We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family atmosphere and professionnal staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed one week at Two Fish, which was the best part of our one month trip in Indonesia. The cottages are cleaned every day (What a pleasure to have beautiful flowers on your bed each day !) and you can have a rest on your balcony watching the mangroves... and dreaming that you will stay forever in this place.

We did 2 dives every day and we saw amazing corals, fishes and even sharks. I was very satisfied with the diving equipment which was brand new. I took my Advanced Open Water and also my EFR and we had a great time with all the instructors. I was a llitle bit afraid with my approximatively understanding of english but they managed to make me understand everything. Instructors were always available to ask questions and Tina is perfect to organize schedule.

We met people from so many different countries and spent great time talking with them and eating together.

Western staff and Indonesian staff make a great multicultural team. We had the pleasure to see a documentary about sharks with a person who tried to protect them all over the world.

As we were there for our honeymoon, Tina & Nigel did a surprise the last night ! We had a delicious meal close to the sea (with a full moon) and some wine !

Definitely, a place I recommand.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire_B75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 358 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

Ive been to @ Fish 3 times now and will go back again. The resort is confortable, clean and the food is healthy and good quality. This is a diving resort so not suitable for those who don't unless they accompany a friend that does. If you don't dive, there is not much to do but walk to a lovely village a few km away or laze in a hamak...The diving facilities are good and the equipment well maintained and the diving experience is probably one of the best in the world. The dive staff well trained and professional.
However, if you are looking for a 5 star hotel, eat steak every day, this not the place. This is seafood country no turf here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MogioMakassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I’ve just returned from Two Fish after staying for more than 2 weeks and completing my IDC and IE with them. I highly recommend them for anyone wanting to qualify as an instructor or do some tech diving. The Course Director, Brendon Sing is an incredible teacher as is Tina Melson who is an IDC Staff Instructor. The resort is really developing too, the food is yummy and I stayed in a brand new cottage and another one was being built whilst I was there. For anyone wanting to either start tech diving or do some tech diving they are offering tech dives and courses and I can’t think of anywhere more suitable for tech than Bunaken!! The resort is now being managed by a lovely couple – Abraham and Ella who are super friendly and the owners Tina and Nigel are FAB and they really made my stay a lot of fun! I’ve been here a hand full of times now and at the end of my stay I never want to leave. The island is really relaxed, the people are great and the diving is unbeatable!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swormald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

if you want a no frills holiday with fabulous diving, great local food and excellent hospitality two fish is the place. I have just returned after 9 nights at the dive resort. managed to fit in 23 beautiful dive and with the assistance of the amazing eagle- eyed dive guides saw some incredible underwater life. the rooms are spacious and clean with great hammocks for between dive siestas!! as a vegetarian i sometimes miss out on good food but at two fish i was really well catered for with an extra veggie dish every meal to go with the other tasty local dishes on offer. all the staff were helpful and went out of their way to make everyone visiting feel welcome. hopefully i'll be back in 2012!! thanks again everyone at Two Fish

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

World class diving in an incredible, undeveloped location that is relatively easy to get to, fantastic service, great food and kid friendly to boot. What’s not to love? Especially for parents who dive.
We just got home from an amazing trip to Bunaken Island where we stayed and dove with Two Fish Divers. We met one of the owners at a dive show in Singapore and after hearing how kid friendly they were, we were convinced that we needed to give it a shot. We have an 18 month old and our goal for the dive show was to find kid friendly dive destinations.
Let me say that we were not disappointed. The staff was fantastic with our son and completely put us at ease. My wife was able to go diving every morning without worrying. Every day when we returned our son was busy having fun playing with the nanny and usually several other staff members along with the owners’ small children. I know how challenging it is to find a place that caters to parents with small children. I would strongly recommend Two Fish to diving families with small children.
The resort was clean and well ran. Abraham, the operations manager was friendly, personable and eager to insure that everything was perfect for our stay. The food was great and the rest of the staff was always helpful.
The dive operation was also well run with friendly, competent dive masters and staff. The boats have an abundance of shade and the diving is some of the best on the planet.
I’m rating the rooms four, not because they are on par with a high end hotel, but because they are great for what they are indented to be. The resort is a budget resort that caters to divers of all levels. It’s not a Sandals or Club Med and is not intended to be, but is excellent for what it is intended to be, and the value cannot be beat.
If you are a diver (with or without small children) and like being around unpretentious down to earth people, then I would highly recommend this place. We had a fantastic time with friendly and interesting people from all over the world. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calmday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I want to stay one month in Bunaken with Two Fish Divers in March 2010. I had not been back since 2004, and was very impressed by the resort (rooms, facilities, gardens, lounging areas) and the dive operation. Despite having grown in size, Two Fish Divers stayed a friendly place with great individual attention paid to guests. The dive guides are extremely well trained and friendly and in general the staff and owners try to accommodate all wishes. Based on tides and currents, you might not be able to do your chosen dive site on a specific day, but maybe the next., and dive guides will make sure your diving is safe and fun, based on the conditions, while trying to take you to a maximum number of sites during your stay. The diving is very good value for money, flexible - they'll really bend oever backwards to make your holiday enjoyable There's a good atmosphere in the resort, with various areas to sit, chat or rest, large deckchairs facing the sea, sitting areas with wifi internet to send your pictures and check your emails, a nice cafe for a beer at the end of the day, etc. The gardens are beautifully maintained. Bungalows all have a terrace with hammocks and are spread through the gardens, with plenty of space between bungalows for your privacy. Standard and budget rooms are what they are announced to be, convenient, you do not get cheated on the merchandise. Read the website carefully and you'll see that all the information is there, and the pictures really reflect what you'll get. One great advantages also is that you can book your Bunaken and Lembeh holiday with Two Fish, and they'll organise your transfer to their Lembeh resort, which is also a beautiful and friendly place to stay.
I warmly recommend Two Fish Divers for your holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamilaLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Two Fish has a lot of potential, however it needs some work to make it a more comfortable and enjoyable experience for its guests. True, Two Fish is a budget resort, however when it gets to a point where you start thinking about being home again, something is wrong.

The cottages are kept clean, although poorly constructed, with holes in the walls letting mosquitoes in. The shower had very poor water pressure and on the second day began to smell. Likewise, the toilet required the old bucket and pail treatment given inadequate water supply. A stagnant creek (full of rubbish) in front of some of the cottages does not make for a pleasant atmosphere after a morning's dive.

Probably most disappointing was the food. Incredibly bland and not much of it. Breakfast consisted of cheap, refined foods (long-life milk, cornflakes, sugary juice, little fresh fruit) and lunch and dinner did not incorporate some of the great Indonesian flavours that are easy and inexpensive to make with a little effort. In short, the food was really lacking imagination.

On the positive side, the staff and dive guides are very helpful, friendly and efficient. The diving experience was very positive and we will certainly visit Bunaken again. However, we will not be staying at Two Fish as for a minimal amount more (less than 10 Euro per night) there are more comfortable and more enjoyable places to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoFishBunakenIsland, Owner at Two Fish Divers Bunaken, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2010

These types of reviews can give a very distorted view of our resort. This reviewer only stayed with us 2 nights before moving to another resort for the last 3 nights of his stay, for the benefit of other readers here are a few points to balance things up a bit:

- There were 12 other guests staying with us at the same time, they were perfectly happy with the food, cottages, resort, etc. In fact I asked the other guests personally if all was ok (I am the owner), and they completed positive surveys at the end of their stay (we ask all departing guests to complete a customer survey).

- We are a budget resort that provides clean & comfortable cottages for divers and travelers at affordable prices, and we have to reduce some of the frills to keep the price down. We are also a dive resort (not a resort with diving) and we have perhaps the best dive service in the area - we have 4 western instructors, 2 local DM/Assistant Instructors, 5 local diveguides, 3 dive boats with oxygen, new & serviced dive equipment, emergency evac procedures, etc. With max 20 dive guests it makes for very a small/personal dive service for both beginners & experienced divers!

- We have many plans for making improvements to our resort & cottages in June & July 2010. These include new cottage furnishings, water system & hot water as well as some landscaping.

- Correct, there are other resorts nearby that are more comfortable, and they charge more, some even double & triple our price. This is normal, I think that many travellers are used to choosing hotels from 1-5-star, and the same kind of consideration should be taken when choosing resorts.

- Water – we admit that the water power is not as strong as in 5-star resorts. Most guests are happy with the current system as its part of the island experience, but we want to improve and are putting in new water tanks and water system in July 2010.

- Our 9 cottages are made of hard-wood and are built by professional builders. In the heat the wood dries up and shrinks causing some gaps, when it rains the wood expands again, this is one of the consequences of being in the tropics. I have checked the cottage and there are no holes that let in mozzies as was suggested, just 1 or 2 very small gaps caused by these weather changes. However, all the cottages are netted and have electronic mozzy thingies so the cottages are mozzy free. We actually do not have much of a mozzy problem on Bunaken - only half-hour at dawn and dusk, and if you are in the restaurant or beach café at this time then a quick spray on the arms & legs normally does the trick.

- The "stagnant creek" is actually a small gulley that directs rain water from the hills in the middle of Bunaken (behind our resort), through part of our resort, and out to the sea, and we agreed with the local village to keep this open. The gulley gets full when it rains/high tide (up to 1m deep!), and empty when no rain/low tide, but doesn’t affect the resort or guests in any way. Some of our improvements to the resort include landscaping this area, and a landscape-designer will be visiting soon to give us some options.

- Breakfast: we offer cereal with UHT milk as there are no cows or fresh milk in this area. We also offer fruit, eggs (any style, any amount), toast & spreads, and Indonesian options such as nasi goreng, fried noodles and noodle soup. We have signs on the walls that advertise all the various offerings.

- Food in general, we have listened to our customers and have improved our food considerably. Guests are now commenting that its very good, and are putting Excellent or Good on the surveys.

When choosing resorts on Bunaken, guests can stay with one that offers European food and even one that offers Japanese food, its just a factor of price. However, you are visiting Bunaken and we think you should get Bunaken food.

All our cooks are from Bunaken and make some very good Bunaken food. The resort where the reviewer moved to is javanese - the staff are from java, the owner is from java and the cook is from java. As a result all the food is from java - we think this is like going to singapore and only eating ham-burgers! (Geography lesson – java is about 1,000 miles from us).

PLEASE TELL US!
We welcome comments from guests, but please let us know when you are here so that we can do something about some of the issues – its YOUR holiday, we would prefer to make things better so you can enjoy it more!
Its frustrating when we are told that there is "no problem really, we just found a more comfortable cottage in another resort" and then have to read about problems in a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
1.1 mi away
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
#1 of 16 in Bunaken Island
274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Thalassa PADI Dive Resort
Thalassa PADI Dive Resort
#10 of 16 in Bunaken Island
71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 44 in Manado
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jonaths Cottage
Jonaths Cottage
#16 of 16 in Bunaken Island
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Fish Divers Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Fish Divers Bunaken

Address: Pangalisang Beach, Bunaken Island 95113, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range: $75 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cosy resort based on Bunaken Island, characterised by:• Beach-side accommodation - wooden cottages with cooling fan, HOT water showers and large balconies with hammocks.• Other resort amenities include 18m swimming pool; 24 hour electricity; relaxing area; beach café; FREE wifi internet; book swap facility.• Small &Personal with really friendly staff.• European management – owned and managed by Tina and Nigel, who have been living & diving on Bunaken for more than 10 years.• No crowds - maximum 20-22 divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Two Fish Divers Bunaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Fish Divers Bunaken Hotel Bunaken Island
2 Fish Divers Bunaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing