We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive Facilities, Accommodation & Staff unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Staying at Sea Breeze Dive Resort was like living the dream.

I'd read review before going but found that even though there were commets about electricity etc that that was the same for everywhere on the island. In fact, Sea Breeze has a new generator and the island is providing almost around the clock electricity now. Having travelled to other small islands in Indonesia I found the biggest perk was that the shower water was fresh water not just desalinated. Terry has an internet stick for those who need to stay in touch, but the setting is such that the idea of connecting to the real world is something to be actively avoided.

The staff within the hotel spoke exceptional English & Ronald's willingness to help & try to anticipate what we would need was greatly appreciated. The food was yummy and always enough even for those logging more than 4 hours bottom time a day. (The Smirnoff Black they had at the bar was also delicious). And always there were smiling staff cleaning, doing grounds work, maintenance and general upkeep.

The diving was superb. The bottom time was dictated by NDL & air consumption, not some arbitrary 1 hour dive. The dive guide (Charles) was able to show me some of the smaller critters that I may have overlooked and the boat crew were always helpful & picked us up as we surfaced. There is a brand new light & airy compressor room and they are in the process of renovating the Dive Center. It is also now one of only 3 places in Indonesia where you can try Tech diving & Marc the instructor was obviously very experienced & knowledgeable when he gave me the opportunity to try the rebreather. They have 4 speed boats which are all very comfortable, well maintained & set up perfectly for diving from.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuciaPatience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2010

Our vacation to indonesia was relly great. We stayed also a couple of days at the Seabreeze Resort Bunaken Divers. We both had a really great time at the resort and yes there's no airco and yes the internet is not always working. But what about the staff, the place, the view ect ect. I think when the resort will have airco and one or two computers with internet and a litllebit more choice in food then it give it a 10+.
But we enjoyed our time in the resort. The owners Terry and Diana did their best to enjoy everybody. We would recommend this resort to everybody who likes to dive and wants to learn nice people.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebastiaantops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

4 of us came in from Singapore and were looking for the best diving in Indonesia. The Lonely Planet had recommended SeaBreeze and were pretty much Spot-on. We emailed and called up Terry (Aussi Proprietor) who helped with ALL the arrangements! Traveling during the busy week of Ramadan was made simple with door to door service including Driver and hotel accommodations. My wife and I stuck to Snorkeling and enjoyed the surreal feeling of being engulfed in a school of red mouth trigger fish! Our friends ventured deeper, surfacing with wonderful underwater shots from below. The Staff at the resort are super friendly and willing to fulfill requests within reason. You must prepare to be on an island with only generated power in the evenings. This is an Indonesian "get away" and not for those who expect to be pampered with wasteful luxuries of today ;)
The Cabins are very practical with Bali style semi-outdoor showers, big Comfy beds and a swinging Hammock on every porch to enjoy while relaxing in the afternoons.

Our trip included more than diving, with Land adventures as well! We took a day trips to visit the Volcano's, Sulpher Lakes, Markets, Jungle Trekking to witness Monkeys in their wild habitat, etc. ALL with excellent guided tours provided and arranged by Terry and Diana (his lovely wife).

We had an Excellent time with our friends during our vacation and even made some new friends at SeaBreeze that we look forward to seeing again for more adventures!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingJ225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I can’t imagine why the previous two reviewers did not enjoy their stay at the Seabreeze Resort. My boyfriend and I had an amazing time there! Not only is the setting absolutely gorgeous and superb for diving, but the staff (and especially the owner) are incredibly hospitable and genuine people. Leaving the Seabreeze Resort feels like leaving family. The locals are also extremely friendly and happy people. A walk through Bunaken village is heartwarming, and an incredible cultural experience.

Upon arrival at the Seabreeze Resort, you are greeted by Hugo the dog on the beach, and friendly staff in the restaurant. Our seafront bungalow was perfect, giving that laid-back, tropical beach hut feel. We especially enjoyed our hammock and Bali-style bathroom!

Each night at dinner, the owner takes time with all of the guests to see how their day went, and to help them plan the next. He knows all of the dive sites inside and out, so if there’s something you especially hope to see, he’ll try to arrange the best dive trip for you to see it. The diving was spectacular! The sheer number of fish was astounding!

We also did the Minahasa Highlands Day Tour and the Tangkoko Nature Reserve Day Tour, both organized through Seabreeze Resort, and both were incredible! Boat transportation to Sulawesi Island, driving, and lunch are all included for a very reasonable price. We saw so much in the Minahasa Highlands, and found it to be more culturally enriching than we could have imagined! A large open market with so much to see, stunning volcanoes and lakes, rice fields, and lunch at a wonderful lakeside restaurant.

The Tangkoko Nature Reserve Tour blew us away! First, the ranger took our small group on a hike to the area where the back macaques were hanging out – they were so happy and playful and didn’t mind us being right there with them! While we were hanging out with the monkeys for about a half hour, a red-knobbed hornbill flew overhead, and it was crazy sounding, like a pterodactyl! We were also lucky enough to see a cuscus and a tarsier – both so cute!

We highly recommend the Seabreeze Resort!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VRayner1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Diving facility and diving equipment really needs a serious upgrade.
The accommodation is very basic and old.
The food was not good at all.

Dive guides was nice, but they did not respect the underwater environment.
They touched a lot of small critters and made turtles stressed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank clauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I'm afraid I can't agree upon the previous comments, since my experience from that place is not so impressive.

Yes, the diving is pretty good and the dive staff are all very nice, friendly and keen to make it a pleasant stay for you. However, the resort as such had a much lower standard than I expected from the price. I guess the place will do if you only stay 2-3 nights, but if you stay any longer I doubt you will be satisfied. There are three meals a day (almost same dishes all days, small portions and unfortunately always well over cooked). As an example I can mention that 1,5 chicken was served as one of four dishes to 11 persons one night and that was the only meat dish! There are no possibilities to get more food and there are no places to buy anything else on the island except potato crisps and coca cola.

In general, the standard of the bungalows are quite bad. There is no air condition, no electricity in day time and the internet didn't work for me (probably due to very low speed in the connection). They only give you new towels every third day and in this climate they won't dry so they turn sour quite fast and if you don't want to smell like a sour towel after shower, you better have to air dry. Again, this is what you can expect in some places in Asia but not if you pay 60 € per room per night.

So my summary is that if you are a very addicted diver and don't mind paying over price to low standard accomodation, you can give it a try. The diving is after all pretty good, and the dive staff are very nice and helpful!

/peter

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank 86,425,386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We were lucky enough to be given BF1, the best bungalow in the resort by the lovely Surya who was in charge while the Aussie owners were away.

The veranda was on stilts over the water with a comfortable hammock, perfect for early risers to watch the beautiful sunrise.

Well-appointed room and bathroom. Mosquito net and burning coils provided. The room was immaculately cleaned every day.

Three daily meals are icluded in the tariff. The overall atmosphere is more like staying with an extended family than in a hotel.

The local village is a mere 5 minutes walk away with an elaborate church, an interesting pier and friendly residents.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenorwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
8.6 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
548 reviews
2.5 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#4 of 45 in Manado
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
#1 of 16 in Bunaken Island
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
181 reviews
2.6 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunaken Kuskus Resort
Bunaken Kuskus Resort
#6 of 8 in Bunaken Island
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort

Address: Pangalisang Beach, Bunaken Island, | Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Price Range: $50 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No fancy stars, bells, whistles, or exaggerated advertising, just a dive resort with a fantastic friendly atmosphere, delicious mixed Indonesian-Western meals, classic wooden bungalows closest to the sea, the all important creature comforts, welcoming resort staff who love to give personalized attention, a modern PADI dive center with professional team, a restaurant over the sea with spectacular unmatched views, large range of PADI dive courses, and other water sport activities & land tours all rolled in to a quality economical package. We look forward to have you join us :)  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing