We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views clean tidy room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Brunner Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Brunner Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moana
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice views clean tidy room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The room we had had a great outlook and was ncie and tody and spacious. The hotel generator hummed most of the night but wasnt too annoying. Food an be eaten or taken away from the pub a stones throw away and is a great place for a few beers.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed for one night on our way to Punakaiki in a studio room. We arrived early afternoon, rang the door bell, but there was no answer, so we left to go for a forest walk, and came back later (no cell phone coverage for us either as per previous review). After more doorbell ringing and knocking, we were given keys to our room, we found the room wasn't made up, so another room was made available - management unfortunately couldn't be contacted. We were given a $20 reduction in the room rate due to the inconvenience.

The units were the same good clean standard as when we previously visited in 2006, it is a pity that the surroundings aren't that good - rear view of the pub. There is a fading developer's sign in the complex indicating future plans for the site (a new tavern and apartments) which I guess is why the pub hasn't yet been demolished and it's surrounds not tidied up.

We dined at the Stationhouse Cafe for evening meal - delicious crumbed scallops.

The cleaner arrived the following morning just after 9 am before we had packed up, not realising we were there - we had the curtains still drawn - couldn't leave these open as there were no net curtains.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessiev25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was the only room I booked for our vacation without checking out what other reviewers had said about it first. When I read the reviews, I was beginning to worry about what it would be like particularly as we had prepaid. We were just looking to overnight somewhere on the west coast close to Arthur's Pass to give us more time on walking tracks in the pass.

We paid $145 NZD (approx $110 AUD) for a Lake View Getaway room. It was a very large room (B7 from memory) with a sofa, king sized bed, kitchenette, dining table and ensuite. The heater was also functional. It met our needs for a clean and comfortable overnight stay.

Yes the back of the pub is a bit unsightly but this could be easily rectified with a decent retaining wall and garden beds to provide a little privacy for guests. I also think that having large signs up in front of the units saying "check in at reception" is not helpful where reception is not clearly identified from the road (it is in the pub as mentioned by other reviewers). It would be better to say check in at the pub as this is what the process is.

The other thing that concerned me is that when the pub is unattended, there is a sign with mobile phone contact numbers to organise check in. That is great if you are with Telecom but if you are with Vodafone, you will have no coverage at all unless you drive back up to the service station. As it happened, the door bell was answered and we didn't have to worry about this.

The dining options are extremely limited being such a small town so we ended up going back to Greymouth to eat where there is more variety and self-catered our own breakfast as we wanted to depart early. There were no instructions as to what to do with the room key in the event of an early check out. The pub was locked at 8am and considering we had pre-paid, I just wanted to leave the key. I followed convention of other hotels/motels in Australia and left the key in the mailbox.

Room Tip: I would request a room in the newer building if possible. They are fairly nicely finished in a minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KD1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

stayed at this hotel ! lots of rain ! nice small room . but one pub towns can be a bit boring ! no choice with food eg; breakfast,lunch & dinner ! friendly people of couse ! catering needs work ! it always seams to rain going a croos to west coast !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marklah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

This motel was a huge disappointment. When we arrived there was no visible sign of reception. After 5 minutes of hunting around the complex, another guest to us that the check-in was at the local pub (1 minute away). Apartment was relatively clean (apart from mouldy towel stuffed into a drawer in the bathroom). Decor was ordinary and very average. Price of $240 per night was about $70 too expensive in our experience. Views of Lake Brunner were great but every apartment also overlooked the rear of the local pub - a truely disgusting sight (empty beer crates, barrels, rubbish bins and other rubbish and a rusting run down building in general). Take our advise, stay in Greymouth and visit Lake Brunner in passing.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJTTasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

This is definitely not a resort, but a series of units at the back of an old hotel. The Auction and Mortgagee sale sign out front should have been a clue. We learned later that the sale refers to only 3 of the total units but...not a good omen.

Reception was hard to find and after a couple of drive arounds we located someone in the hotel bar in front who looked up our booking but couldn't find a key for the unit. We were told to try and track down the cleaner "who probably has the key" No luck so after returning to the bar we were given the key to the unit next door. We were booked into an upper "Elite" unit with a good view of the lake. The view was the best part of our one night stay.

The unit was very spartan..no hair dryer etc, the lounge and best view is upstairs but the kitchen and main bedroom are downstairs so there was a lot of traffic up and down the stairs. The trays in the oven were dirty from previous guests and the spiders had taken over several of the windows. As mentioned by some other reviewers, the lake view is spoiled by a view of the back yard of the hotel...very tacky.

But most fascinating was a note in the information folder threatening all manner of inspections before checkout and possible retribution in case we stole anything! We've never seen that before in what was supposed to be a 4 star plus resort ( self rated of course)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

As you drive into the place the first indication that all is not as it seemed on the website is the huge "Mortgagee Sale" sign. We finally realised that we had to go into the old hotel to register. What a smell of old fat - we certainly would not be eating here. Then were given the key (no help offered) and told to go up the driveway. That meant the gravel track alongside the hotel. It would not be possible to wander down at night without breaking something. The motel unit at first sight looked like the pix in the ad, but there was no electric blanket, no Sky, no hair dryer, no tissues and a list of things you couldn't do as long as your arm. The view of the lake was marred by the view of the back of the pub - Shanty Town at its worst. There was no way we could eat in the pub - the smell was so bad but we did find a super little place down by the railway line and had a good night there. Definitely would not stay there again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moana
21.0 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Brunner Accommodation & Golf Course
18.3 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#7 of 19 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Brunner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Brunner Resort

Property: Lake Brunner Resort
Address: Ahau Street | Lake Brunner, Moana, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Moana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Brunner Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Lake Brunner Hotel you are guaranteed a warm West Coast welcome that perfectly completes its comfortable and modern accommodaton. Situated on the Moana Village rise, affords all our guests unparalleled and spectacular views of Lake Brunner and the surrounding landscape.Choose from a selection of elite apartments, fully self contained with views of Lake Brunner. The Lake Brunner Hotel hosts a restaurant and bar with separate lounge and dinning areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Brunner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing