We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for relaxing and escaping..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunaken SeaGarden Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bunaken SeaGarden Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place for relaxing and escaping..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Bunaken Sea Garden resort resides in a very secluded place in southern Bunaken (if I’m not wrong). Just like most resort in Bunaken, Bunaken Sea Garden is also a beachfront resort. When I arrived at the resort I didn’t realize that the location of this resort since its beach is completely covered with trees. Very nice location and really great for escaping from urban life.

In my opinion, this resort is actually a budget resort compared to the other resort nearby. The facilities provided also limited. They have standard and deluxe room, both are only with fan, electricity off during the day, a hammock, and no hot water (just so you know). The difference between the two is deluxe room is more spacious than the standard and the standard room is located near the street so you will hear some kind of noise at certain time. But, I’m completely fine with the room, no complaints.

They have a quite spacious field in the middle of the resort, we can use it for playing football, badminton, volleyball and others. They also have a gazebo right in front of the beach, you can use it to enjoy the day, or taking a nap perhaps.

They also provide a fun dive package for diver, with a very competitive price. As I heard, they’re still completing their dive shop and improving into a proper dive shop. But as I see, they give a very good dive service to me. They will charge €48 for a two-morning dives or €26 for 1 morning dive. The equipment rental is €2 per day which they claimed will be fully donated for charity. Diving and donating, isn’t that lovely?

If you’re not into diving, you could do snorkeling right in front the resort. Since there is a beautiful dive spot right in front the resort. You just can’t miss it.

They provided full meal accommodation, breakfast, lunch, dinner and unlimited tea and coffee. They served a very nice and delightful meal. You should really try their “gohu” (a raw tuna served with Manadonese style), it was amazing. Two thumbs up for the meal.

They also provided airport transfer with a very competitive price, and transfer to public boat.

Overall, I really love my stay in Bunaken Sea Garden. The staff are very nice, Ms. Sonya herself also a very helpful person. Thanks again for your hospitality Ms. Sonya. I certainly will stay in your place again soon.

Room Tip: Standard room is located near the street, so if you have issue with noise choose the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    30
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
60
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staffs and the host will take care of you while you are in Bunaken.
The room is clean and food was good. The dogs are friendly and always get excited whenever they see the guests.
The diving operator itself is one of the cheapest operators on the island. Full set equipment rent is only 2 EURO.
Considering the price, this place is perfect and therefore i can't see why people complaint when they just pay a little.
Recommended for people on a budget.

Room Tip: Standard room is good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryuta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

It's truly we were staying at Sonya's Places or Bunaken Seagarden Resort spent 7 nights with amazing and wonderful host Sonya and the staff as well. The location is very perfect to relaxing bungalow, food, diving equipments, and snorkeling spot just in front of the resort are the number one on Bunaken.
before we came to Bunaken we were looking in internet about some places and we found Sea garden Resort. Without reservation we just go on. suddenly we meet the owner Sonya at the public boat we were so happy and lucky that Sonya told us she has only one cottage available that time so next time we come we must do reservation in advance. We read 2 bad reviews for Sea garden resort and that persons who wrote those reviews are horrible peoples they do not know how kind and helpful the host Sonya and the staff. Sonya is a good person, honest, good heart, and she has been traveling around the world. Everybody on Bunaken know her. She is not the same as local Indonesian mind she know much about Indonesia she mostly sitting with her guests for around the dine table having chat with her guests smiling and making joking :-).

Sea Garden Resort is really-really wonderful place to relaxing and doing the diving is also comfortable with good quality equipments and the experience dive master guide. The bungalows have own western toilet and freshwater shower, we were enjoying with the nice hammock around balcony. Bunaken Sea Garden Resort is the only one resort on Bunaken who has freshwater.

To all visitors who like to come to Bunaken we recommend you to come and stay at Sea garden Resort. We are sure you will enjoy and happy if you stay in that resort. you even can call Sonya just look in the website of the resort to find her mobile number or just asking people in then public boat to call her and she will be so greatly to pick you up whenever you arrive in Bunaken harbor. If you lucky you will meet her in the public boat same like us :-).

To lovely Sonya, we thanks so much for you hospitality we like you you so much and please stay to be a person like you are simple an

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulia008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked from the internet for 6 nights but stayed for 11, even returning at the end of our trip for another fix of Sonya's perfect hospitality. She runs her hotel with delightful warm laid-back efficiency. We enjoyed the garden, full of creatures to marvel at and photograph: numerous butterflies and bulbuls, the usual bugs and a resident non-stop column of red ants, but also a ten-inch stick insect and other specialities. This is the equator, after all. The sea is literally at the bottom of the garden and we could hear the waves from our bed. Snorkelling is magical and world class: coral, turtles and all sorts of marine creatures in abundance. Our room was airy and spotless, and was cleaned every day. The hammock was perfect: every time I got into it I fell asleep. Meals are delicious, varied and plentiful. I am vegetarian and Sonya made sure there was always special food for me. I have returned home with many new recipes including green papaya, bamboo shoots, and sambal, and one hundred ways with tofu! Sonya's team is just delightful, anticipating all our needs and quick to help. Sonya helped us organise the rest of our trip in Sulawesi and welcomed us back at the end. We couldn't have been happier at her place and were sorry to leave. Wonderful value, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are away from the road, where there is some motorcycle noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We planned to stay 5 days on the Bunaken, but ended upstaying 2 weeks with Sonya and her lovely staff at Bunaken Sea Garden Resort. Our bungalow was everything we could wish for, really clean, spacious and set in a beautiful garden. the girls came to clean every day and we had a hufe verandah with hammock, ultimate relaxing after diving or snorkeling.
The food was exceptional. Annie, the cook, made fresh Indonesian food everyday and with a lot of variety in dihes. Lots of fish, curry's, vegetables and everything was really delicious! The staff is super friendly and makes you feel more than at home. The guys are always ready for some fun guitar music and singing. We went diving a lot of times there with Nicolas the dive master and the boat crew. They were always looking out for us, finding the best spots for diving and we had a lot of laughs under water too. Everything was arranged, we didn't need to worry about anything outselves, we felt totally looked after and very save with all of them. And the diving was amazing, the most beautiful coral reefs we have ever seen! And if you are not a diver, the snorkeling right in front of the resort was just as amazing as the diving! Like nothing we have ever seen before. Thanks for an amazing memory Sonya and all of the staff, we miss you all! And we will definately come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loesfransen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at Sea garden in November 2012. Out of my 3 stops was by far the best. It was the most beautiful and quietest place with the best food served. Sonia went out of her way to make every traveller welcome and when meat was being served gave me a vegetarian alternative.

The bungalow was the cleanest and and quietest by the sea and stepping distance to the reef.

The resort is a hidden paradise and the nicest place I stayed in over many years of travelling. Thank you to Harrie and Sonia for making my trip an unbelievable adventure.

Regards. Adrian Fox. From UK

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of the best resort throught the island. At all.
If you think you're going to stay in a 5 star resort with pool, gym, spa, marble and tek inside furniture, forget it!

Here you will live side by side with nature: every bungalow is "open top", so avery kind of bug can get inside, and the toilet is under the milky way (clearly visible on the beach). But, at the end, who cares?!

The best of all is the beach in front of the hotel, were you can have a cooling bath, some marvelous snorkeling on the reef, with sea weeds tickling your feet, or by playing with sea stars and hermit crabs, or, more simply, tanning under the huge trees.

The resort's manager is very kind and will be very pleased in helping you how ever she can.

Considering value for money, one of the best holidays ever had in Indonesia (Indah!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtrjakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#2 of 15 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bunaken Island Resort
Bunaken Island Resort
#10 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunaken SeaGarden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunaken SeaGarden Resort

Property: Bunaken SeaGarden Resort
Address: Pangalisang Beach, Bunaken Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing