We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“resort with beautiful garden and nice beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunaken Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bunaken Beach Resort
Gasteren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“resort with beautiful garden and nice beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

nice resort, pleasant staff and atmosphere. nice sittingplace at the beach.
they clean your room every day, clean towels aswell.
the food is very tastefull, snorkeling just from beach to a nice coral reef

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mieke-g15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
31
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Thought when booking to go there as per the website it would be awesome but upon arrival we were the only people staying there which was ok but when it says there is a beach it's only 1 mtr of sand and then when the tide goes out there is just muddy type of sand and you cannot swim or snorkel. The food was very ordinary breakfast consisted of 2 pieces of toasted bread no margarine and some very sweet jam and terrible coffee lunch not much better for lunch and dinner the same for 2 nights. As we are not divers the staff never asked if we were interested in doing some activities even when we asked to rent a scooter it never turned up. It was boring food terrible and the rooms it costs extra for air conditioning but the power was off most of the time with no back up generator there is not hot water and the cold water is ocean water only we couldn't wait to leave. If you are not a diver and you want some small things like a fresh shower and some half decent food don't come here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The complex has 10 bungalows in total. Meals are included in the room and are very nice. You need to share table with other people, that's nice if you want to get in contact with others.

The staff is very nice and helpfull. They can help you arrange transport if you want to travel to Tangkoko afterwards for example.

Rooms and facilities are pretty basic but clean. I think you can't find a better price/quality on Bunaken. The room price is about € 20 per person per night. It seems expensive if you compare it to other hotels in the Lonely Planet. But the Lonely Planet has not been updated since 2010!

The price for diving is good. The divemasters and boat crew are very nice people!

We had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotels in the North of Sulawesi cost more than in the other parts of Indonesia; it's more touristic. In Bunaken you have a lot of mid range resorts, and Bunaken Beach Resort is one of them. The price/quality ratio is good.
The location is at the beach. It's not a big white beach, but a small one. You can't really swim in the first 50 meters of the beach; it's very undeep and filled with algen. You have to swim far to go to clear/clean water. That's also the part where you can go snorkling. The koral is extraordinary and there are a lot of beautiful fish. So you don't have to go with a boat tour for snorkling; it's right in front of you. Always use flippers though; there can be a strong current, especially during low-tide. It's recommendable to bring your own goggles and snorkling tube because it will cost you 6 euro a day to rent them. Flippers were like 4 euro a day. You pay 30 euro for one dive, 50 for two dives and 10 euro for the suit and oxygen. You can also join the diving group if you just want to snorkle; then you only pay for your snorkling outfit so that's quite nice. The diving and snorkling locations are extraordinary; you see beautiful koral, fish, turtles and lots of small sea life. The dive instructor is friendly and good. It's very quiet; when you go diving you don't see other divers.

The bungalows are ok. There is airconditioning, but you have to pay a lot extra to use it (12 euro a night). I wouldn't recommend it since power goes on and off almost all of the time. They have fans in- and outside the bungalows. But it's hot.

The bungalows are clean and they do your room every day. The beds are nice. The bathrooms are less nice; they look a bit cheap. There is no hot water, and a little bit salty, but that's almost everywhere in Bunaken. The have stable hamocks.

The environment of the bungalows is very nice. They have a beautiful garden.

The price includes three meals a day. You really depend on the food in your hotel because in Bunaken there are no real restaurants or supermarkets. The meals are good. In the morning pancakes or toast with jam or egg, and lunch and diner is lokal food (fish, chicking, rice, mie, etc); it tastes good and there is plenty.

The staff is friendly, but were not always very helpfull. We couldn't book a ticket back in the resort because the wifi was very bad and they didn't help us out. We turned to their neighbours (village bunaken) and that manager helped us out.

The two villages around the resort are very small; it contains some houses, some pigs and roosters, a church, a school, but that's about it. It's not touristic at all and quite beautiful. There is a beautiful jungle around the resort but don't go in there by yourself; you get lost easily.

Everyday we went to the neighbours (village bunaken) for a swim in their pool. They found that to be ok, but we did order some cocktails to pay of the quilt;) The village is a very beautiful and luxury resort, but you pay double the price as in the midrange resorts (45 euro a day versus 25 euro a day a person).

In conclusion; Bunaken is really the place if you want to go diving or snorkling and relaxing; there is nothing else to do. This resort has a good price/quality in the midrange options. It's not really a place for a family since there is no swimming pool, easily accessible clear sea and a big beach. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelleaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Hay-les-Roses, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked a bungalow (sea-side) in the resort, nice and clean, with "normal" shower even if the tap water is salted... (as everywhere on the island). Nice private patio on the beach, with long-chair. You can go snorkeling for hours from the beach, or go with the boat to other places around the island.
Good food (even almost the same every day, may be boring if you stay long), very nice people who can arrange boats.
We really enjoy our 3 days stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

only was able to stay 2 nights in the middle of a business trip. Gertrude and her team are outstanding. From the welcome to departure they went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. It was a lot of fun. I don't dive but the snorkelling just off the resort was wonderful.

The food included is a great deal. 3 amazing meals everyday, cooked with love from the kitchen staff. Polite friendly and very welcoming ( unlike other parts of Indonesia!)

I would highly recommend bunkan beach resort. .

Gertrude is a star and makes the atmosphere great!

Richard B - Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: Get the aircon room as it was a bit sticky at night in spite of the fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. The food was brilliant, every day we had something different (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and always very tasty, they can also adapt to different diets. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were good, they have a nice view to the sea or to a beautiful garden on standard rooms, they clean every day.
We dive with them, the equipment was in good conditions, and the prices cheaper than other resorts. It was very good, and of course the marine park is absolutely amazing!
We would definately come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delikafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#2 of 15 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bunaken Island Resort
Bunaken Island Resort
#10 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunaken Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunaken Beach Resort

Property: Bunaken Beach Resort
Address: Pangalisang Beach | PO Box 1309, Bunaken Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunaken Beach Resort is located on Pangalisang Beach on the Eastern side of Bunaken island in the middle of the famous Bunaken National Park, off the coast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. Bunaken National Park is a popular destination for divers from all over the world due to its unique coral reefs and numerous different species of marine life which make it very well suitable for snorkeling also.Bunaken Beach Resort is a comfortable and friendly resort with its own private beach and a beautiful sea view with mountainous mainland in the background where amazing sunrises can be enjoyed every morning.Our restaurant serves a choice of different delicious local dishes and on request we can make special arrangements for our guests while hot and cold drinks are available around the clock.The resort has its own professional dive center which is well equipped with good quality dive sets. In addition we have our own comfortable and large dive boat and we work with experienced dive masters and instructors.Electricity and running water are available 24 hrs and we offer comfortable accommodations varying from luxury bungalows to more basic rooms, all with a private terrace and a hammock to spend a lazy afternoon in the tropics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bunaken Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing