We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place like paradise, atmosphere like hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The place is good. Bungalows nice, clean, food good, diving good.

But Roberto creates nothing but a tense atmosphere. He's constantly arguing and shouting with his girlfrind and staff which results in his girlfriend crying and the staff shouting also.

On the last day he got angry with us about a misunderstanding / misinformation (matter of 2$ on the bill) and he refused to take us to the mainland. (We had to take the public boat.)

That eventually made our stay very displeasing, and is the reason why I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Makakao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barramunndi, Owner at Raja Laut Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2010

I spoke at the telephone with this girls because I was temporary out of the resort pickin up some guests at the airport. They told me they couldn't afford to stay in Raja Laut. In the maintime they took Raja Laut boat for the transfer from overland to Bunaken Island. When I came back I found out that they decided to stay. They ask if we could help them to extend their visa but when we decided to go to the immigration office to check out, the sea was rough and we postpone. The day after they decided to continue their trip. The evening before their departure I gave their bill and they complain because I charged for the boat transfer (2 Euro). They told me someone say that they didn't have to pay. I ask them to wait for the next morning and give me the possibility to speak with my boat man. One of the two start to scream that in any case she would never pay for the boat. I cancel the 2 Euro from their bill and explain that this is the regular fare applied also by the taxi boat service and tell them they could use this service if they didn't belive me. The next morning my staff help them with their baggage. Is true I had some problems with my staff during their staying, I wrote them to apologize explaining the situation.
Conclusion: if you cannot affort to stay in one place find a cheaper one. If we tryed to help you in any way act friendly and if there is some misunderstanding we will sort it out with a smile. We are here only to make our guests happy but is probably true that some will never be. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Raja Laut Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 222 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2010

We spent a great week (although we planned only 4 days :-) at this very welcoming resort run by friendly couple of Roberto and Sylvia. The bungalows are brand new, very spacy and comfortable. You can feel italian touch in details :-) They are loacted in neat garden and the teraces overlook the sea with Sulawesi in the distance. The food is very good and diversified including delicious desserts :-) The great treasure of the place is the staff. Always very friendly and helpful. You can see the owners, Roberto and Sylvia, always around asking if everything is alright. We had also amazing diving with them. Roberto is a passionate of the sea and reef life so he can tell (if you ask? :-) very interesting things explaining what you saw during diving. There is also a great dive master, Vanus, who can find and show you underwater the things you saw only in the books before :-) Highly recommended ! Maria and Marcin

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuchciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We have been looking for accommodation by walking on Bunaken and passed around this new resort - it was still being in the final stage of construction. We decided to take a look at the cottages and we did good. :) We have been immediately impressed with the accommodation, with the way how cottages looked from outside and inside, with their size etc. Compared to other places we have seen on Bunaken, we decided to stay at this place, simply because it was the best. And so we had the luck to be the first official guests at the resort and didnt regret it at all.

The place is brand new, looks really nice, is clean, each cottage has a great big terrace, bathrooms are nice as well. There is actually nothing negative I can say about this resort and it's accommodation. Still, I'm sure it will look even much better once all details are finished. Resort has a big green garden and very good access to the sea, which I consider a good point as not all resorts on Bunaken have this possibility.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They immediately provided everything we asked for. For example, one afternoon we laid down on the grass to take some sun and in one minute, they brought us a big bamboo sunbed without us even asking for it. Really very kind.

Regarding the food, again, I have only very positive feedback. Food was great - fish, meat, lots of vegetables, salads, fruits. You definitely wont stay hungry! I guess that places run by Italians cant damage their reputation with bad food :)

Owner of the resort is a great guy, he knows a lot about the reef, places to dive/snorkel. It is really nice listening to him talking about marine life. He even shared some documentaries, photo slideshows about underwater life, with detailed explanation of all facts. This is how we spent our evenings after dinner. He is really dedicated to his role and this was one of the things we appreciated the most of our stay at Raja Laut. I wish Roberto very good luck for the future of his resort and his activities and if he will treat all his guests this way, I dont think anyone will be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vevericka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle Bungalows haben Blick zum Meer
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jkrepesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le camere superior che hanno l'acqua calda
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank atollodiari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fros23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
1.8 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
1.5 mi away
Raja Laut Coral View
Raja Laut Coral View
#9 of 16 in Bunaken Island
26 reviews
2.4 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Laut Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Laut Dive Resort

Address: | Bunaken Marine Park Pangalisan Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range: $86 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few km. North on the same east side of Bunaken Island the twin of Raja Laut Resort is born. Stunning ocean views on Siladen Island and North Sulawesi, infinity pool, air conditioning in the Minahasa Style wooden bungalows, secluded and quite place, Raja Laut Coral View is an hidden gem that offer a superior quality standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Raja Laut Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing