We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value - Basic Czech Country Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Karel IV

Hotel Karel IV
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Karel IV
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turnov
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good Value - Basic Czech Country Inn”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

45 euros a night for a double en suite. Very clean,and a good breakfast. Good base to tour the North of the Country. Restaurant also very good - would certainly stay here again if in this area. outdoor swimming pool an added bonus in the summer - weather was very hot when we stayed here. Dinner for 4 with plenty to eat and drink was well under 100 euros and excellent food with large portions. Sat outside in very nice beer garden atmosphere. Staff willing, friendly and efficient but very little English spoken so be prepared to point, use your Czech phrase book oruse your German if you know any.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank potsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was booked for 4 nights by a local tour operator for our walking trip in Bohemia. We were very happy with it. Our room was very nice with balcony facing the rear parking lot and pool. The staff are very helpful and though some don't speak English, they will find someone to come to the desk who does. German is the second language in the Czech Republic. We walked from the train station to the hotel as taxi's can only be called. There is no taxi stand in front of the station. Google Maps said it was a 25 min. walk, but took us longer as we were pulling our bags. Two days later we did the same walk without bags and it took 20 min. The hotel restaurant has good food. especially the pizza and the breakfast buffet is varied. It is served in a large room as this hotel also serves tour groups. There is a nice outdoor deck off the restaurant and a great place to have a beer after a long day of hiking. Turnov is a wonderful town and a great base for walking in the immediate area. The countryside is beautiful and worth venturing out to see. We were lucky to be in Turnov during a week-end fair at the local park. Booths with music, beer, food, crafts, etc. Much fun. Also we went to an outdoor music concert in the evening of the Turnov Big Band. It was terrific and so professional, made up of high school, college and adult musicians. About 25 in all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed in this hotel one week with our little son, the hotel was perfect base for us, very nice choice for breakfast, choice from the menu in the evening. Rooms were clean, well equiped, with balcony. I recommend this hotel for family and also for business people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edensity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

To be fair, it should be pointed out that the previous reviewer stayed in a much cheaper annex of the hotel which is billed as a hostel. Can't expect top rating for that...
We hosted a conference at this hotel and found it to be top-notch in all areas. They tailored our weekly menu to exactly what we asked of them in every detail including bringing in specialty beers. All of the rooms (that hosted our 30+ guests) were newly renovated with both WiFi and cabled Internet access at no charge. All furnishings were good quality. There is an on-site play area and outdoor pool and off-street parking that is locked and monitored at night.
The pizzeria/restaurant serves up sumptuous meals with daily specials. Breakfast is included in the room rate and includes a buffet of breads, cereals, fruits, jams, cold cuts and at least two hot item which change daily for variety.
The conference areas were easily configured to our needs and all electronics (screens, projectors, sound, tables and tablets...) were provided without additional charge to the agreed upon room rent.
The hotel staff and food servers were professional, friendly and accommodating. I can't think of anything negative to say. Their rates are a bargain compared to the quality and service provided. The owners put their best foot forward daily.
I would surely use them again and recommend them to any traveler or businessman.
Just a bit off the beaten path in town and current road repairs make it just a bit tricky to access. That should be rectified by year's end.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This combined hotel / restaurant / self catering left me with mixed feelings. We stayed with a party of four in one of the self catering apartments in the annex, not in the hotel itself. The very, very, very simple rooms had 'beds' in it that were actually old fashioned, cheap bed-couches. The kitchenette was extremely basic and was not very clean. My mother in law had to kill an ant colony before she dared to make tea in there. The shower was cramped and did not have hot water. The wash basin did not have a plug. Complaints about this were answered in hampered English with lame excuses. Not very recommendable.
But then the Pizzeria underneath the hotel itself. This name does not do the place justice. It is a full-blown restaurant, with an excellent choice of good, creative dishes and immaculate service. (providing it is not too busy; they messed up our order when there was a lot of people in there). The food is fresh, tasty, balanced and comes with a good choice of beers, wines, coffees, teas and soft drinks. The pizza's, if you insist on having one, are huge and freshly made in a wood burning oven which makes the surroundings of the hotel smell wonderfully delicious.
I am temped to go there again one time, if only to assure myself that the hotel rooms meet the standard the restaurant sets. I hope they do...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilbodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turnov
3.6 mi away
EA Zamecky Hotel Hruba Skala
EA Zamecky Hotel Hruba Skala
#1 of 2 in Hruba Skala
287 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Stekl
Hotel Stekl
#2 of 2 in Hruba Skala
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Korunni Princ
Hotel Korunni Princ
#1 of 10 in Turnov
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#6 of 10 in Turnov
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartmany Rozarka
Apartmany Rozarka
#2 of 7 in Turnov
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotylek Na Vysince
#4 of 10 in Turnov
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karel IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karel IV

Property: Hotel Karel IV
Address: Zhizhkova 501, Turnov 511 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Liberec Region > Turnov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turnov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Karel IV 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Karel IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing