We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Monk Tearoom

The White Monk Tearoom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: this is a small tearoom in the village of blanchland, about 6 miles from Hexham
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

What can I say that I have not already mentioned before. This place never fails to please me and my family. A warm friendly welcome, cosy surroundings in a beautiful village and great food. Homemade soup and broth and great tasting home made pasties. The choice is yours from an extensive menu. You must try this place I am sure you will not be disappointed - But please keep me a seat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WoodlandsHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    59
    20
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great little find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stumbled across the tea room whilst visiting Blanchland on a Friday afternoon. Initially we thought it was closed because from the outside it looked so quiet, but we went in and were glad we did. Beautifully decorated with proper cups and saucers and very nice loos.

Home made soups were delicious - I had Pea and Mint and the other half had Roasted Red Pepper. Complimented by toasted cheese sarnies and finished off with Carrot Cake, all homemade using local produce and ingredients.

The tea room offers quite an extensive list of teas too!

It was around £20 which seemed quite dear for a soup and a sarnie and a piece of cake, no matter how large the lump of delicious fantastic carrot cake,but you do get quality here.

We thoroughly enjoyed this little slice of home cooked history in the beautiful and haunting village. Visit the abbey and soak up the history.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ukwlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tea for Two.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great Surroundings, Friendly staff and the best food you could wish for. Try the homemade soup or Cornish Pasties you will not be disappointed. Following a Gluten Free Diet no problem a great selection of sandwiches and cakes always available. Arrive early as its always busy around lunchtimes. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WoodlandsHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The location is fab and the building which used to be a monestary is very unusual and steeped in history. Sadly the food is limited in choice, but is well presented and tasty. A great place to stop whilst out walking the moors.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mags733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful building with outside patio, excellent sandwich, delicious carrot cake"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Excellent venue in gorgeous old (school) building, delicious sandwich (the cranberries with the cheese titillated my palate from it's ordinary experiences). The old school photographs added interest and charm.
The bovine village of Blanchland is uplifting for the soul.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingridpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Monk Tearoom also viewed

 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Ebchester, Consett
 

Been to The White Monk Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing