We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kollur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lalithambika Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Kollur B&B and Inns
Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Lalithambika guest house of the Karnataka government.The room was very satisfactory,considering the fact that Kollur is a pilgrimage center.The room and the bathroom were clean.The bathroom had an Indian toilet.For Rs 500,the room boasted of an AC and a water heater.Rooms are available for as cheap as Rs 200(the rates may change).The temple was a 3 minute walk away from the guest house.If you want a room with an European toilet,you must specifically ask for one.Also you can get good exercise if you get a room on the upper floors as there are no lifts.There is no room service available,as far as I know.A restaurant,called hotel Lalithambika is also attached to the guest house.This restaurant serves good quality(for a pilgrimage center),affordable south Indian food.If you have forgotten to pack something important like your tooth brush,you can buy it at the restaurant as a small convenience store is attached.The most important thing to be noted while eating from eateries near a pilgrimage place is that the food should not upset your stomach and affect your journey,and I think this eatery satisfies this condition. If you intend to stay at Lalithambika guest house,you can try contacting this number-
08254 - 258328.I don`t know how far they encourage booking,because plenty of rooms were available and there was no board outside it as most hotels had,indicating this.It seemed that they weren`t really intend on getting the rooms occupied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor or first if you don't want to end up climbing the stairs.Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Minips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
41
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Kollur is a Temple town and Lalithambika is Karnataka Government owned guest house near to the temple.
Its a budget hotel and during temple seasons we wont get room unless we booked through some complex booking process from the banglore office.
Like all the state owned offices in India we will be greeted with warm UNPLEASANT face by the reception staff. But I am not complaining is an economy hotel.
Rooms are very spacious. good bed sheets and pillows. hot water in selected rooms.
Overall I am happy with the hotel and would recommend to those people who don't bother minor insults from staffs and looking for the clean budget hotel.

Room Tip: The side facing the mountains are good. but its always a busy hotel and we have to settle with what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jugx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

went to Kollur Mookambika in dec 2012, with the family, the lodge is 2 mins walk from the temple.
They have a restaurant, neat a clean, good veg food
The rooms are cheap Rs 500 for an A/c room is good and the huge rooms, bathrooms are Indian style, 24 hrs hot/cold water only for A/c rooms
down side A/c rooms means u have to climb 3 floors no lift,, and if u are with family, a persons back will take a beating
overall if one is coming to see the temple, its fine..

Room Tip: a/c rooms are on the 3rd floor, carry light.. its one good walk to the 3rd floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vijainair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Most trips to Kollur are made only for the purpose of visiting the Mookambika Temple and therefore the duration of stay will, essentially, be very short. Lalithambika Guest House, run by the Mookambika Temple, is adequate for a stay of a day or two. The charges are very nominal - Rs. 500/- for an AC room with an Indian Style toilet, Rs.600/- for an AC room with an AC room with a Western Style toilet. There are non AC rooms as well.
The AC rooms (as well as the non AC ones) are large, the toilet is relatively clean, given the fact that it is a temple town, with bus loads of pilgrims descending by the hour and there is running hot water, except at those times when there is load shedding. There is a restaurant in the ground floor of the guest house. It has a varied menu but did not appear to be very clean. But no restaurant in Kollur exudes that sense of cleanliness or hygiene! The restaurant also doubles up as a convenience store and you can pick up your soap, tooth paste, chips, soft drinks and mineral water from there. Thank God for that!
Unlike guest houses in some other temple towns of India, the Lalithambika is neither opulent nor grand. There is paint peeling off the walls, the wardrobes are not well maintained and there is only one plug point so that you cannot charge your mobile and laptop at the same time. It is very functional and devoid of all frills, but there is no compromise on the essentials.

Room Tip: Opt for an AC room. It is not very expensive and is likely to be in better condition as it is used l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank MotheroftwoBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

They have a awkward rule, if you are alone you won't get a double room and they don't have single rooms, the guy told me to check the Souparnika guest house, no body were on the counter, a few minutes later one guy came and stand like thinking, finally he also told no rooms

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VBijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

This guest house is run by the temple administration. we booked through tele.. the rooms were readily available. although we had to look at 3 rooms and finally settled for the ac room .. not for the AC but for the western toilet and basic cleanliness. the bed sheets were fresh but then that was all. AC rooms were Rs600/- per room. there were no limits on the no of people and check in check out timings. we were 4 of us and used the room just to freshen up and also checked in at 0330am and checked out at 0100am. it is 500mts from the temple and 300m thru a short cut. ample parking space is available. taxi/omni van from railway station to /from is Rs400/Rs450/- respectively. food is available in the attached restaurant. no room service. it is just about average. but food is served hot. staff is very helpful and also cater for addl requirement like hot water and warm milk. food available is thali for lunch /dinner. b' fast is mostly south indian. Rotis are available at all times.
Best Experience: they do cater to odd hours for check in and day calculation is on a 24 hr basis unlike fixed check out time.
Worst Experience: there are no lifts so be ready to hike up 3 floors for rooms.

Room Tip: A/C rooms on the Ist floor are the best. not for A/C but for cleanliness. make sure to ask for weste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank micky_n_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is our second stay at this guesthouse., the first one was in Jan 2008. It was clean then and we booked it this time when we visited Kollur Mookabika temple. We stayed here only one night. The room and bathrooms,toilet are basically clean. Hot water is availabIe. I dont think there is room service. There is a restaurant attached to it. basic food.
For a pilgrimage centre, and the choices around, this is a good option. Walking distance from the temple, takes 5 to 8 minutes, based on how fast you walk.. I
My rating? - good.

Room Tip: Choose AC room with western toilets, if you are very particular about cleanlisness. it will definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank apukash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollur
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mahalakshmi Residency
228.8 mi away
Jyothis Residency
Jyothis Residency
#2 of 3 in Kollur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mookambika Deluxe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 mi away
Samanvay Boutique Hotel
14.2 mi away
Sai Vishram Byndoor
Sai Vishram Byndoor
#1 of 1 in Paduvari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
12.1 mi away
Wild Woods Spa and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalithambika Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalithambika Guest House

Property: Lalithambika Guest House
Address: Executive officer, Mookambika Temple, Kollur, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kollur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kollur
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lalithambika Guest House Kollur, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing