We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very high recommend to anyone visiting Skye”
Review of Fernlea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breakish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernlea
Ranked #3 of 11 Breakish B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed at Fernlea for two nights on a visit to Isle of Skye. We stayed at quite a few places on this trip and this has to be the best place in terms of value for money and highly recommended for the quality. The room was excellent, the lounge was comfortable but what made the difference were the hosts Iris and John. They helped us plan our trips around Skye and gave excellent recommendations. The breakfast was generous and well made and the rooms were very comfortable. The location is convenient to travel around Skye and also the closeness to the Skye Bridge. There's an excellent restaurant (Red Skye) just 300m away if you don't feel like driving to dinner.

In all it was our best stay in the highlands and would definitely stay there again if I were visiting Skye.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoners2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Fernlea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 69 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2009

The room was excellent and the owners very friendly. The only issue was the location - it is a fair walk or taxi ride into Broadford, but this may not be a concern for all.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights, the first night Iris told us about places to have a dinner, and both Iris and John were so kind... they told us about Skye, places to visit, and so many things that increase our knowledge of Skye... From the first night when we arrived, we had a welcoming cup of tea and scones in the living room, with a lovely fire in front of comfortable sofas, and each time when we return at the end of the day too, tired and full of happiness for the nice places we've seen, again tea, scones, cacao.... Breakfast was huge and multi choice. The bathroom has all the things you need, even hairdryer... The landscape from the room (with a great window) is beautiful... In short, a lovely place with lovely people. Thanks, Iris and John.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puertocastilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I do not as a rule follow up visits with a review, however in the instance my family, were welcomed with service and friendship never met before in a B & B.

From the start a welcoming cup of tea and scones were offered, this service continued on each return. During the evening you could relax in front of an open fire, again with offered tea and scones. The breakfast was huge and multi choice. Both Iris and John made their self available to talk and expand on their knowledge of Skye.

As the introduce states – the best I have ever used.

The view over looks the mountains and sea with a classic sunset.

Book early for these premises.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripperBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed 5 nights at this great Guest House just 4 miles from the Skye Bridge in a nice location in Upper Breakish, I greatly enjoyed the ample Scottish Breakfasts and the wife was delighted with the choice of kippers on the menu. The bedrooms were excellent with comfy beds, television,central heating and a more than ample tea tray. The proprietors were very helpful and their knowledge of the Isle of Ske was greatly appreciated, will be returning there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank raydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

This is a lovely B&B not far from the Skye bridge, John & Iris make a great breakfast , helped us with any questions. There is a front room for guests with an open fire we left with some pampas grass from the garden and a couple of black puddings great time had by all

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vidlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle kamers zijn prima
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dianne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breakish
17.2 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,069 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
592 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Blairdhu House
Blairdhu House
#4 of 11 in Kyleakin
162 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sligachan Hotel
Sligachan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sligachan
488 reviews
6.4 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernlea

Address: 11 Upper Breakish, Breakish IV42 8PY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Breakish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Breakish
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Fernlea Isle Of Skye/Breakish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing