorenzo takes you to other beaches if you like, he organises dolphintours (we've seen 100 of them!!), takes you to the village to do a lil bit of karaoke, and helps you with everything you need!!!

we had a good time at the bunaken (probably the best in indonesia) and would love to come back anytime!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathastrophl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

After reading some of the recent reviews we were a little skeptical, but after talking to other travelers coming from here everyone only had great things to say about this little oasis. We were actually booked somewhere else and chose to loose our deposit and stay here. So happy that we did. We stayed in the family cottage that was perfect for us. 2 separate rooms with mosquito nets (which could be replaced with newer ones) and a shared bathroom and very large private verandah. Lovely breezes from the water just through the mangroves in the afternoon. Room price includes all your meals (delicious), plus unlimited tea, coffee and filtered water. We took a private boat here and if you have 5 people the price is the same as the public ferry, plus you get dropped off right at Lorenso’s. The public ferry is a long 25-minute walk away. Excellent snorkeling is right in front of Lorenso’s. The dive boats and snorkeling trips all bring people to this spot. Truly some of the best snorkeling I have ever done. They have equipment, but it would be worth it to bring your own (60,000 to rent for the day) for those who want to dive, living Colors is a 5-minute walk down the beach. The dive instructors live at Lorenso’s and are very knowledgeable about the area. Nights are spent talking to other travelers and listening to the staff sing and play their instruments. A perfect place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

First of all, Bunaken was really beautiful, regardless lots of corals have died. We were picked up by a strange dutch man in the port in Manado. We paid 350K IDR for the one way boat that took us about half an hour. We were dropped right in front of the cottages but please bear in mind that you need to pass through the mangrove so prepare yourself with short or upper knee skirt and flip flops. At the beginning, the funny chubby lorenso himself greeted and welcomed us warmly. The good thing about this cottages is the environment is so friendly, the guess were having parties together thus you will be never alone. The staffs will warmly talked to you and sing with you.

From lorenso's to one of the best snorkeling site was swimming distance. We also took a snorkeling tour to visit three snorkeling spots where we saw some cute turtles. The snorkeling gears cost us 60K IDR per day but unfortunately Lorenso does not have enough for all guests. Lorenso also offered us a dolphins tours, we took it but instead we saw a whale, went snorkeling to 2 other spots, and island trekking in manado tua. It cost only 200K per person.

The cottages were average, typical modest beach resort, never be clean from sands, but why we need super clean room anyway when you are in the isolated island? beside the price is a very good deal, only IDR 200K per person including 3 meals per day, free flow drinking water, coffee and tea.

When we went there the running water did not work for a while and I witnessed lorenso and the staffs tried really hard to repair it. I can tell he's a passionate guy who really loves his job. He threw parties almost every night and provides local wine. They created their own musical instruments from junks which will impress every guess, especially the one string bass.

The food was okay, pancake every morning was a little bit boring though. Fish everyday is normal, we were in an island, what do you expect? It's not everyday you can eat fresh fish, no?

I stayed 4 days 3 nights doing so many things and only cost me less than 2 millions there.

So far, I am happy with my vacation to bunaken and stayed in Lorenso. Cannot ask more.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Grande cottage, two rooms with three double beds and one bedroom. We are happy with it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanscoulottes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews