We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, brilliant location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunaken Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bunaken Beach Resort
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, brilliant location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

only was able to stay 2 nights in the middle of a business trip. Gertrude and her team are outstanding. From the welcome to departure they went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. It was a lot of fun. I don't dive but the snorkelling just off the resort was wonderful.

The food included is a great deal. 3 amazing meals everyday, cooked with love from the kitchen staff. Polite friendly and very welcoming ( unlike other parts of Indonesia!)

I would highly recommend bunkan beach resort. .

Gertrude is a star and makes the atmosphere great!

Richard B - Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: Get the aircon room as it was a bit sticky at night in spite of the fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
31
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. The food was brilliant, every day we had something different (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and always very tasty, they can also adapt to different diets. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were good, they have a nice view to the sea or to a beautiful garden on standard rooms, they clean every day.
We dive with them, the equipment was in good conditions, and the prices cheaper than other resorts. It was very good, and of course the marine park is absolutely amazing!
We would definately come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delikafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at Bunaken Beach Resort for 11 nights and my partner and I had a great time. The resort is clean and simple, set on the beach and very close to the best dive sites of the area. Lots of trees and greenery around the resort.
Rooms are basic but clean. Food was excellent with plenty of variety.
Diving with the resort was great, we went to all the best sites multiple times and our guide found many small animals we would have missed otherwise.
Regarding the health of the reefs: it's true that Manado is a source of trash which the currents carry across to Bunaken.
However, the trash only comes after heavy rain, seems to only sit on the surface and not below where you're diving. Furthermore, the trash really only hits the south side of the island, washing up on the village beach. It didn't really impact our diving. That said, it is sad to see what humans do to beautiful natural environments, and Indonesia has a long way to go.
The reefs are quite healthy with some reef sharks, Napoleon Wrasse and loads of beautiful green turtles.
The staff at the resort are very helpful. Don't expect to have activities other than diving. Bring books and things to keep your mind occupied during down time between dives.
Thoroughly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I spend one full week at the Bunaken Beach Resort. The place is simple, clean and has a good location. My bed was a bit soft and some people complained about mosquitoes - not me. Emailing with the manager (Erny) was direct and there were no surprises. They arranged our picked from the airport (taxi and boat) and everything was set up for a relaxed stay.
Bunaken is a perfect place if you are a diver. I did a course and a few fun dives so it took a week but if I was there just fun-diving, then 4-5 days would be enough. Diving is mostly on the wall. Snorkeling is also possible, usually right in front of the resort.
The food was delicious although having fish 3 out of 4 meals was a bit tiring. There is a village about 10-15 min from the resort but there is nothing to do there, no main area like a square to see how locals interact, work, etc.
Other resorts seem to be quite similar. The advantage of Bunaken Beach is the setting, the garden and that everything is ready to enjoy including a very comfortable diving boat.
Request a standard room, not an ocean view and you will pay half the price.

Room Tip: Reserve a standard room, not ocean view and save half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacektravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms and gardens here are lovely, clean and spacious, all with great terraces and views. The food is at worst ok and at best lovely. I think they had one bad day over a total of the five weeks we have spent here.What makes the resort is the staff.
Hotel staff are always freindly and helpful. We started out wondering about the quality of the dive guides, who are reserved but friendly, but after two weeks of two or three dives a day developed the utmost respect and affection for them. They are experienced, safe, and knowledgeable, and once they have worked out what you are interested in seeing will make sure that it happens, if humanly possible. The diving is stunning.
One day Bunaken as a community will have to do something about the plastic drifting in from Manado. They managed in Lembeh, also very close to a city, so it can be done. The resort at least keep it off their own beach, which is something. Nonetheless, the diving and snorkelling are simply stunning. Over two visits we clocked up about sixty dives here in total, and could simply not believe that the place just got better and better. We've done a lot of diving in a lot of places. Some are as good, but none are better.
I'd like fresh water to rinse my camera but managed with a little ingenuity. The boats are lovely, comfortable, and there your camera is well looked after. I'd like to get nitrox here one day, but it didn;t matter, the diving was brilliant. On our second visit we remembered to bring a supply of chocolate, treats, and hygiene products, as you simply won't get them here. I'm planning next year's trip, and the first question is 'can we squeeze in a fortnight back at Bunaken?' Even if we end up somewhere else will certainly be back soon.It's great here, we didn't meet anyone, snorkeller or diver, who didn't love the place.

Room Tip: As far as I can see they're all of a similar standard, so it's air con or not, and then clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garrykingofsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night as to play in Bunaken island, not so many people stay in Bunaken as usually people from Manado just having day trip to Bunaken and back to Manado same day.
This resort i can stay because my intent to play in Bunaken, a quality of accomodation I can accept due to remote island. But I can not stay here if this is not in Bunaken.
The most if this accomodation is ocean view and ocean front, nice, we can hear the sea waves from our room. I choose ocean view room and this compensate all other weaknesses of this resort, including cleanliness, especially compared to my usual habit, prefer to enjoy luxury.
This accomodation was just basic, but i had not so many choice in Bunaken that is ocean front and rooms were available that time.

Room Tip: Choose oceant front rooms, only 2 rooms available for this. This will compensate all other weaknesse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cipto29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

In July I stayed at Bunaken Beach Resort for 6 days. I had a great time there. The island is beautiful and the people at the resort are very nice and hospitable. I stayed in a normal bungalow and compared to other accomodation in Indonesia for the same price this bungalow was very cheap. The boxspring beds were really nice. Three (very good) meals per day are included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inge12350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#2 of 15 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bunaken Island Resort
Bunaken Island Resort
#10 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunaken Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunaken Beach Resort

Property: Bunaken Beach Resort
Address: Pangalisang Beach | PO Box 1309, Bunaken Island, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunaken Beach Resort is located on Pangalisang Beach on the Eastern side of Bunaken island in the middle of the famous Bunaken National Park, off the coast of Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. Bunaken National Park is a popular destination for divers from all over the world due to its unique coral reefs and numerous different species of marine life which make it very well suitable for snorkeling also.Bunaken Beach Resort is a comfortable and friendly resort with its own private beach and a beautiful sea view with mountainous mainland in the background where amazing sunrises can be enjoyed every morning.Our restaurant serves a choice of different delicious local dishes and on request we can make special arrangements for our guests while hot and cold drinks are available around the clock.The resort has its own professional dive center which is well equipped with good quality dive sets. In addition we have our own comfortable and large dive boat and we work with experienced dive masters and instructors.Electricity and running water are available 24 hrs and we offer comfortable accommodations varying from luxury bungalows to more basic rooms, all with a private terrace and a hammock to spend a lazy afternoon in the tropics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bunaken Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing