We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Contrary..”
Review of Taigh an Uillt

Taigh an Uillt
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breakish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taigh an Uillt
Ranked #5 of 11 Breakish B&B and Inns
Addlestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“On the Contrary..”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had a lovely experience. We reached the B&B only at 11 in the night and Kath's hospitality is worth a mention. I was pretty skeptical that our late entry would annoy the couple but she was really patient and in fact even warned us about the red deers on the way ( glad she did cause we would never know and it is a bit of a risk driving in the dark ). She in fact helped us plan our trip around the Isle of SKye as well. The rooms were cozy and clean with wi fi, breakfast was as expected.

There weren't too many places around to grab a quick bite but a convenient location to tour the isle in a day. The place is exactly like what it is on the site. So what you see, is what you get.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had left a fabulous B&B on Harris that morning and came here hoping for this to continue. The welcome was friendly enough but the experience was more akin to an impersonal hotel rather than being welcomed into someone's home. The house itself was spotless as was the room but we got the impression that they would rather keep the house to themselves and let other establishments take care of bed and breakfast in the local area.
The breakfast was very good, served on a warm plate but we were glad to be continuing our island hopping trip rather than staying longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

The room was quite nice and there was not anything serious to complain about, but we haven't felt welcome at all. I don't know why they offer bed and breakfast, but it's obvious that specially him would prefer not to. I can't recommend this place, there must be lots of better places on the isle.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jutts M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed for two nights. Selected this property due to availability and price (not many options left at this time of year).

Although the website promises a ‘warm welcome’ from hosts Kath and Mike, it was actually the opposite – we were greeted by a snarling dog at the front gate, and received a surly, standoffish reception from Mike.

Perhaps we got off on a bad foot with Mike because we had neglected to note the check-in time of 6pm when making the booking (this detail is not mentioned anywhere else on the website, just the booking form – but fair enough, it was a mistake on our part). We turned up early and, upon realising our mistake, offered to come back later but Mike grudgingly let us in.

Within 10 minutes of arriving we were cursing our choice. As part of an eight-night driving holiday in Scotland, this negative experience stands out like a sore thumb, and we had very positive, pleasant experiences everywhere else we stayed. It does make me wonder why some people choose to move into the hospitality business, when they evidently would prefer to avoid interacting with other people as much as possible.

Kath, who we met later that night, was actually quite pleasant and helpful, although overall didn’t do much to dispel the basic sense of weirdness and ‘fear of guests’ this place seems to have.

It wasn’t all bad – the room itself was comfortable enough, and the bathroom was newly renovated (very loud squeaky door, though). Breakfast was fine, although not all the range of items advertised on the website were provided. No WIFI available.

Upon leaving I made the mistake of trying to discuss our concerns with Mike. Big mistake. Not interested in any feedback, hence this review. Choice excerpt from this conversation: “You paid for a bed, and breakfast, and that’s what you got. What do you want me to do, lick your boots?” Um, no thanks mate, no need for that – just a little common friendliness and hospitality would have been fine.

Overall, a disappointing and bizarre experience, in such a beautiful part of the world. I’m sure there are hundreds of better places to stay on the Isle of Skye, and am kicking myself for not picking one of them. Avoid this B&B unless it is truly your last option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breakish
6.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
1.4 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.7 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Broadford House Skye
Broadford House Skye
#25 of 26 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sligachan Hotel
Sligachan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sligachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taigh an Uillt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taigh an Uillt

Property: Taigh an Uillt
Address: 7 Scullamus, Breakish IV42 8QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Breakish
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Breakish
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run bed and breakfast. Situated in a quiet location, approximately 1 mile from Broadford and 8 mile from the Skye bridge on the A87. We have 2 double rooms available that can accommodate families, both have en suite facilities. Breakfast is continental style and included with room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Taigh An Uillt Isle Of Skye/Breakish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing