We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home by the sea”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Village Bunaken
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“home by the sea”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was staying there with my friends, for holiday, 2 days and 1 night. We were picked up by boat with the owner herself, she was so nice and welcome us so friendly. The Village Bunaken is really like a small green village by the sea. There's no reception like any other hotel, you can do the registration at the bar area while you enjoy the refreshing welcome drink. They gave us a 2-rooms villa, near the restaurant area, with air conditioner (*limited) and fan but no tv. At the room terrace, there is a hanging bed for you to relax. The food was so good, the staffs are friendly and familiar. They arranged all the activities for us; such as diving, snorkelling , and go to Taman Laut Bunaken. The rooms are always full, many long staying guests from Europe and US. You can spend the whole day enjoying the underwater world, sunbathing by the pool, relax at the spa or you can go for a walk to the friendly neighbourhood or rent a motorcycle, and can enjoy some traditional food or buy some handmade souvenirs at Taman Laut Bunaken.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markus 'mnc lifestyle'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    64
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
122
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After all the rave reviews we had high expectations. We were a bit dissapointed though.

As every hotel on Pulau Bunaken it has a full board formula. The food is OK but not that good, with some good dishes.

There is a good reef in front of the hotel where you can snorkel. Lots of fishes and good coral.

You absolutely need a mosquito net on the island, and there is none in the room. The room itself is good, with tasteful design (a lot of dark wood) and a veranda with a hammock. The tap water is brackish (they have their own well) so you always have a salty skin.

Staff is good, the owners have dinner with the guests each evening. We missed a smile on the Dutch owner's face though!

We made an introduction dive here. The dive instructor was OK, but could have been a bit more attentive and less robot like.

Obviously a lot of Dutch here, but also Germans and French.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Bunaken was the end of our trip thru Sulawesie and we really needed a comfortable place to relax at the end of our holiday. We first checked the other places on the island and we concluded that the Village resort was the best option. We can recommend this resort for the quality, super friendly staff, good kitchen, spa and snorkel & diving facilities.
We absolutely enjoyed this resort and his friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion-Halfweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent 3 days here and loved every second. Unfortuantely I cant dive due to medical problems but the snorkeling in front of the place is one of the best i have ever seen. You also have the option to go out with the divers and snorkel which was also good.

Staff were great, food was good and the location excellent. I really couldnt fault it. Accomodation was also spotless.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This small hotel is well located and has a great reef out front. staff are ok and managers great. Food is basic. The rooms are spacious and beds offer a good sleep. No mosquito nets so take your own. Gardens are well established and cared for. All of the communal spaces are spacious and comfortable.

Unfortunately we had to cut our visit short due to an unforeseen opportunity.

I would return and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treblker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a great place to relax for a few days. The reef right in front of the hotel is fantastic. The hotel is very clean and the rooms (some with AC) are very nice. The staff is friendly and the food is good. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Its a great place to stay, to eat well, nice dives, nice people and a great place to enjoy your favourite book. The owners tried to make our stay the beat possible. Bearing in mind that Bunaken is a small island about 45 min by boat from Manado, its a very nice surrounding and a rustic- comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_mia_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
3.1 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#3 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
2.1 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#3 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Bunaken

Property: The Village Bunaken
Address: Pangalisang, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale Resort, Diving center and Spa on Bunaken with attention to detail and a touch of authentic indonesian styling. A place to relax and enjoy the underwater wonders of Bunaken right at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Bunaken Hotel Bunaken Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing