We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeatedly good”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Village Bunaken
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was not one year since we left this wonderful place, now we are back again. Please see that review. We were at least as happy with The Village Bunaken this time. The room is very good, the lunch and dinner buffet event better than last time. The breakfast however was not as good as last time. It is still good though, but we were missing something to drink besides water, like smoothie or juice. It is still very well maintained, not expanding, but evolving to the better. The building style is so well made, and tasteful. This time they had new boats. The diving service is of really good standard, and you can tell that the guides like their job. They are genuinely polite, but yet working hard to top up your diving expirience. I feel very safe when diving here. We love this hotel, and we will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for The Village Bunaken
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 259 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are snorkellers who stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the house reef immensely! The food is included in the rate and is quite tasty. The kitchen girls worked hard to please. We used the Spa twice and both agreed it was one of the best massages we ever had! The welcoming Management saw to our requests and made sure we were enjoying our stay. Angelina saw to our transport needs coming and going. One of us was bothered by mosquitoes and would have appreciated some netting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raincoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Driver pick us in the airport, and bring us to a fantastic holiday! The room is clean, bathroom is good, just like what u see in their website! Good food as well! I am a non diver, many resort in Bunaken only welcome diver to stay, but not The Village Bunaken. I like snorkelling very much, Bunaken is really a good place, it is the most beauty place I ever snorkel! The dive master - June is a funny guy, he gave me and my friend lots of fun although we are not learning diving! I am also surprising Angelina can speak fluence Cantonese (I am come from HK), I really like this place very much!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jessie2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was staying there with my friends, for holiday, 2 days and 1 night. We were picked up by boat with the owner herself, she was so nice and welcome us so friendly. The Village Bunaken is really like a small green village by the sea. There's no reception like any other hotel, you can do the registration at the bar area while you enjoy the refreshing welcome drink. They gave us a 2-rooms villa, near the restaurant area, with air conditioner (*limited) and fan but no tv. At the room terrace, there is a hanging bed for you to relax. The food was so good, the staffs are friendly and familiar. They arranged all the activities for us; such as diving, snorkelling , and go to Taman Laut Bunaken. The rooms are always full, many long staying guests from Europe and US. You can spend the whole day enjoying the underwater world, sunbathing by the pool, relax at the spa or you can go for a walk to the friendly neighbourhood or rent a motorcycle, and can enjoy some traditional food or buy some handmade souvenirs at Taman Laut Bunaken.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markus 'mnc lifestyle'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After all the rave reviews we had high expectations. We were a bit dissapointed though.

As every hotel on Pulau Bunaken it has a full board formula. The food is OK but not that good, with some good dishes.

There is a good reef in front of the hotel where you can snorkel. Lots of fishes and good coral.

You absolutely need a mosquito net on the island, and there is none in the room. The room itself is good, with tasteful design (a lot of dark wood) and a veranda with a hammock. The tap water is brackish (they have their own well) so you always have a salty skin.

Staff is good, the owners have dinner with the guests each evening. We missed a smile on the Dutch owner's face though!

We made an introduction dive here. The dive instructor was OK, but could have been a bit more attentive and less robot like.

Obviously a lot of Dutch here, but also Germans and French.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Bunaken was the end of our trip thru Sulawesie and we really needed a comfortable place to relax at the end of our holiday. We first checked the other places on the island and we concluded that the Village resort was the best option. We can recommend this resort for the quality, super friendly staff, good kitchen, spa and snorkel & diving facilities.
We absolutely enjoyed this resort and his friendly staff!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion-Halfweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent 3 days here and loved every second. Unfortuantely I cant dive due to medical problems but the snorkeling in front of the place is one of the best i have ever seen. You also have the option to go out with the divers and snorkel which was also good.

Staff were great, food was good and the location excellent. I really couldnt fault it. Accomodation was also spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
1.4 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
1.1 mi away
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
#1 of 16 in Bunaken Island
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Bunaken

Address: Pangalisang, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Price Range: $40 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale Resort, Diving center and Spa on Bunaken with attention to detail and a touch of authentic indonesian styling. A place to relax and enjoy the underwater wonders of Bunaken right at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Bunaken Hotel Bunaken Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing