We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good medium price hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lewi Hotels & Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lewi Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Awasa
Kinshasa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good medium price hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I'm writing about the hotel in town, not the resort hotel on the lake. It is one of the nicest mid-range hotels in Ethiopia. They have a lovely coffee shop in a treed courtyard in front of the hotel, which is used by the people of Hawassa as much as guests. Rooms are nice, each with their own hot water heaters. Free internet is available on all floors, but only some rooms get it, and it’s very patchy. The internet reception is better on the ground floor, but you cannot rely on a connection for very long. The restaurant serves pretty good food too. The beds are something else: hard as a board – good for people with bad backs, but not as welcoming as most people would like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richmart100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    63
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
34
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

On the way to the south, we stayed one night at Lewi.
The accommodations were beautiful and spacious; the staff friendly and helpful.
The hotels's setting (by the lake) is beautiful (with boat trip available to guests)
Breakfast was good; dinner was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ISR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Thank you to the amazing staff for the excellent hospitality! The bungalow was perfect, the food was good and the boat ride on the lake was a great time with friends! Overall a great get away from the city for a nice weekend

Room Tip: Loved the bungalow - would choose one further away from the children's playground next time! Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amagical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

visited the famed Lewi resort to enquire about room availability but decided NOT to stay as I was met by very unhelpful staff. I was even asked to pay entrance fee of 100 BIRR to see the resort /restaurant/swimming pool !!!

i was surprised at their attitude to a potential customer - in sharp contrast to Haile resort nearby where the staff and service was exemplary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank safariman1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at Lewi resort for two nights with my family for leisure. I am so pleased with the astonishing service the entire staff was delivering. Everybody is so wonderful in attending guests interests and so fast in service provision. The property is nicely kept although a little retouch is needed on few room furniture. The lake view is very interesting, the food is nice. Breakfast is good it can be even better with additional varieties. All in all my experience was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have stayed at Lewi Hotel -- on the main road -- in Hawassa a couple of times. This time, because of lack of availability, I had to stay in the least expensive room. It was fine, and I wouldn't pay for the more expensive option again. Everything was clean, hot water, TV, fridge, complimentary fruit and water (2 bottles), window opens if required, fan, amenities. It was excellent value at about $25-30. Only problem was that the toilets have funny flushers and mine didn't work. Restaurant food was very good. Really enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: There are quieter rooms. The surroundings have music that plays into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Same owner as the resort by the lake. Stayed there for two separate nights. This is the hotel in town. First night on a Saturday evening the place was full of weekend revellers who occupied the dining room area and the noise carried up to the top floors although died down later in the evening. Lift works which is a plus. Internet is on the ground floor in the foyer- slow to connect.

During the second stay mid week the place was quieter. Food was ok and for the breakfast on the second day there was no fruit, but lots of cooked options. The menus for dinner were more varied and generous. The best bit was the fruit juices. The rooms were spacious but one needs a mosquito net which was not provided on day 2. The locks- one needs to get used
to since they work anti clockwise and you had to turn them at least twice to open. Considering
the hotel is on the main road- it was reasonably quiet. No A/ c however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awasa
1.7 mi away
South Star International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Planet Hotel
Planet Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mek'ele
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gezahegn And Elfensh
Gezahegn And Elfensh
#4 of 10 in Awasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zion Train Lodge
Zion Train Lodge
#1 of 10 in Shashamane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ker Awud Hotel
Ker Awud Hotel
#4 of 7 in Awasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Hawassa Hotel
Central Hawassa Hotel
#8 of 10 in Awasa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewi Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewi Hotels & Resorts

Property: Lewi Hotels & Resorts
Address: Awasa, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region > Awasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Awasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lot is said about the natural charm of Hawassa. After Lewi Resort opened its doors eight years ago, many of our guests have personally discovered the beauty of Hawassa. Lewi is a sparkling gem on the marvelous face of Hawassa, and welcomes you to a refreshing new experience with our professional staff. New Lewi Resort Wolayta Sodo will be open soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Lewi Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewi Hotel And Resort
Lewi Hotel Awasa
Lewi Hotels & Resorts Ethiopia/Awasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing