We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, excellent diving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time, excellent diving!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I arrived in Bunaken after 48h of plane, transfers, check-in etc. and found the best welcoming ever! The owner Terry is fantastic and when I had a small problem with my boat transfer because of the weather he was the most helpful and resourceful! The dives are amazing, I also saw dozens of dolphins and turtles. The sea-view bungalows have a great atmosphere. I advise anyone who wants to dive in the Bunaken Marine Park to stay in this really good lodge. Good luck with everything Terry!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaMartinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    44
    13
    2
    16
See reviews for
7
38
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A good and well established resort and worth the visit. The cottages were well maintained and the views across the sea to North Sulawesi are great. I only snorkelled (whilst my friends dived) and the visibility was great and there were loads of amazing fish and corals to see. The diving was apparently great because of the long steep underwater walls. The downsides were the large amounts of floating rubbish in some of the diving locations (which came from Manado) and some of the rented scuba gear (especially the goggles) were a bit worn out and well used, and so frequently leaked.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Cannot recommend this place enough. Terry, the owner, responded extremely quickly to my email enquiries and after careful research, we decided Sea Breeze was the only place for us to stay during our time on Bunaken.

We were picked up as planned from the airport and transferred to Manado where we got a taxi boat to the island (all organised by the resort).

The resort is situated right on the reef. When we arrived we did have to wade through the shallow waters that the boat couldn't get through, but that was all part of the experience!

The waters are crystal clear and the setting is idyllic.

All bungalows have plenty space in the bedroom and attached bathroom.

The restaurant area is brilliant. They serve Anchor beer, alcohol, soft drinks and tea and coffee. Drinks are no included in the price however they wont break the bank!
The food is delicious. You certainly will not go hungry at Sea Breeze! Every meal time, whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner, has an unbelievable amount of choice form fried rice and noodles, to chicken, to fresh fish, to fresh vegetables done in an amazing amount of different ways.
The dive centre staff often get out their guitars and have a sing song after dinner which creates a lovely atmosphere. The restaurant area is a great place to chill out and chat with fellow divers, swap photos, or just relax and read a book or play a game of cards.

The diving is outstanding. There is literally something for everyone - big pelagics such as eagle rays, sharks, giant napoleon, huge sting rays, turtles and even the elusive dugong at Ron's Point. You are guaranteed to see dolphins, and if lucky enough, will get to snorkel with them as they cruise past the boat. One of the highlights is the muck diving. There is an incredible amount of critters to see on these dives and you guarantee something new with every turn of the head. Coconut octopus, long armed octopus, frog fish, 100s of sea horses, ghost pipe fish, flamboyant cuttlefish, ambon scorpion fish are to name but a few. Evening manadarin fish dives are also amazing where you can see the mandarin fish dancing together in a mating embrace. The visibility is rarely less than 25+m.
The only thing that lets the area down is the occasional plastic bag floating past from the dirty harbour of Manado.

All the staff are highly knowledgeable and know where to find everything - even the hippocampus pohonti which is the worlds smallest sea horse (only 1cm max!) and only discovered here 8 years ago. Equipment is in good condition.

On any days you would like a break from diving, Sea Breeze organise rainforest trips where you can see the beautiful, rare and the worlds smallest primate - Tarsiers.


Hugely recommended!

Room Tip: If it is in your price range, the bungalows with a sea view are particularly special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LP1ECP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was very disappointed when arriving to Buanken. It is a beautful island but it was filled w trash, and I mean literally the locals would just throw their garbage to the ocean, so you would see that in all the dive sites you went to. The irony is that the charge you 15 dlls for diving to clean up but I never saw that happen.
Sea breeze is well located but it has very poor bungalows, bad maintained and food is not that great, you would see a partner of the same thing every day and in very small proportions like if you had to rationalize. But even after all of that which was easy to swallow and just decided to try to enjoy my stay, the dive masters which speak no English are not qualified and I doubt they are actually dive masters. We had a Diver that had to much air in his vest and went from 20 mts all the way to the service and the dive master was to busy looking at the coral and just enjoying her dive. Other divers told her about what happend and she did not do anything about it, luckily the diver went back down and did not get decompression sickness but was a very scary experience. After that the dive master blames that person as didn't even care! Avoid this place honestly its not worth it no mater how cheap it is

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bunaken Island hotels

Vasteras, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Have been on several trips around Asia and think I have a quite good knowledge about what to expect from a hotel in this region. Seabreeze did not meet my expectations though.
I’m used to budget accommodation, but I don’t think Seabreezes price matches its standard.

The dining area is ok, but the rest of the property is not well maintained.
But the worst thing is that the resort promotes themselves as a dive-resort, and as such they should have at least one set of decent rental dive equipment, but they didn´t. So, if you are a diver without your own equipment, think twice before committing to Seabreeze.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights at Sea breeze in late September/early October. Sea Breeze is not for those seeking luxury accommodation with air con and cocktails but is a very friendly place with comfortable rooms and great buffet food 3 times a day - all included.
I hadnt dived for 2 years and found some of the sites quite challenging (with the currents) but it is wonderful. It is mainly wall diving with the most healthy and abundent coral I've seen and a huge variety of fish life. Turtle City is a must (the clue is in the name).
It's a long way to go from London and there's so many places to see but I'd definately consider a return visit.
The family of dogs living at the resort are a bonus!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view bungalow if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swhitw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our standard bungalow was really damaged: hunting broken-shower went in every direction-lock difficult to closed. All is pretext to pay if we arrive too late for breakfast etc. The only good thing was the snorkelling. Be careful the check out is reaLly early 9h30.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulinebarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
2.6 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jonaths Cottage
Jonaths Cottage
#16 of 16 in Bunaken Island
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort

Property: Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Address: Pangalisang Beach, Bunaken Island, | Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No fancy stars, bells, whistles, or exaggerated advertising, just a dive resort with a fantastic friendly atmosphere, delicious mixed Indonesian-Western meals, classic wooden bungalows closest to the sea, the all important creature comforts, welcoming resort staff who love to give personalized attention, a modern PADI dive center with professional team, a restaurant over the sea with spectacular unmatched views, large range of PADI dive courses, and other water sport activities & land tours all rolled in to a quality economical package. We look forward to have you join us :)  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing